We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Stay with a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
“Quality Stay with a Great Location”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel is a jewel in downtown Detroit. Very close to the Gem Theatre, Greek Town and the People Mover. The Chrome Grill has great food. The Hotel Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy that our location, accomodations and staff were able to provide you with a great stay. Thank you for staying and we hope you can stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    305
    124
    51
    25
See reviews for
164
222
51
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The best staff I have experienced in my 40+ years of travel. They made me feel at home from the moment I arrived. Jerie at the front desk is amazing and the restaurant wait staff are wonderful. The location is perfect. It is close to my work site and local entertainment including Greek Town and Ford Field. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for the great comments! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice Hotel. It is in excellent condition and seems to be very well maintained. The hotel has the feeling of a much larger hotel due to it's amenities and all it's attention to detail in decorating and design. For example, there is a restaurant bar, cafe, business center, pool, and the rooms have a microwave, mini fridge as well as a Keurig coffee maker. The rooms are very nice and very clean and well maintained. The staff was pleasant, polite and helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel. The proximity to Ford field is very convenient. The parking is a little goofy. They have a very small lot and the parking is valet ONLY but they are limited on space due to their location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Thanks for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that our location, service and accommodations provided you with a excellent stay. We hope you can stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This Hotel is a bad imitation of a Hilton hotel. They try to give the impression of elegance on the surface but fall short where it counts. The rooms are small and stuffy. The pool is small and uninviting. The staff is unfriendly and unaccommodating. I will say that the beds are comfortable however.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank jenniferr34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Our brand, Hilton Garden Inn, is was designed for travelers who did not have a need for all the amenities of a full service "Hilton" hotel. This give the travelers the ability to save on room cost by not paying a higher rate for services that they do not need. In reading your review, it appears we did not meet the service you expected, for that we should have done better. I will share you comments with our executive team and staff. We value our guest feedback and use it to improve for each and every guest stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Some items were left behind in the room after checkout. I called the following day and was transferred to housekeeping and had to leave a message. No one had called me back within a week. When I finally called them back, someone from housekeeping told me that the items had never been logged by hotel staff, thus no employee had ever even turned them in. Very disappointing that personal items left behind appear to have been taken by hotel staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
i would like to thank you staying with us and apologize that we did not live up to your expectations in regard to your items left behind. I do hope that you accept my sincere apologies for this short coming. We strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their travels. After receiving your comments, we have taken the necessary steps to inform the appropriate departments of the problems raised. I have personally spoken with our associates and leadership team, to which I am assured that they have taken the necessary action within their departments to ensure that the shortfalls you encountered do not happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Took longer to check in, long line and it wasn't moving fast. Dinner service, not great service but good food. Breakfast service was HORRIBLE and unsanitary. Pool area has no ventilation and just sitting in there makes your eyes burn and makes you cough from the chlorine burning your lungs. Mold at the top of the ceiling because of no ventilation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for staying, and I am sorry that we disappointed. I will share you concerns with the breakfast service with our team. I also wanted to let you know that as of yesterday afternoon, the ventilation unit in the pool has been replaced, and the pool area is scheduled for deep cleaning to bring the area back up to our expectations. We apologize for its condition during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel was clean, lots of hot water, clean towels plentiful. Beds comfortble some of staff was great but some were not very helpful. Looking for valet to get car and after 15 minutes someone told us he might be out having dinner. No concern that we want to get our car to go out to dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for staying, I am sorry to hear that we were not as helpful as we should have been when it comes to getting your car for you. I will be sure to share this with our team so we can improve. Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Address: 351 Gratiot Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Entertainment District, we are near Comerica Park, Ford Field, Little Caesar Arena, Michigan Opera Theater, the Music Hall and much more. Just two blocks from Greektown, you will find we are surrounded by shops and restaurants. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel include Quicken Loans, Meridian Health, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, General Motors, and DTE Energy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing