We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!! Fun and fabulous.”
Review of Green Dot Stables

Green Dot Stables
Ranked #5 of 1,122 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Green-Dot-Stables/187091638022964
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved it!! Fun and fabulous.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Saw it was #1 in Detroit on Yelp and decided to try it out before a Tigers game. Had to wait about 30 minutes for a table but it was worth the wait and then some. The menu is creative, ingredients fresh and prices are great! There were six in our party and each of us tried different things. All were delicious and each of us left thinking we couldn't wait to go back to try more of the menu. The perfect blend of music and unusual decor add to the atmosphere. Have already been back. Can't wait to go again!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Camatisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    174
    38
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wixom, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“EMMMERGERD Sliders”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Seriously some of the best flavor combinations I have tasted ever. We tried over 10 different menu items and all of them were top notch. I highly recommend taking a chance on the Mystery Meat of the day. Order 2-3 sliders plus a side/desert/drink for the perfect meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit MI
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The buzz was right”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We heard about the Green Dot Stables from a couple places just recently, and the concept seemed intriguing - small plates of simple but good food, limited menu, low prices, good drinks, and a hipster vibe. That's a similar model to Big Star in Chicago, a place we'd tried and found somewhat disappointing. But come to find out, Green Dot has poutine, which is awfully hard to find on this side of the Canadian border, so we decided to give them a shot.

And I'm glad we did. Green Dot Stables has all of the good things Big Star had, and none of the bad things. The food was uniformly great. Fairly simple, yes, but you don't need a lot of ingredients to make great food, you just have to do it right. And the menu was indeed limited, but so what? You don;t eat everything off the menu; all you need is a couple things you like.

If you haven't seen their menu, it's primarily sliders and fries, with a handful of soups, salads, and sides. Max price on anything, including drinks, is $3 (and there are some $2 dishes), and they have a fair number of vegetarian and vegan options, if you're that kind of hipster. We really loved being able to try ten different things among us and still having a relatively reasonable bill.

The sliders we had were uniformly excellent, the kale salad was superb, and the poutine was a pomme frite-and-curd style that was wonderful. Sliders are small (by definition), and getting two or three gives interesting variety. We also had a cucumber salad and mushroom soup. Both were simple, but spiced and salted just right. I had a great Dragonmead on tap, and my wife had a summer soda cocktail that was really tasty.

We went with our three-year-old (who was quite well-behaved, thank you very much). She had the mac&cheese and a cranberry juice, with bites of soup, cucumbers, and poutine, and reports being favorably impressed. I admit I was worried Green Dot might not be a kid-friendly place, but they had a booster seat and juice to drink and it was not at all overwhelming and everything worked out just fine.

Service was lightning-fast, and the servers were very attentive. The decor is something of a retro-70s basement bar-betting parlor thing, but it's clean and comfortable and matches the sliders-and-fries theme. We went early on a Thursday, so it wasn't all that busy, but the place was filling up when we left. Even so, it wasn't all that noisy (which was a huge negative with Big Star).

Green Dot Stables is in an odd location. It's near Corktown, but it's not next door to anything at all, and I doubt they see much foot traffic. For out-of-towners, the location is somewhat empty, but not at all wrong-side-of-the-tracks scary.

Bottom line: Holy cow! A must-visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Jameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“OMG - A Detroit Must!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

On a tip from a local, we made our way to the industrial west side of Downtown Detroit to find this incredible dining experience. A quirky, horse-racing themed venue, this old bar must have originated in the 70s, judging from the campy decor. However, the current owners have scrubbed it clean, including any residual smoke smell, and the interior is now a fun throw back. The menu is great fun with nothing more than $3. About 2-3 sliders will make an ample meal. We were there for a late lunch, ordered a bunch of side dishes and had a couple of sliders. It's a fun way to sample many favors. Everything was delicious! I highly recommend the fries le poutine, the kale salad and the hummus. Fabulous! Exceptional sliders include the "mystery meat" (in our case beef with mashed sweet potatoes and a special sauce) and the BBQ. Though there is virtually nothing around this place, making it a bit of a destination, it is definitely worth it. I will go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mji2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Fun!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

What a find! It is in Corktown and it belongs here. The feel of the place is great. But this is only part of it; it is restaurant after all. The sliders are fantastic and an absolute blast to eat. They are small so you can try them all. The lamb with rosemary hummus, the korean (it comes with peanut butter), the catfish, and on and on-- they are all fantastic. You must try the smore for dessert, the truffle fries!!! and drink plenty of summer sodas (light alcoholic drink with cucumber and basil- so sweet and good).

You are missing out if you miss out on this gem!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trav3llov3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Dot Stables also viewed

 

Been to Green Dot Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing