We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”
Review of Giovanni's

Giovanni's
Ranked #12 of 1,107 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

For years, I observed a personal rule that I don't order fish at an Italian restaurant. They tend to bury fish in sauces. Fortunately, I break my own rule every week at Giovanni's. Each daily fish special reminds me of the most exquisite seafood restaurant. My wife, a true carnivore, enjoys a different veal dish every week. At the owner's suggestion, we tried a 2009 Pazzo to accompany our meal. We ordered 2 cases as soon as we got home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    29
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mama Mia!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Nothing in Detroit comes close to Giovanni's for Italian. Heck, I did not run into many restaurants in Italy the 10 months I was there that comes close to Giovanni's. It's great down home Italian with a gourmet flair. No wonder people go out of their way to come to this less than appealing neighborhood!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chad-Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“best Italian food in Detroit”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I always have my office Christmas party at Giovanni's. The food is great and reminds me of Italy since it is so authentic. The hardest part of dining here is selecting your entry!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
174 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Rich Italian food that will please your taste buds. Location isn't the best at night but we didn't have any issues.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Asa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBlanch4080
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best italian restaurant in Detroit?”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Yea, probably. I've eaten at Roma, Marios, Picanos and Vince's. Vince's is close but the service and decor beat Vince's by a stretch. Everything but the location make this a homerun. Make sure you make reservations. The place is always packed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RBlanch4080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing