We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Service, friendly!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service, friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The staff was accommodating and friendly. Hotel and rooms were clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable! I stayed in a king-size. I frequented the pool/hot tub/fitness room daily. Though they're not the biggest, they were clean and suited my needs well. I love the central location. Walking distance to bars, restaurants, stadiums, Greektown, sight seeing, etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the stadiums have a good view including the Tiger Stadium and the Fox Theater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    296
    119
    50
    24
See reviews for
155
209
50
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MICHIGAN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was very leary to stay here from the beginning. I stayed here and I had a very good experience where I would stay here again before going somewhere else. The front desk staff was very friendly and acknowledge the special occasion that we were celebrating. Nothing like amneties at the hotel which included a sports bar and resturant. The down side was the valet parking it was very confusing when we pulled up it was a lot of people standing everywhere where we couldnt distingusih what and who was working for valet. At night it was a lot of employees not working loitering in front of the building which make it unsightly. But overall I will stay here again. oops one more point the breakfast resturant was very crowded in the morning and the hot food wasn't always stock without asking for more and it was confusingthe way you had to order omlets or pancakes. Be careful when reserving when I intially called to book the told me they were full when I called back the day of my arrival they had availability

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MZTETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review, and stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Dave Kipfmiller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The staff was pretty nice and the place clean and comfortable.
The "gym" fits 3 people max, with a treadmill, a bike and a small weight rack. The "pool" is smaller than my kitchen! Not sure if the parking is worth the extra $20 (I didn't drive there though). Conveniently located if whatever brings you to Detroit is downtown.
To sum it up, pretty standard for a Hilton. Not luxurious, but nice still. I see that it's classified as a $$$$ on some other websites but I'd say it's more $$$.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vithiet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and couldn't fault it. Rooms were comfortable and good size. Plentiful hot water and the staff couldn't do enough for us -t elling us where to visit / where not to and how people mover worked.
Hotel bar / diner was really friendly and served taty food in the evenings when we tended not to go out. Ashley was lovely and so cheerful.
I would recommend this hotel particularly if you are going to detroit for the football or baseball - you couldn't get closer to the stadiums!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time and did not find it to be up to typical Hilton Garden Inn standards. Granted, it's probably a top option in a city without many, but the hallways smell like a bar/casino and the bathrooms aren't super clean. Parking is insanely expensive too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for the response and staying with us. We value your feedback, and will share with our team. I apologize if our hotel was not up to standard during your stay. Our team takes great pride in their service and our hotel's appearance. Please trust that we will continue to improve and make your next experience a better one. I also understand your concerns about parking. While there is a charge for parking, we have worked hard to ensure our cost are the same as our lower than the rest of the hotels in Downtown Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnybridge
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hotel was in a great location, only minutes away from Greektown, the people mover and some good restuarants. Room was excellant, bed and pillows were comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful, Would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AileenBonnybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just completed a stay with three others in our party and location was perfect. Within walking distance to area restaurants, casino, bars/lounges. The hotel lobby is charming and inviting and stocked at all times with hot coffee, tea, packages of hot chocolate, very refreshing and pretty jars of water which included pineapples & strawberries or cucumbers.

The staff is top notch. Very professional, friendly, accommodating and eager to please. No phoniness here. Valet parking is high but comparable to parking in other major cities. I did not see anyone to help with baggage but was impressed with a wheelchair accommodation for one of the hotel guests.

The breakfast buffet is $11.95 but ask for complimentary tickets during your stay. There was a Detroits Tiger game during our stay and many guests, however, the elevators (2) were easily available and at times empty when we wanted to move. The buffet was rather good, although other guests have given not so favorable reviews. There are cooked to order options available upon request (waffles, pancakes, omelettes). The coffee inside this restaurant is terrible, the lobby brand is so much better tasting. Saturday & Sunday breakfast/buffet is served until 12:00 noon.

The hotel bar and grill was pleasantly very good. Food is reasonable for an on site restaurant, nice staff, great burgers and sliders. Food was served quickly and hot and there is a nice menu selection.

The hotel is very clean with snooze control for your bed (you select the firmness of your mattress), but the pillows are TOO soft. When you use the bathroom be prepared to reach far for the tissue. The distance from the toilet seat to tissue is almost fall off the seat distance. What a strange design so be sure to set your paper on top of the vanity, FIRST.

All in all a very good hotel and we agreed we would all return. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruruChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.8 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 34 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Address: 351 Gratiot Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown hotel is located in downtown Detroit. Set in the heart of Harmonie Park, the hotel is surrounded by shops, restaurants and entertainment venues such as Ford Field and Comerica Park. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel in Detroit, Michigan include Quicken Loans, Ernst and Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers and Compuware. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing