We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent shakes!”

Mercury Burger and Bar
Ranked #29 of 1,098 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A new restaurant/diner and bar in Corktown neighborhood. You can also find them at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mercury-Burger-Bar/205657662829670
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
308 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Excellent shakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were in town for the auto show and met up with a buddy who took us here for a late night snack. We each had the Hummer which is a milkshake with alcohol added to it, we had Baileys and rum mixed in each of ours and it was uber delicious. Also had a bowl of poutine which was so-so, was a bit chintzy on the cheesecurds but what was there was very good tasting. Not far from downtown, located right in front of the old train station, it's not a fancy place but it is very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dyna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    81
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome atmosphere, Awesome Burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Service was great, food was Delicious! Will definitely go back! In a great location, and a great place to start a night of bar hopping with a solid meal. Plenty of bars to hit in the immediate area after dining on one of the best burgers in town!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“VERY GREASY/SALTY FOOD WITH HIGH PRICES & SMALL PORTIONS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Ate here once after seeing the juicy lucy burger pic. I ordered it and the burger meat didnt fill the bun it was the size of a kiddy burger. There was very little cheese in the center. All items are al a carte so you can pay $10 for a burger but it doesnt include fries. I got a side of onion rings for $5. The onion rings are fried in lard and coated in salt. They were dripping grease with a pool of grease at the bottom. The waitress never refilled my drink in which I finished at the start of my meal but needed more due to the cooks extreme salting of everything they have. I will never come back as this was one of the worst restaurants iv ever eaten ate. Many gems in Detroit but not here its the worst of corktown.

Helpful?
Thank TravelPro419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Have great burgers and good beer selection.prices are very reasonable for lunch or dinner. Location is better cool with old train station in the area

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krock31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
139 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Really tasty (and interesting) burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was “home” in Detroit (where I grew up but haven’t lived in years) and wanted to visit Two James Distillery on the next block from Mercurey. So we combined the two for one fun filled evening! I had wanted to give Mercury a try, having heard a lot of good things about it. I introduced it to some locals, and we were all thrilled. The atmosphere is casual and fun. It’s a classic old place, that has been beautifully and tastefully restored. The beer selection is great, the burgers are delicious, and the staff is friendly - what more could you ask for? I had the Latin / Cuban (?) Elvis Burger - can’t remember the name exactly, but it’s a burger with fried plantains, guava jam, and peanut butter. All those flavors meld together and it’s crazy good! others had the classic, the juicy, the local (a big hit!). It was all good! Cant wait til I’m back in the D with my family - my husband (also a Detroiter) will love this place (and Two James!!!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fossettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercury Burger and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mercury Burger and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing