We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoky and crowded” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MotorCity Casino

MotorCity Casino
Ranked #43 of 140 things to do in Detroit
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A casino where you don't need to gamble? That's the idea at MotorCity, designed to satisfy gamblers and non-gamblers alike with its comprehensive gaming offerings and dining and entertainment delights. Its restaurants, which range from fine dining to barbecue, are run by one of the two certified master chefs in Michigan.
Clinton Twp
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Smoky and crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

It has a weird ramp like entrance. Feel bad for someone pushing a wheelchair on the way out it's uphill. It's quite smoky and if there is a problem with a machine there is no one around to help. You can sit for 40 minutes and no one comes around.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kdstravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    74
    48
    30
    50
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“False advertisement manager stephine”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I'm so up set , see this big sign on the freeway saying play for an hour and stay free well ,people don't be fool i called to book my room for march 6 its my sister birthday and i wanted to take her some where we didnt have to go outside .And i new i took advantage of motor city offer i went and gamble for a couple of hours and receive my free room threw email and was great full until i called to make my reservation for this special birthday for my sister only to be disappointing margrett said oh we don't have availblty for that date but we can book you another date i said heartbroken well,,,,what other date she said their open for the 3-30-13 i said i no that's way past her birthday but ok i will take it she ask me am i a member i said yes i gave her my member number everything change, she said oh that free night is not valet for weekend i was threw, ask to speak to the manager i new she would make it right well stephine said well that date not available i told her the clerk said it was she said not for a free room didnt think it was free considering i had to gamble for an hour to receive that any way thats not the kind of Customer Service i would receive from our Main Attraction in the Downtown Detroit area Stephine should not be a manger if she cant put the customer needs a little my coupon email to me do not stat no weekends it simple say make your reservation before it expire False NOBODY WANT TO STAY TUESDAY THREW THURSDAY PEOPLE HAVE TO WORK THEY RELAX ON THE WEEKEND IF YOU DIDNT NO MOTOR CITY HOW MANY PEOPLE IN THE WORLD WORK M-F 99.9 PLEASE CHANG YOUR POLICY LET THE GUEST NO NO WEEKENDS ON YOUR BORDERS ON THE FREEWAY STEPHINE IN RESERVATION

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Conswella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rated # 2 Casino In My Eyes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great Experience, nice room but I wouldn't go as far for the lounge its not worth the extra cost. At least the place is newer hopefully they will maintain it well

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st clair michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“In need of some work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

air quality VERY BAD - no ventilation and a very small non smoking section. Cigar smokers are abundant and the smoke stays right in the area; it does not get sucked up. My clothes reek when i get out of there.
Also, there are people hanging around there who are not playing any games, just watching those who are. It is scarey . My husband dropped his voucher and by the time he could pick it up someone else had and taken off. You do have to watch youself, although they do try with security.
They have also made many noticable cutbacks in service and payouts since they opened. Their slots used to be more generous and many many people have noticed this.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank 60andout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love this casino, but wish the smoke-free section was larger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been to the MotorCity Casino twice and both times I stayed overnight. The rooms are large and beautiful and the casino floor is very, very large.
I can't handle the smoke from casinos, so I was very pleased to find the smoke-free section of the casino. While it is nice, it is immensely small and was way overcrowded. There should definitely be more machines in a bigger smoke-free area with how many people chose to be in there over the main casino floor.
The buffet is wonderful for dinner and breakfast with a variety of foods.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MotorCity Casino also viewed

 

Been to MotorCity Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing