We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely gorgeous interior” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Theatre

Fox Theatre
Ranked #10 of 140 things to do in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Detroit's crown jewel, the Fox Theatre, has played host to some of the biggest names in show business and holds its ground as one of the top-grossing theaters of its size in the nation.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
663 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous interior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I may be biased because I love old buildings but the Fox Theater is gorgeous inside. It's worthwhile going to simply to look at the interior. We enjoyed the show we attended; could hear & see great, the staff were friendly; overall wonderful experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    67
    12
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Twp., MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Agreat theater from the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

It was amazing inside. Just looking at all the different statues and columns. The sound acoustics were great. An old movie theater that the Illich family has restored to unblievable greatness.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank maryalice r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
236 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Restoration is Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Went to the Fox Theater last night to see the Celtic Women Christmas Concert. The entire theater is beautiful. Plenty of ushers and staff that were friendly and helpful. Seating in the mezzanine was great. We could see over the heads of the people sitting in front of us with no problem. Restrooms were located on the mezzanine floor and also in the basement. The seats were not comfortable and the 15 minute intermission was a relief. The concert started exactly on time. In all, a great night.

Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slendifferous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Ostentatious, opulent, and the entertainment brought here is first-class. Parking is somewhat of an issue, but I don't mind walking a little bit.

Helpful?
Thank ERJ5086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique Landmark Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I wondered if I had walked into a movie set. Beyond anything I have seen before or will ever see again. I sent photos to friends around the world - all agreed, this landmark theater is stunning and unique.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Fox Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing