We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy pipes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I've stayed here twice. There were no problems the first time and only one the second. All night long on my second stay I heard ocassional banging noises that I thought were doors closing hard. But there were so few guests in the hotel that it could not have been them. It could only have been the pipes that made a bit of noise when I showered in the morning.

The room was fine. It was big enough, the bed was comfortable, there were enough pillows, and I appreciate a room with a refrigerator. There were also enough HD TV channels to satisy me. Why can't more chains just do a basic room like this?

The hot breakfast was more than adequate.

I do want to say a bit about the service - it was top-notch. Every staffer (both stays) I encountered wanted to go out of his/her way to be helpful. From check-in clerk to breakfast room attendant they all wanted to know what I needed. I was especially impressed when the shuttle driver even offered to take me to work 15 minutes before his shift started.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcfrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

FC Frag,
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We are so delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your room, with all of its distinctive amenities. I regret that you were disturbed by some noises during your recent stay, please know that there was some work being done on our block to tie a business into the same city steam that we use. Should this occur again please let us know and we will look into it further. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 549 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful from the girl who delivered all of our cases to our rooms (there was a lot of luggage), to the hotel duty manager who was visible every morning at breakfast to ensure everything was ok and to ask if anyone had any queries about anything.
The rooms were spacious and clean.
It was in a good location, easy to walk to most places ie baseball stadium, waterfront but also very close to People Mover if you preferred to ride. Great not having to worry about parking as valet parking provided by hotel.
Would definitely use this hotel again if we return to Detroit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Wendy,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, we will be sure to share them with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel because we went to a Detroit Lions game. The room was clean, spacious and nice. The valet parking was nice too. It is close to everything you would like to do, we even walked to Ford Field. All the employees were very nice as well!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sanchia39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Sanchia,
I am pleased that you were able to join us for the Lions game. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We are pleased that the location and amenities such as valet were so convenient for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had only a night's stay here but found the Holiday Inn to be in a good location and with very friendly and helpful staff.
My room was large and comfortable and I even made use of the hotels small pool and jacuzzi - always a welcome addition. The hotel also gave a free breakfast which was a nice touch and set me up for the day.
The hotel is superbly located for both Ford Field and Comerica and nearby is Greektown with plenty of bars and restaurants.
Detroit can sometimes get a bad press but I find it an intereresting place to visit and stay and I'd happily park myself at this Holiday Inn again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Beano Surrey,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. I am pleased that you enjoyed the amenities that the hotel offers such as our pool and breakfast area and that you love Detroit as much as we do! Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night while we explored the city. We intend to move here in 6 months or so and needed a "home base" to look for homes around town. The location is great, being a block from the people mover. We also caught a Red Wings game and it was great to not have to worry about parking/traffic. The room was a standard room with 2 queen size beds, microwave, and mini fridge. Our only complaint about the appliances was the door to the fridge wouldn't shut properly. The room itself was clean, as was the bathroom. There was a small hole in the carpet behind the door, but it really didn't affect our stay. The valet parking was necessary as there is nowhere to park for free downtown. The only issue we had with that was we didn't know the texting service wasn't working and we ended update waiting a little long for our car. The hotel sits on the corner of Michigan and Washington and we did not know where to park (we were unaware of the valet parking when we got there). It took us driving around the block 3 times before we figured out what to do. On the plus side, check in was at 3pm and we got into town at 10am and we were allowed to check in early. Overall, it covered what we were looking for in a one night stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Amy,
I am so pleased that you are looking to move to the area! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay. We have shared you feedback with our team so we can take opportunities to improve. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Walking distance from Michigan People Mover (small train system). Centrally located in the heart of downtown Detroit and 10 minute walk from Greektown. FREE shuttle to drop off guests within downtown area. Friendly staff, clean hotel and FREE breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dags,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We are so delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed the hotel with all of our convenient amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a tired old property which isn't even up to the standards I expect from Holiday Inn. Yes, there's free breakfast and the location is good...but the place has a musty smell, the rooms are dark and the mattresses are thin. There are better places to stay for the same money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aurorahunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Aurora Hunter,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and rely on it to improve. Please know that the hotel has been making some positive changes since the summer to improve our guest experience and we have welcomed new team leaders to implement those changes. Please reach out to me directly so I have a chance to follow up with your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back as we improve.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown

Address: 1020 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-2613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range: $163 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit is a first class hotel that is ideal for travelers who are visiting for either business or leisure purposes. In addition to our finely appointed guest rooms, we offer fully equipped suites with full kitchens for extended stays. Some of our outstanding amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool, 24-hour business center, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Don't forget to join us for breakfast at our newly updated Express Start Breakfast Bar. We now offer a selection of hot entrees! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit also offers valet parking for your convenience at fee of $27.00 per car per night, the lowest priced hotel parking in the downtown area. Located in the heart of downtown Detroit, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is within walking distance of Cobo Convention Center, Joe Louis Arena (Detroit Red Wings) and the new MGM Grand Casino. The hotel is also positioned perfectly near the People Mover, Greektown Casino, Motor City Casino, Detroit Opera House, Fox Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers), and Ford Field (Detroit Lions). For the busy executive, the hotel is located only 1-2 blocks from Compuware World Headquarters, DTE Energy, and AT&T, just to name a few. The General Motors World Headquarters, famously known as the Renaissance Center, is located less than one mile from the hotel and is open to the public during weekdays for tours and shopping. Visitors can even venture off across the border into Canada by crossing the Ambassador Bridge or the tunnel into Windsor, Canada. For your next visit to Detroit, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Downtown Detroit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing