We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stay away from this hotel!”
Reviewed August 16, 2005

I had a confirmed reservation I made a month in advance for Tuesday the 9th. I was flying in late and I called the day before to confirm that late check-in wasn't an issue and was told that I was fine as long as I arrived by 2:00 AM. When I did arrive, I was told that my room wasn't available. They gave me a number of possible explinations:

-"We may have given your room to a diamond rewards member." (this isn't valid because they have to book 48 hours in advance and they should have told me this when I called on Monday)

-"Our system doesn't keep track of reservations very well." (this may be true, but you'd think a larger chain would have decent software)

-"The people at the front desk might have messed up." (I don't even know how to answer this one)

-"Someone may have not checked out on their scheduled date and our policy is to not force them to do so." (This seems very unfair. I do the right thing and make my reservation far in advance and call to confirm the day before, but some other guy gets to keep my room???)

They ultimately found a holiday inn on the other side of town for me at about 1:30 AM, but it was dingy and the AC didn't work well. I ended up getting about three hours sleep before a number of business meetings on Wed. After all of this, I may never stay at a Hilton again.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank DenverWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for this experience. Hilton has a great offer now of e-checkin and we recommend it to guests to insure your guest room and you get to choose which floor. We hope you'll reconsider staying wiith us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    305
    124
    51
    25
See reviews for
164
222
51
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 4, 2005

If your traveling to Detroit Michigan, look no further than the Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Detroit. This place is the BEST in the city! So new, clean and moden, we just loved it. We were in town for a ball game at Tiger Stadium and the location was wonderful. We have stayed at Hilton Hotels around the country and none can be compared to this one!

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 3, 2005

The hotel room was nice and clean and I found the high speed internet acces very helpful for my work. But I was shocked when I got to see the bill on check-out. They had charged me between $13.50 and $16.20 for each of the seven ten-second phone calls to Germany that I had made to be called back. In all I had to pay over $100.00 for these seven calls that would have cost under 30 cents from a private telephone and about $4.00 from my cellular. I felt very badly fleeced!

The hotel staff told me it's "not against the law" and they were not obliged to give the rates for overseas calls or warn against exorbitant prices. Wow, then it must be all right. I was just stupid to trust Hotel Garden Inns as a business partner. But never again!

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We sorry to hear your experience wasn't great. Our phone charges are based on what the phone service provider charges us which landlines companies do charge a lot. We apologize that it wasn't communicated properly. We hope you'll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2005

Stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown for one night on business and was very pleasantly surprised. I've stayed in many HGI's before, but this one, open just a year, was a half-notch above the others. Room was very clean and comfortable and there was a small gym and swimming pool on the lower level. The restaurant off the lobby was quite good - nice steak in a funkier setting than I'd expect from this hotel chain. Valet parking was available for $20/night.

Added bonus for sports fans. This place is right downtown, easy walking distance to both Comerica Park and Ford Field.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank awelch2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, OH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2005

We stayed here in early March, 2005 on a spur of the moment get away night from the cold and snowy weather of Sylvania Ohio. (Ok, it wasn't any warmer or any less snowy in Detroit, but it still felt good to get away nonetheless!) We arrived at the hotel and found the front desk staff to be friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean, and spacious and had a fridge, coffee pot, and microwave. The bathroom was large and also very clean. After dropping our gear, we took the short walk to Greek Town Casino, where we spent a few hours gambling, and had dinner at the fabulous Pegasus restaurant. After dinner we found a new irish pub nearby, The Cock and Bull (I think that's the name anyway) which turned out to be great fun! Great entertainment, Guinness & Harp on tap..and a short walk back to the hotel. This hotel is great if you are doing anything downtown. The next day, we enjoyed our free breakfast (using a Hilton Bounce Back rate) and headed over past Comerica Park to Ford Field for an RV show. The location was great! The valet parking guy even let us keep our car on the lot after we checked out, so we didn't have to pay for parking again! Overall, a great experience! This place is a gem! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lindymagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2005

I have stayed at this hotel many times. I have found the staff to be very friendly and the rooms are very clean. This is a brand new hotel which was desperatly needed in this area. It is very close walking distance to alot of things to see and do. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzieh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2005

This is a great hotel. Very Clean and convenient to downtown.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Address: 351 Gratiot Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Entertainment District, we are near Comerica Park, Ford Field, Little Caesar Arena, Michigan Opera Theater, the Music Hall and much more. Just two blocks from Greektown, you will find we are surrounded by shops and restaurants. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel include Quicken Loans, Meridian Health, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, General Motors, and DTE Energy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing