We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, service and value”
Review of pizzaPapalis

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
pizzaPapalis
Ranked #231 of 1,107 Restaurants in Detroit
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good food, service and value”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Was looking for a place to eat while my wife and daughter were at One D concert at Ford Field on Sunday night. Open late, nice vibe and energy in the two story Greektown restaurant. Liked the service, the $5 25oz Labatt draft and the mozzarella sticks. Next ventured away from pizza and tried the mostaccioli with meat sauce and side of meatballs. Very nice meal for $21. Would certainly go back next time in DTW.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Deep dish pizza is awesome!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you like pizza ....this is the place for you.
It is right in Greektown and the prices are good.
We ordered individual lunch deep dish pizza and it was a struggle
To finish it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank smilingmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Oh Yes!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Short of Chicago, Pizzapapalis is THE best Chicago style pizza. The sauce is daring. The toppings are generous. The crust is worth eating First!...That being said, if you don't Prefer Chicago style deep dish...You may not be that impressed. THAT being said, if you don't, then pizza as a heavenly idea on this little journey called life will simply be another venture toward Mediocrity... Pizza is Heaven! And Pizzapapalis is part of the heavenly choir. Eat some and you will break into spontaneous song. (leftovers are great as well!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pizzapapalis "BEST PIZZA in the WORLD"”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I absolutely love this pizza. I live about an hour and half away and I have to make at least 3-4 trips to this place a year. The sauce, meat & cheese are the best in the world!!! I always get the meat lovers deep dish. If you are in the Detroit area this is a must. I have ate Uno, Gino's, Giordarno's and liked them all but I have not been back whenever I travel to Chicago. I cannot even think about going to Detroit and not stopping here. Greektown is a neat place to visit also, a wonder pastry shop is just a couple doors down.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seetheworldwkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leroy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Tasty Food for Extremely Reasonable Price!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We ate at the Papalis across from the Greektown Casino prior to a Tiger's baseball game. For a mere $8.99 we were treated to a large, stuffed full of veggies, meat, & cheese Stromboli and a heap of fries. A 16 oz. draft beer was $3.00. The waitstaff were friendly & quick. The restaurant itself was clean. We will definitely eat there again when we attend our yearly baseball game!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rychrlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed pizzaPapalis also viewed

 

Been to pizzaPapalis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing