We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time visit and it won't be our last!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizza Papalis

Pizza Papalis
Ranked #3 of 1,093 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“First time visit and it won't be our last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Excellent. Excellent. Excellent. This was the first time we have ever visited Pizza Papalis and it won't be our last. The wait staff was very attentive to our needs and we were seated very quickly. We decided to have the 6 inch personal pizza (lunch). The crust was perfect. Nice and crispy without being to greasy. The sauce was also perfect. First class deep dish pizza better than what we have had in Chicago who claims to be the inventor of the deep dish pizza.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    164
    51
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munising, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Average meal, good but forgetable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

In town for a Lion's game and hit this place after the game to try the deep dish pizza. Crust was hard/ overdone. I noticed another table had nearly the entire outer crust still sitting on the table after the people dining had left. The flavor was good. the waitress was outstanding. I've had better deep dish/Chicago style in a lot of other places. Not bad, just not great. Lots of better choices for food in Greeektown.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
“Value by the pound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Me and my old lady were here after a ball game we arrived parched and starving forced to abstain due to the sky high prices at Commerce park. 24 bucks for a large deep dish seemed high at first but when it showed up it must have weighed eight pounds. Delicious, a great crust and washed down well with a couple of pitchers of cold beer. The first pitcher we sank waiting for our pie but it was worth the wait as they cooked it for us and it was as thick as lasagna! They have the blend down right because despite eating about three pounds of motazarella I did not get bound up at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious and Filling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I really enjoyed this pizza. It is packed with cheese. We went here after the lions game. It was a great time. The pizza takes a little while to cook, but it is a thick deep dish pizza. They had the NFL on and we had some beers. I look forward to going back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great place to take the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This Detroit gem is worth the trip! Best pizza in Detroit- friendly staff and kid friendly. Have visited during events downtown, busy but worth the wait. Large fresh baked pizza takes over thirty minutes and is steaming hot and delish when delivered. Love the large booth in the front window, but upstairs is nice too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank SBDetroitMotorCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Papalis also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Papalis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing