We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EMMMERGERD Sliders” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Dot Stables

Green Dot Stables
Ranked #4 of 1,093 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Green-Dot-Stables/187091638022964
Wixom, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“EMMMERGERD Sliders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Seriously some of the best flavor combinations I have tasted ever. We tried over 10 different menu items and all of them were top notch. I highly recommend taking a chance on the Mystery Meat of the day. Order 2-3 sliders plus a side/desert/drink for the perfect meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    156
    34
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit MI
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The buzz was right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We heard about the Green Dot Stables from a couple places just recently, and the concept seemed intriguing - small plates of simple but good food, limited menu, low prices, good drinks, and a hipster vibe. That's a similar model to Big Star in Chicago, a place we'd tried and found somewhat disappointing. But come to find out, Green Dot has poutine, which is awfully hard to find on this side of the Canadian border, so we decided to give them a shot.

And I'm glad we did. Green Dot Stables has all of the good things Big Star had, and none of the bad things. The food was uniformly great. Fairly simple, yes, but you don't need a lot of ingredients to make great food, you just have to do it right. And the menu was indeed limited, but so what? You don;t eat everything off the menu; all you need is a couple things you like.

If you haven't seen their menu, it's primarily sliders and fries, with a handful of soups, salads, and sides. Max price on anything, including drinks, is $3 (and there are some $2 dishes), and they have a fair number of vegetarian and vegan options, if you're that kind of hipster. We really loved being able to try ten different things among us and still having a relatively reasonable bill.

The sliders we had were uniformly excellent, the kale salad was superb, and the poutine was a pomme frite-and-curd style that was wonderful. Sliders are small (by definition), and getting two or three gives interesting variety. We also had a cucumber salad and mushroom soup. Both were simple, but spiced and salted just right. I had a great Dragonmead on tap, and my wife had a summer soda cocktail that was really tasty.

We went with our three-year-old (who was quite well-behaved, thank you very much). She had the mac&cheese and a cranberry juice, with bites of soup, cucumbers, and poutine, and reports being favorably impressed. I admit I was worried Green Dot might not be a kid-friendly place, but they had a booster seat and juice to drink and it was not at all overwhelming and everything worked out just fine.

Service was lightning-fast, and the servers were very attentive. The decor is something of a retro-70s basement bar-betting parlor thing, but it's clean and comfortable and matches the sliders-and-fries theme. We went early on a Thursday, so it wasn't all that busy, but the place was filling up when we left. Even so, it wasn't all that noisy (which was a huge negative with Big Star).

Green Dot Stables is in an odd location. It's near Corktown, but it's not next door to anything at all, and I doubt they see much foot traffic. For out-of-towners, the location is somewhat empty, but not at all wrong-side-of-the-tracks scary.

Bottom line: Holy cow! A must-visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Jameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“OMG - A Detroit Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

On a tip from a local, we made our way to the industrial west side of Downtown Detroit to find this incredible dining experience. A quirky, horse-racing themed venue, this old bar must have originated in the 70s, judging from the campy decor. However, the current owners have scrubbed it clean, including any residual smoke smell, and the interior is now a fun throw back. The menu is great fun with nothing more than $3. About 2-3 sliders will make an ample meal. We were there for a late lunch, ordered a bunch of side dishes and had a couple of sliders. It's a fun way to sample many favors. Everything was delicious! I highly recommend the fries le poutine, the kale salad and the hummus. Fabulous! Exceptional sliders include the "mystery meat" (in our case beef with mashed sweet potatoes and a special sauce) and the BBQ. Though there is virtually nothing around this place, making it a bit of a destination, it is definitely worth it. I will go back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mji2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

What a find! It is in Corktown and it belongs here. The feel of the place is great. But this is only part of it; it is restaurant after all. The sliders are fantastic and an absolute blast to eat. They are small so you can try them all. The lamb with rosemary hummus, the korean (it comes with peanut butter), the catfish, and on and on-- they are all fantastic. You must try the smore for dessert, the truffle fries!!! and drink plenty of summer sodas (light alcoholic drink with cucumber and basil- so sweet and good).

You are missing out if you miss out on this gem!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trav3llov3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The very Newest Hottest Spot to Eat in Detroit,,, A Must on Your Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

You Gotta Run To this new place

Holy WOW folks I'm talking one of a kind just opened in out great city, A spot you can see from the lot both the old train station and the Ambassador bridge. The inside is so really cozy and unique along with the fabolus service and foods created by a cool young chef from Cordon Blue's school in Chicago. He's made teses most amazing sliders too die for along with 7 types of fries including my favorite Poutine OH Hell YEA I say. The sliders are the very most unique little burgers I've ever eaten, now I just have to go back to try them all.
A daily mystery meat you must ask for today was Rabbit, just in time for Easter, which was done like pulled pork and severing it with a pistachio ins aged pesto. WOW off the the damn chart great
The Korean was me favorite a slider topped with Korean Kimchi and peanut butter, I could of ate 3 of these. The chef born and raised in Allen Park was out talking with all the guests making sure they were enjoying his great foods. Please take a look see at my photo's and be sure to run on down to say hello

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BREWINGBIGBEERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Dot Stables also viewed

 

Been to Green Dot Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing