We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean hotel, walkable to Greektown restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, clean hotel, walkable to Greektown restaurants”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have no complaints, a rare feat when I visit a hotel! I arrived in town by Greyhound, and took the People Mover to the nearby Cadillac stop and walked a few blocks to the hotel. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient, and I found myself with a room on the fourth floor. The room had both wired and wireless internet freely available, which surprised me - I used the wireless and found it plenty fast for me, and the table had plenty of space for my gigantic laptop. The room TV had a decent channel selection (but who watches TV, anyway?), and a microfridge was also available. The showerhead had a decent flowrate, and soap and shampoo was available.

Like I said, no complaints. The Greektown casino (which I did not frequent) and Greektown restaurants (which I did) are just a few blocks away, and I walked all over town taking photos with the hotel as my homebase.

One strange thing did happen, I guess - I asked the hotel desk to arrange a cab for me, and they had the cab driver call me, which has never happened before. The cab itself had no meter and the trip cost me more than I thought it would. So maybe you should schedule your own taxi.

But, overall, recommended, for sure. Note that I paid about half the price listed on the hotel website by using Priceline's "Name your own price" feature.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creationwaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    310
    126
    54
    26
See reviews for
171
231
51
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

You have to pay an ADDITIONAL $20 for parking when you check inn. Your car is in a public parking lot, not in a parking garage. And, to top it off, my sheets had blood on them. Fitted sheet and loose sheet. When we asked to speak to a manger to confront them about the problem, we were told they weren't in but would give us a call. Now since we've still not been talked to, there will be a scene in the lobby where as to I hope other guests hear this and re think their hotel arrangements.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelbBrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to fill out a review. I am was not available right away on Friday morning when you called down, but I am glad that I was able sit down with you and talk before you left that day. Again, I apologize as the situation was unacceptable by all accounts. I also understand your concern about the parking. As is the case with the other downtown hotels, we do have a charge for overnight parking as we have to purchase the addition space.

Thank you,

David Kipfmiller
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is very lovely and the staff very friendly. It is a block to two major sports venue and a block to the Greektown area where you can find food and entertainment of all types. All rooms have a refrigerator and microwave which is handy for those who may be tailgating during their stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diceandtux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is located just blocks from Greektown Casino, Comerica Park and Ford Field. Buffalo Wild Wings right across the street. Rooms are always clean, comfortable beds, and great staff. If you are coming for a Red Wings game walk to Greektown and take the People Mover or lots of local bars offer free shuttles (BWW does not have a shuttle)...remember drivers work on tips! We stay here all the time, feel free to ask me any questions and I'll do my best to help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLionQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for the Tigers' home opener, and the hotel was perfect. It was busy, and everything was clean and ready for a crowd. I appreciated the extra security in the lobby and in the elevator--who knew Detroit Tigers' fan were so, ahem, enthusiastic!! We loved our stay there. Comfy beds, clean room, good restaurants and bar in the hotel. Easy walking distance to Greektown, restaurants, and Comerica Park. Valet was fast and courteous.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannrasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is situated in a wonderful little location nestled in the heart of Downtown Detroits diamonds in the rough. It is one block or so from Greek Town so absolutely accessible by walking. Fishy Bones is a block away, Pegasus, the Casino, Comerica Park, Ford Stadium and the Foxx Theater.
The people mover also runs only a block from this hotel as well as goes to many of downtowns Detroits River Front attractions. Hart Plaza, Ren. Cen. , Ponchatrain, Joe Louis, Cobo Arena.


Honestly the rooms are old fashioned but quaint and clean, the staff is courteous. If you want a pool, there is one, but don't be fooled by the Garden name. I had a hard time finding a Garden.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrice, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here in business for 3 nights, rooms were clean, beds were nice and comfy and the staff was very pleasant. I would stay here again for sure!! Oh and the location is fantastic, you are right in the middle of everything that could want to do in Detroit.

Room Tip: I didn't see a place for free breakfast, but there was a paid one offered
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Address: 351 Gratiot Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Entertainment District, we are near Comerica Park, Ford Field, Little Caesar Arena, Michigan Opera Theater, the Music Hall and much more. Just two blocks from Greektown, you will find we are surrounded by shops and restaurants. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel include Quicken Loans, Meridian Health, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, General Motors, and DTE Energy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing