We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprising delight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A surprising delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for one night in this friendly hotel. All the staff went out of their way to be helpful and courteous. Although I'd read others' complaints about the Valet Parking, we got fast, efficient service. Highly recommend this spot for a budget friendly stay-over.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TantraPala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marwan h, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you so much for letting potential guests know how much we care for our guests. Please come and stay with our Holiday Inn Express family the next time you are downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    175
    123
    42
    38
See reviews for
113
90
39
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Good location walking distance to Comerica Park, and Ford Field. Staff very friendly. The morning Breakfast was ok, (could be just the morning we were there) but have had hotel breakfast's where there has been more selection. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palmercase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marwan h, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to let other potential guests know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to cheer on our Detroit Tigers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

A 10 minute stroll to the ball park.
Friendly staff, from the lads at the door to the staff at the reception...... spotlessly clean room..... and a surprisingly good breakfast that was more than the "continental" spread that is so often the norm.

Now if only the Blue Jays had bothered to show up..........

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djpinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marwan h, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for letting potential guests know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you back anytime in the future. Really, it's okay that the Blue Jays didn't show up, we love our Tigers!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wixom, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked this hotel so we can spend the night after the Jimmy Buffett concert. We tried other hotels first, but they were all booked. Was not sure what to expect, but we were treated like we were at a 5 star hotel. Friendly front desk, check was a breeze. They went out of there way to make sure we all rooms ( 3 couples) were together. Rooms were very clean and plenty of space. It is also a short walk to Comerica Park and Ford Field. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenLovesToVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marwan h, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us while you were downtown. I am glad my staff and I were able to make such a great impression during your stay. Please call us first the next time you come to the downtown area, you are now a part of our Holiday Inn Express family! Rachel Murdoch, Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E. Lansing
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Walk to the Detroit Tiger games, or as we did, to the Labor Day weekend International Jazz Festival by the Detroit River (last free festival in the nation, with the best jazz players!).
Staff very helpful and friendly. Even when full, the staff helped us to switch rooms, and the food at the breakfast buffet (fabulous buffet) was replenished constantly.
Tip: even-numbered rooms may be facing Michigan Ave., and the motorcycle noise kept me awake until about 2 am. We moved to an Interior, odd-numbered room, and it was quiet.
Hotel has a shuttle service to take people to Comerica Park for the Tigers games, or anywhere within 3 miles. Unfortunately, the shuttle ends at 10 pm so could not help us at 11 pm,
Hotel rooms are very clean, beds great, microwave & refrigerator & coffee maker in room.
A great affordable choice for us, since the Ren Cen Marriott is closer to Hart Plaza, but is more
expensive and offers no breakfast.

Room Tip: Get an interior, odd-numbered room so the noise from Michigan Ave. will not bother your sleep. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marwan h, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We appreciate all the great feedback that you have given to potential guests. It was my pleasure to help you with your room switch and to make certain that you were comfortable while you were staying with us. Please join us again in the future! Rachel Murdoch, Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We visited Detroit this past week for our annual Tigers/Sox outing. I knew from trying to book rooms at various hotels that this weekend was going to be pack as there was a lot going on. Luckily I was able to get 2 rooms here at the last minute. The lobby was packed, but the lines moved quickly. Check out was easy as well. And as for as many people that were booked at this hotel, the noise level was slim to none. It's also situated near the people mover so getting to the park was easy, and I think we cabbed it back for under $20. And that;'s only because we made a pit stop.

The only negative part of this trip was that upon arriving at our rooms, one of the rooms hadn't been cleaned yet by housekeeping. I alerted this to the attention of the manager and without saying anything she comped the room at a special rate and gave us another room. So their customer service and resolving problems definitely 5 stars.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The room that our friends stayed in had a nice view of the Westin and the streetview, whereas our ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsAndrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marwan h, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for letting other guests know how much you enjoyed our hotel. I want to take this opportunity to apologize again for the check in situation. Please come and stay with us again the next time you are time town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

In town for family vacation to see different MLB ballparks. My family of 3 stayed mid-week for a Tigers game. This hotel is right downtown and within easy walking distance. The hotel staff was very pleasant and accomodating assisting with luggage, parking and directions to our next destination. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The rooms are a little smaller then some of the newer hotels but I attribute that to a building in a big city. The breakfast was average - nothing special but just fine. Be aware that Detroit is a shell of a city. Very depressed area. Walk with a partner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marwan h, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while you were downtown Detroit. We appreciate all the great feedback you passed on to potential guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
0.5 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Address: 1020 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-2613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit is a first class hotel that is ideal for travelers who are visiting for either business or leisure purposes. In addition to our finely appointed guest rooms, we offer fully equipped suites with full kitchens for extended stays. Some of our outstanding amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool, 24-hour business center, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Don't forget to join us for breakfast at our newly updated Express Start Breakfast Bar. We now offer a selection of hot entrees! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit also offers valet parking for your convenience at fee of $27.00 per car per night, the lowest priced hotel parking in the downtown area. Located in the heart of downtown Detroit, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is within walking distance of Cobo Convention Center, Joe Louis Arena (Detroit Red Wings) and the new MGM Grand Casino. The hotel is also positioned perfectly near the People Mover, Greektown Casino, Motor City Casino, Detroit Opera House, Fox Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers), and Ford Field (Detroit Lions). For the busy executive, the hotel is located only 1-2 blocks from Compuware World Headquarters, DTE Energy, and AT&T, just to name a few. The General Motors World Headquarters, famously known as the Renaissance Center, is located less than one mile from the hotel and is open to the public during weekdays for tours and shopping. Visitors can even venture off across the border into Canada by crossing the Ambassador Bridge or the tunnel into Windsor, Canada. For your next visit to Detroit, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Downtown Detroit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing