We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let's count the advantages of this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
North Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Let's count the advantages of this hotel.”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

1. Superb location, walkable to arenas, long walk or very short drive to Greektown.
2. Brand new, or at least it feels that way. My room was huge (a suite, really) and spotless, with 2 HDTV's.
3. Cheap!
4. Fitness Center, Breakfast (included gratis for Hilton Honors folks like me).
5. Free WiFi
etc etc.

It's unusual to find an HGI downtown. I guess it's a sign of Detroit's troubles that they didn't build a full-fledged Hilton on this spot. Still, it's where I will return when I have business in Detroit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    305
    124
    51
    25
See reviews for
162
221
51
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Hotel is very clean and quiet. You need to swipe your room key to operate the elevator so this adds to the security. I don't like the valet parking. Nothing against the valet guys at this hotel I just HATE valet parking. I would recommend an early checkout because the valet can get backed up near checkout time. The bartenders are friendly and the drinks are decent but a bit expensive. I would stay here again. Note: The roads in Detroit are very confusing and it is easy to get lost. Best to have a GPS or a well planned route.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciate the feedback. We have valet since we do not own the lot and more importantly for our guests convenience. We hope you'll consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Scored this hotel on hotwire.com for $54/night. We were in town for the Auto Show. Nothing to complain about at all, place was clean as a whip, breakfast was ok for $12. Had I paid the going rate of $169 I still would have been happy, getting it for $54...priceless! Very close to everything including Fox Theatre, Ford Field, Comerica Park, Greektown Casino all within a few minutes walking, people mover also a very close walk. Great rooms, great hotel, you won't be disappointed. Warning, parking $20day, $40 for "special events"

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a saturday night and liked it very much. The room was just what we expected for a hilton room, very clean room with a comfortable bed. Flat screen tv, fridge and microwave. The room was also very quiet.

As for the surrounding area, we walked to the nearby Greektown casino and area restaurants with no concerns. There were many other people walking around so we felt very comfortable.

Parking seemed a bit much at $20 with nearby lots offering $5 parking(not sure if overnight allowed at these lots).

We also had the breakfast buffet and the food was excellent. The price of 11.95 seemed very reasonable and the service was perfect as well. If I ever make it back to Detroit we'll stay here again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
371 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

If you saw the movie Robocop then you know how Detroit looks. I was working 6 blocks from the hotel and had to drive each day back and forth for safety reasons and i live and work in DC. the hotel is your typical Hilton Garden Inn. Great front desk staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good. Decent cook behind the grill whipped up some excellent french toast. Rooms were nice and i love the new hilton garden beds. room was always cleaned nicely. Shower had a great flow. Only problem is with location and the surrounding area. However, if you are going to a Lions game, somebody has to be a fan, then this is the closest hotel to Ford Field. can actually see the field from the valet area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciate the feedback. We're sorry you didn't feel safe in the area. The hotel is close to many major attractions in a great part of downtown. Our area has been and is currently going through another revitalization as the area becomes more popular. We hope you'll stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT MYERS,FLORIDA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I first want to start off by thanking the staff for all their professionalism and hospitality.
You are all to be commended. I will be back in the summer hopefully.
Our reservation was for Sat-Sun with check out Monday. We arrived at about 5pm on Saturday and was quickly greeted with a smile and a friendly hello. No check in lines at a sold out hotel.......amazing. Good start. The check in took all of about 5 minutes with me receiving an upgrade and a courtesy late check out on Monday do to a late leaving flight.
We stayed on the 7th floor and was upgraded to a jr. suite. I'm a Hilton card member and this helps with upgrades sometimes. Its free to join.
The room had a spacious living room with work station,flat screen television,microwave,refridge,coffee maker and comfortable couches. The king size bed and linens were extremely comfortable and had a flat screen tv also. The room was super quiet and very clean. The view was ok....nothing great.
The bathroom was also large in size with plenty of towels. The hot water was hot and the cold was cold. Good water pressure. We ordered room service on Sunday at about 7pm and by 7:25 pm we had our food which was delivered on a nice large tray,well presented and all the necessary condiments. The meals were delicious and the chocolate cake was wonderful.*** The tip is added into in the bill [15% along with a $3 charge]. We never had breakfast or dinner in their restaurant and never had time to check out the pool and exercise room.
I really wasn't expecting too much because of all the negative things I've read about Detroit so we picked this hotel for the close proximity to Ford Field. I figured I could run to and from the game if need be. The walk to Ford/Comerica Park [next to each other] took about ten minutes and was so much more pleasant than I imagined. Hundreds of people/fans were tailgaiting along the way with hundreds more walking to the game. Couldn't have felt safer and I'm assuming in the summer this occurs when the Tigers are playing baseball. After the game there were thousands of people everywhere.
There were sport bars/restaurants located around the stadiums which were packed with fans. Greektown casino and people mover is also a ten minute walk. I recommend maybe having dinner down there and doing a little sightseeing. The casino is old but worth checking out.....it was very crowded . There are a few more casinos there that we never got a chance to see. The people mover gives you a quick view of the city and the unique buildings and architecture. Give it a whirl. Its 50 cents per person so have coins with you. Getting off at the Renanaissance center/ and or Joe Louis arena stop on the people mover will allow you to check out the beautiful views of Canada across the river.
Long story short we all know Detroit has its problems like alot of other cities. There are vacant/abandoned buildings where businesses once operated and alot of unemployed people,some homeless. Know where your going,stay in occupied and well lit places and use common sense and enjoy an old historic city. Visitors can help bring this city back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joewillie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Wanted to check-out the Detroit casinos so stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in October with my husband. Rooms were clean and service was great. Had a nice view of downtown and our car (which we valet parked). No complaints about this hotel. Ate breakfast at the Astoria Pastry Shop (so good) and dinner at Fish Bones (excellent - lobster medallions are highly recommended)...both of these restaurants are a short walk from the hotel (Greektown). Walking to Greektown was easy and seemed quite safe. Took the People Mover from the Greektown Casino to MGM and Motor City, but I would recommend taking a taxi (the People Mover drops you off a few blocks from each and I didn't feel safe walking in those areas).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciate the feedback. We're sorry you didn't feel safe in the area. The hotel is close to many major attractions in a great part of downtown. Our area has been and is currently going through another revitalization as the area becomes more popular. We hope you'll consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Address: 351 Gratiot Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Entertainment District, we are near Comerica Park, Ford Field, Little Caesar Arena, Michigan Opera Theater, the Music Hall and much more. Just two blocks from Greektown, you will find we are surrounded by shops and restaurants. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel include Quicken Loans, Meridian Health, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, General Motors, and DTE Energy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing