We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Detroit getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn on Ferry Street
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for a Detroit getaway”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here with another couple, in town for a Lions game. I wasn't expecting much from a weekend in Detroit, and many people asked why on earth we'd go to Detroit at all.
We were all very glad we went. The staff of the Inn made it easy to realize what an amazing, culturally-rich city Detroit is. From their restaurant recommendations, to the fantastic shuttle service, they made it a relaxing, easy to enjoy weekend for us. Shuttle drivers were funny, knowledgable ambassadors for the Inn and for the city. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. the buildings are beautiful and the rooms spacious, clean and comfortable, with an attention to detail that is charming and unique.
Can't say enough good things about the staff and the accommodations. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoodleMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    112
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
64
215
47
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Inn on Ferry Street
We recently spent a week in the Inn. It should be better called the Inns because it is comprised of four Victorian buildings and two carriage houses with a central registration lobby and dining room. The buildings are attractive with pediments on the entrances of three of them. The buildings are renovated keeping the high ceilings, thick wooden doors and décor of another time. The heating worked well while we there, however, I suspect that some find it a bit chilly as there were electric heaters and a fan in the closet. The rooms are comfortable, however, I strongly recommend visitors ask for the second floor (first floor Europe). The buildings are not well sound proofed and you are better off above than below.

The best features of the Inns are location, location, location. Detroit downtown is a city of pockets that are attractive and walkable, while other pockets are not. The Inns are located within two blocks of the Detroit Institute of Art, well worth visiting more than once, the Historic Museum of Detroit, good fun, and Wayne State University. The Inns provide a shuttle to anywhere within five miles which saved us paying parking and walking where we didn’t want to walk. The shuttle driver Torrance was a delight and his companion whose name I don’t remember gave us a free guided tour. The Inns are also close to the symphony and some good restaurants. The lobby/sitting room area is attractive and a good place to invite friends. Greg, the receptionist, is a gentle, humorous man and got us drinks when necessary.

The only downside was the breakfast dining arrangement. We arrived on one morning at 9:45 – breakfast is served until 10. Staff had already started clearing the available foods and became outraged to shouting in the kitchen when we asked for eggs. If not for the kitchen I would give it five stars.

Room Tip: Reserve second floor accommodation (1st floor Europe) as the rooms are not well sound proofed. visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Inn for 4 nights in January while we were in Detroit for the Winter Classic. I could not say enough good things about our stay. What makes this inn unique is that it is made up of renovated mansions that span almost a block. You are assigned a room in one of the houses so you receive a key to your house and also to your room. The location was great, we were able to walk to the Detroit Institute of Arts (a must see!) and a great crepe restaurant. The Detroit History Museum is also within walking distance and is across the street from the art museum.

We had a first floor room in Pungs house and it was perfect for the two of us. It did get a little chilly, as it was very cold and snowed during our time there, but the rooms had fans and heaters available in the closet. We didn't get to that point of needing them but it was nice to know they were available.

The free breakfast was delicious and included eggs, pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee, etc. The service was attentive and the front desk was helpful in recommending places to eat. We were only scheduled to stay 3 nights but a snow storm on our last day prompted us to stay an extra night. The inn honored our original nightly rate and we were able to stay in the same room.

One of the biggest perks is the free shuttle. The drivers were friendly and offered up recommendations for things to do as well as history lessons about Detroit. They would take you anywhere you wanted to go within a certain mile radius of the hotel (which easily covered downtown). We never had to take the car anywhere and took numerous trips downtown for dinner, the winter hockey festival, and even New Year's Eve festivities.

We had a great time and will not hesitate to come back for another stay. It was a refreshing change from the downtown chain hotels and also gave us a great opportunity to explore a new section of the city. Midtown has a lot to offer and we only touched the surface during our stay.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if you cannot manage steps make sure to request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katydid1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I couldn't have been happier with my stay at the Inn; from the friendly reception to the comfortable room, generous breakfast and tea, gracious staff. Nothing was too much trouble to the team, who handled every guest's request with speed and efficiency, going beyond the call of duty. Wonderful place, to which I will certainly return!

Room Tip: My room was a decent size, quiet, the bed four-posted and the bathroom just huge, ask for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSt0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Dh and I were here for one night. We had come to see Porgy and Bess at The Opera House. We were quickly checked in and given our keys to go to our room. Don't pack heavy. We had quite a climb to our room. Was very happy when we opened door to suite, which we had not reserved. The only drawback was that it didn't have a king bed, which I had reserved. I called desk and they told me there were not any and actually the only king room was under renovation. So that was a problem. They said they were sorry for not telling me ahead of time, so was I. Room was very nice and clean and freshly updated. We loved having the shuttle drop us at dinner and pick us up after show. Breakfast was good too. Think I would come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Great option for downtown Detroit.
The inn is adjacent to the Detroit Institute of the Arts and several other mid town attractions. Our rate seemed like an incredible value considering the quality of the room, the location, and the ambiance of the inn. However, we recommend that you not stay in the Scott House. This is the main building and gets noisy at breakfast and through check out.
We will say that the breakfast was wonderful. I am Vegan and there was a large selection of fruit that both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed.
We will certainly be staying here again. It's definitely out go to place for lodging in Detroit.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank julieahill27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This place is absolutely wonderful!! The person checking us in was so nice and welcoming. The room was very spacious. Really good cookies, water, tea and coffee waiting in the room. Coffee, tea and snacks always available. The library was a great gathering space before dinner. The free shuttle was wonderful, taking us to and from dinner. The breakfast was offered at very convenient times. We didn't have to set the alarm. The breakfast itself offered a delightful selection of fresh fruit, warm entrees, sweets, breads, cereals, protein bars, juices, coffees, teas, to go bags. Daily papers, lots of tables with fresh flowers, couches all helped to make breakfast a wonderful leisurely experience. There are four beautiful mansions that make up this inn. Our goal is to stay in each one. Secure, off street parking really is a very nice perk. We loved our visit!!!

Room Tip: Our room had a bay window with lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidamy617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
2.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,088 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
2.2 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#16 of 33 in Detroit
512 reviews
1.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Ferry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Ferry Street

Property: The Inn on Ferry Street
Address: 84 E Ferry St, Detroit, MI 48202-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#1 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Ferry Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Ferry Street Historic District of Midtown Detroit, The Inn on Ferry Street sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Just steps from the state’s finest museums, acclaimed Detroit Medical Center and Wayne State University, the Inn is a relaxing change of pace from the standard business hotel. Consisting of four restored Victorian homes, and two carriage houses the Inn abounds in sophisticated luxury. Shuttle service to/from The Inn within five miles, parking, WiFi, bountiful breakfast buffet, welcome cookie and water and PressReader digital newspaper and magazine access are all complimentary amenities for guests in each of our forty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn on Ferry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Ferry Street Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing