We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed June 14, 2014

From your first encounter with the surliest, most indifferent desk staff you've ever met, to the slamming doors, groaning service elevators that shake the walls of your room, to the 20 dollars/day enforced valet parking...this will definitely be one of the more unpleasant stays and worst nights of sleep you've had for a price bordering on extortion. Avoid.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duggernaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Duggernaut,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you to help us improve. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed to meet that criteria. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. Please contact me directly so I have a chance to follow up with your concerns. I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 563 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Kind of sucks to pay $20/night for parking when your car isn't even kept on the property. Checked out the pool but it's kind of awkward; top floor, small, and there's no hot tub.

Room was fairly clean though, and breakfast was ok, so overall stay was fine.

Room Tip: Pool is on the top floor if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jbsmjs430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Jbsmjs430,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you to help us improve. Please know that our valet team works closely with local garages to provide secure parking to all of our guests, I hope that you found the retrieval of your car to be timely. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were traveling with our 2 kids and two of their friends. We booked two rooms, a room with 2 double beds and a Suite with a "separate bedroom that has a door and be closed off from the sofa sleeper in the living room". However when we checked in, the suite we received was one large space without a separate bedroom. When I inquired at the desk they told me they didn't have any rooms that fit the description I was promised at booking (800 reservation line booked room). All their suites were just one large living space. So we opted for a standard room with 2 beds. They didn't offer to credit diff and let us stay in the suite and offered no apologie regarding the mix up. The rooms themselves were quite spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowwman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Snowwman,
Thank you for choosing us as your hotel during your last visit. It was a pleasure to have you and your family at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies that the room you were provided did not meet the description that you had expected. I am disappointed that our team did not exhibit their usual high level of service recovery. Please know that we will use your comments as a training opportunity and will follow up to ensure the correct information is being communicated through our reservations desk. I am pleased that the rooms were comfortable and clean and hope that you will consider joining us again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I have always stayed at Greektown in downtown D, but after staying at this hotel I will never stay anywhere else in Detroit. Great price, great valet parking (Walter rocked!), and great staff. The front desk staff and breakfast attendants were amazing! Can not give this hotel enough credit! Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank anna91182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Anna,
Thank you for choosing us as your hotel during your last visit. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night with a friend. We are from Canada and were in town for a concert and had never been to Detroit before. The hotel was clean and comfortable and in an amazing location. We were very close to everywhere we needed to be downtown. All of the staff that we dealt with at this hotel were absolutely wonderful. Everyone was friendly and helpful. One particular staff member went above and beyond to help us and his name was Will. He works for the shuttle service that the hotel offers (which by the way, is AWESOME). He was friendly, courteous, helpful, and really went out of his way to help us out. I don't know what they are paying him at this hotel but I do know that he deserves a raise. I would reccomend this hotel to any and all of my friends and family who are travelling to Detroit in the future. And when I return to Detroit I will most definitely be staying there again and I hope I have the good fortune of running into Will again! Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BaileyPeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Bailey,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you found the location to be perfect for your visit. We were truly humbled by your gracious comments regarding our hotel service team. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests; I will be sure to recognize Will specifically for the positive impact he had on your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed there for a weekend for a wedding. The staff was friendly as well as the valet. They were helpful on information about where to go as well as nice overall. Now, I did deal with one person that was a bit rude or gave the impression that we were not worth his time, but the rest of staff were pleasant. Security was good and the pool was nice, clean and had towels. Breakfast was slightly scarce, and there was no coffee all the time, but overall it was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blsoler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Blsoler,
Thank you for choosing us as your hotel during your last visit. We try to make everyone’s visit memorable by providing the best comfort, the friendliest service, and the best of amenities; and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. Thank you for your feedback about breakfast, we will look into the quality and service that we are offering in this area. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alain S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.6 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown

Address: 1020 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-2613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range: $159 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit is a first class hotel that is ideal for travelers who are visiting for either business or leisure purposes. In addition to our finely appointed guest rooms, we offer fully equipped suites with full kitchens for extended stays. Some of our outstanding amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool, 24-hour business center, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Don't forget to join us for breakfast at our newly updated Express Start Breakfast Bar. We now offer a selection of hot entrees! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit also offers valet parking for your convenience at fee of $27.00 per car per night, the lowest priced hotel parking in the downtown area. Located in the heart of downtown Detroit, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is within walking distance of Cobo Convention Center, Joe Louis Arena (Detroit Red Wings) and the new MGM Grand Casino. The hotel is also positioned perfectly near the People Mover, Greektown Casino, Motor City Casino, Detroit Opera House, Fox Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers), and Ford Field (Detroit Lions). For the busy executive, the hotel is located only 1-2 blocks from Compuware World Headquarters, DTE Energy, and AT&T, just to name a few. The General Motors World Headquarters, famously known as the Renaissance Center, is located less than one mile from the hotel and is open to the public during weekdays for tours and shopping. Visitors can even venture off across the border into Canada by crossing the Ambassador Bridge or the tunnel into Windsor, Canada. For your next visit to Detroit, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Downtown Detroit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing