We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The Friendly Hilton"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"The Friendly Hilton"”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Accomodating, friendly staff. Had a problem w/our AC unit and they immediately put us in another room, even though it was 11pm. Had some great sliders at the bar/grill in the hotel.
Nice bartender, great chef. The breakfast room is another story, however. VERY unorganized, messy and not worth the price....FREE. The location of this hotel is perfect for Greektown, Ford Field and Comerica park. Valet parking is great and the valets are very attentive and friendly!

Room Tip: Saw 2 rooms, they were identical. Sorry, no tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for providing insight on your recent experience at our hotel. I’m so happy you enjoyed our friendly and accommodating staff and I’m glad they could provide you with a new room. I sincerely apologize for disorganization you may have experienced in the American Grille, and I will be sharing you comments with our Food and Beverage Manager. We look for reviews to provide insight, so I certainly appreciate your feedback. The next time you are in the area, we would love for you to stay with us again. Thank you.

David Kipfmiller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    305
    124
    51
    25
See reviews for
163
221
51
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed just one night but we were extremely impressed. All the employees were very friendly and polite. The room was fresh and clean. We were even ramdomly picked as guests of the day, so we received a goodie bag that included two free tickets for breakfast. We had a great breakfast, better than we expected and we didn't even need to order off the menu. We had a great view of downtown from our 9th floor room. One thing that really impressed us is that you needed to use your key card to even use the elevator, that made us feel very secure. The hotel is just a short walk from Co-America Park. After the baseball game (which we won) we walked around downtown (and it was hopping), looked at all the historic buildings and stopped for a drink. Never once did we feel unsafe. If your heading to the big city I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city. It's a little bit more but so worth it, what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks for staying and congratulations on being selected as our guest of the day. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

David Kipfmiller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Really nice folks running this place. They took great care in making sure my changed reservation was right, that I got my request for a higher floor room granted, and that everything was right - the first time. We were in town for a Tiger game and when they say the hotel is two blocks from the ballpark they are NOT making this up!!! What a pleasure to enjoy the game and then just walk (safely) back to my nice, clean hotel room. All the amenities are there: good bed, nice t.v., free wireless (and you don't have to be a software engineer to sign in) big clean bath, microwave, mini-fridge, you got it all. And from my 10th floor room I could see into the ballpark! GO TIGERS. We will definitely be back for all our Tiger town needs.

Room Tip: The extra five bucks for the 10th floor room on the "Tiger side" of the hotel was really f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at this property in July but have stayed here in the past as well. You will not find a nicer hotel so close to both Comerica Park and Ford Field. We walk around at night and hit the bars and casino and have never had a problem or felt unsafe. Room was clean and very spacious. Everytime I visit Detroit this hotel is my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks for staying and for the great review. Come down and see us again soon!

David Kipfmiller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The girls at the Front Desk were very friendly and quickly made us feel welcome. The room was spacious and clean. Quite disappointed with breakfast buffet. Had to wait for a table. Many items on buffet were empty, more items were empty than ones that had anything for the hot items. Made to order omelettes, french toast or pancakes. My Son and I had an omelette each that was delicious. Poor service but got the impression they were either surprised by the amount of guests or were short staffed. All the employees were hustling and nobody was standing around. Stayed here because it is close to everything and especially Ford Field and Comerica Park. Not sure I would stay again. The rate ws more like a Hilton than a Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks again for staying, and letting us know about your experience. I have brought this to the attention of our Food and Beverage Director, and it appears we missed the mark on this day. We are committed to satisfaction of our guest, and we will use your comments to help get us to this point.

Thank you,

David Kipfmiller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I picked this hotel due to its proximity to Ford Field and Comerica Park,and just a 2-4 minute walk to Greektown, we had tixs to a ball game one night and a concert the following night. I did my homework and knew it was the closest hotel in the city to the stadiums. However what I wasn't expecting was such a friendly and accomadating staff, from the people working reception to the cleaning staff, everyone had a smile and a friendly hello. Was also very nice that the girls at the front desk called me by name , and seemed genuinly concerned that everything was to my satisfaction. Will hands down recommend this hotel for anyone I know travelling to the area , and if I find myself back in Detroit will for sure find myself back at the Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for the staying with us and for the wonderful review. We can't wait to see you again next time you are in Detroit!

David Kipfmiller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Most friendly hotel staff I have met

The location is on the safer side of Detroit downtown near most of the functioning offices in downtown Detroit.

The bar and food was good as well.

Surly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dijango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Address: 351 Gratiot Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Entertainment District, we are near Comerica Park, Ford Field, Little Caesar Arena, Michigan Opera Theater, the Music Hall and much more. Just two blocks from Greektown, you will find we are surrounded by shops and restaurants. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel include Quicken Loans, Meridian Health, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, General Motors, and DTE Energy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing