We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed February 25, 2008

I have stayed at hotels all over the world and this Holiday Inn was by far the worst stay I have ever experienced. The front desk staff was extremely rude and unhelpful. They were impolite and offensive. The room was nice and clean. The pool was also nice. However, it is very difficult to enjoy your stay when you have been treated so badly by the staff. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Detroit area. There are many other hotels which are by far more of a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank andreadansby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 549 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2008

What a great value! This was our first visit to Detroit (My husband and myself) to do alittle gambling. Did much hotel shopping online and landed here! People mover is a great asset. Took us right to the entrance of Greektown. MGM was only 4 blocks away. Valet parking quick and efficient. We had a king room. Nice and clean. The other post was correct, lots of noise about 2:30am in the streets and we were next to the elevators and could hear them humming all night long. The breakfast was awesome! Nice hot food and the lady working the breakfast bar was very accomodating. For under $100 we will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vermilionite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

I found the staff to be very polite the rooms were perfectly fine. the bar in the hotel was wonderful it is called big city. we went to the red wings game on wed. and the lions game on thur. we took the free shuttle to both games our stay in detroit was an absolute fantastic time i will definetly use this hotel for future stays it is close to everything. it tool about 5 min. to get to any of the sports arenas. loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yodieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed at Holiday Inn Express for one night. It was in a good location. We walked to Hard Rock during the day otherwise do not venture out on footl The hotel was very clean and felt very safe. A little noisy out the window but you are in the heart of the city and construction. It was easy to find, Valet parking was good and quick. The breakfast was good and the area was very clean. They had coffee and tea 24 hours which was nice. It was about 3 blocks from MGM and a whole lot cheaper. I would recommend this hotel. The only complaint I had was the shower. Not much hot water left . One tip-join the priority club and they will upgrade your room and leave cookies for you.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jzee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

This is the second time I have stayed here. The first time was New Years Eve 07' which was absolutely fine. This time we took our son on a "family trip" to see a Tigers game. Check in was smooth & easy, staff was very polite. Room was clean and everything worked. We took the people mover which was right around the corner. We felt comfortable & safe using it before & after the game. To be honest, we were a little concerned with using it at night having our son w/us but it was fine!!! I did get the room on Hotwire which saved us about 50%!! The last time I didnt do that and paid more, but that's ok. Continental breakfast was fine & enough choices to make all of us happy. We will definitely stay here again when in Detroit.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michigangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

All I can say is COOL!! The valet staff was quick and gave me great directions to see the Tigers and get something to eat. The Front Desk upgraded us to a really nice suite! The rooms were spacious, very clean, and very cool!! Our cell phone died, but no worries, the Front Desk clerk offered his to use! The breakfast girl made a special trip to get me oranges and the housekeepers were so friendly. I was so happy about the stay, that I told a few friends at the Marriott. They ended swiching hotels, saving them $50 per night! We had a great location and the staff were locals that gave us great ideas. I'd stay again and tell everyone else! The HI Express Detroit is awesome!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Misscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Was staying here on business. Staff is nice if inexperienced, but the rooms are so terrible. Tiny, no closet doors, very low ceilings, tiny bathroom. It's the kind of place that has big metal plates on the door jambs so no one can kick the door in. Add elevators that do not work, fire alarms, hookers and drug traffickers as neighbors, and you get the story. The Courtyard is basic, but far better than this place. Never ever again.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AlohaKavika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown

Address: 1020 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-2613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range: $162 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit is a first class hotel that is ideal for travelers who are visiting for either business or leisure purposes. In addition to our finely appointed guest rooms, we offer fully equipped suites with full kitchens for extended stays. Some of our outstanding amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool, 24-hour business center, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Don't forget to join us for breakfast at our newly updated Express Start Breakfast Bar. We now offer a selection of hot entrees! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit also offers valet parking for your convenience at fee of $27.00 per car per night, the lowest priced hotel parking in the downtown area. Located in the heart of downtown Detroit, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is within walking distance of Cobo Convention Center, Joe Louis Arena (Detroit Red Wings) and the new MGM Grand Casino. The hotel is also positioned perfectly near the People Mover, Greektown Casino, Motor City Casino, Detroit Opera House, Fox Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers), and Ford Field (Detroit Lions). For the busy executive, the hotel is located only 1-2 blocks from Compuware World Headquarters, DTE Energy, and AT&T, just to name a few. The General Motors World Headquarters, famously known as the Renaissance Center, is located less than one mile from the hotel and is open to the public during weekdays for tours and shopping. Visitors can even venture off across the border into Canada by crossing the Ambassador Bridge or the tunnel into Windsor, Canada. For your next visit to Detroit, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Downtown Detroit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing