We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Right price”
Review of Green Dot Stables

Green Dot Stables
Ranked #4 of 1,109 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Green-Dot-Stables/187091638022964
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
590 reviews
420 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Good food, Right price”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This sports bar located in SW Detroit's small industry area with free lot parking offers good food at the right price. The early Saturday evening we visited, the place was bustling with Red Wing Hockey fans awaiting game time at the Joe. Even after they left, the place was full. Helpful hint: Walk up to the hostess who's calling tables to give your name and party number otherwise you may find yourself needlessly standing around waiting for someone to ask if they can help you.

A few craft draft beers are offered along with a more extensive bottle list. Small plates of wonderful soups (try the chicken paprikash with spaetzels!), salads (kale), fries as well as a dessert menu accompany their creative sliders (20 kinds!).
Bathrooms were immaculate. The vibe is young, even family-friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    165
    36
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good time for a good price”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

all the sliders were good ($2-$3), get the fried chicken slider! Beer is cheap and selection is Alright. I would go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marleymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have been waiting for months for the opportunity to try this place. A couple of nights ago a friend and I finally made it there. We were blown away by the experience, from the great slider and fries to the beer to the friendliness of the staff and patrons. I tried the bologna, ham & swiss and the mystery meat (crab cake) with the herb fries. All three were awesome!! Great prices and the general atmosphere will make this place a regular stop for us!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
159 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“We love this place”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Green Dot does what it does better than anywhere I've ever been. Honestly, the have it down and they do it so, so well. Sliders, sides and booze in an atmosphere that is comfortable and welcoming. These are not your corner dive sliders. These are little mouthfuls of delicious, fresh, well paired ingredients. Pricing is simple: Everything is $2 or $3, so patrons can try anything and everything. My favorites are the Korean slider with a side of white truffle oil fries and cucumbers with creme fraiche. I could eat here every day of the week.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank writesabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The greatest discovery”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is probably the only restaurant in Detroit that I insist bringing my out of town guests to. We take a short stroll down the river side and make it there a bit before lunch time. This is an EXPERINCE. The food is absolutely unforgettable. Try as many different sliders as you can, they are all very distinctively unique. The crowd is hip and fun, the staff is very friendly. Make sure you count in that it gets extremely busy by lunch time. I don't think they take reservations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olena48322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Dot Stables also viewed

 

Been to Green Dot Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing