We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bistro Ever”
Review of Fountain Bistro - CLOSED

Fountain Bistro
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: European, French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Michigan Ave
Description: We are a European bistro nestled in the heart of Detroit's award winning Campus Martius Park. From our culinary team that prides itself on using only the freshest seasonal ingredients to craft everything on our menu to our service staff that will always go above and beyond, everything we do is designed to exceed your expectations. We serve lunch and dinner every day, year round, and brunch on the weekends. Come visit us soon, we look forward to showing you a side of Detroit you've never seen.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Bistro Ever”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was the most enjoyable restaurant I visited while in Detroit. The food was delicious, service was friendly, and views were spectacular. Had dinner on Friday and went back for brunch on Sunday.

A quick walk from the Westin where we stayed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great salad!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Had the bibb salad w/chicken and hot bread with olive oil. Swapped the blue cheese dressing for the lemon thyme vinagrette for a lighter flavor. Delicious!! My friend had the goat cheese salad and loved it too. Can't say enough about the delicious hot bread. Nice atmosphere too.

Helpful?
Thank LPGCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingham Farms, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was my second visit--great food, terrific service and the best ambience available in Detroit--city Christmas tree, ice rink, Compuware building. I would recommend this place again and again. It is also a nice place for a Sunday morning brunch.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CorinneKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan, USA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went out for a birthday with a large group. Food is very good. Chef came out to talk to us and confirm all was well. Staff took care of us. Price was quite reasonable. Locale with lots of windows makes it a great place to see the world going by, giving energy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were hoping to sit outside to enjoy the fountain and the cityscape, but it was too windy. The interior is a bit more formal, but we were made to feel welcome. The waiter was awesome, very knowledgeable about the menu, and my silly questions about what was going on outside. I ordered the special which was an Emu shank with lingonberry and purple Peruvian potato & spinach spatzle. It was so Yummy! had fantastic flavors and a great presentation. My husband tasted it also and thought it was great. His Angus burger was also very good. We were a bit disappointed with the the Duck Fat Pommes (fingerling potatoes with some bacon and onions in duck fat) A bit too greasy for our tastes, and we make better at home. The warm artisian bread basket was unexpected and tasty. I wanted to try their homemade gelato, but after the sticker shock of the emu, decided to pass until next summer when we can enjoy the outside seating. We were told when we ordered the price of the emu, so we were prepared.... :) Not something I would pay for everyday, but well worth a try. Campus Martius is a gem and this restaurant location gives you a great vantage point to enjoy Detroit's skyline.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank deutschlandfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountain Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing