We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, breakfast and staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Ferry Street

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Inn on Ferry Street
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location, breakfast and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This well-situated and gorgeous property was a perfect treat for me. The breakfast was more than ample and I met some very interesting fellow-visitors. The buildings comprising the Inn are all charming and I was walking distance to the DIA, the Historical Museum, Library, many restaurants and other sites. The free shuttle service allowed me to get to downtown Detroit in minutes, worry-free. I found midtown and downtown Detroit to be much friendlier and safer than the media would have you believe - and I'm an old white woman. I walked portions of Woodward Avenue at night and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faughtandwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    108
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
58
197
45
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MI USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having read about The Inn on Ferry Street in both local newspapers and on TripAdvisor I can't say that I was surprised about how wonderful our two night stay was last week. The reviews are spot on.

We stayed two nights in room 2204 of the Roehm House, which is one of a four historic home (and two carriage houses) complex located on Ferry Street one block north of the Detroit Institute of Arts and in the first block east of Woodward Avenue. Gorgeous homes, comfortable and clean rooms, nice upscale breakfast, and a shuttle service that takes you just about anywhere you need to do in Mid-Town or downtown Detroit.

The area around the inn is very, very safe as this area is patrolled by the Wayne State University Police Department, known throughout the state as one of the primary reasons that the mid-town area has always been one of the safest spots in the city to live. Knowing that ahead of time made us feel good about the area, and we were not disappointed. Safe, clean and beautiful.

The best part of our visit was meeting four or five members of the staff at The Inn on Ferry Street. Each and everyone of them was a delight to meet, offered to help with whatever our needs were, and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

Hats off to The Inn on Ferry Street! You'll not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwzemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early August as we explored Midtown Detroit. The Inn consists of four lovely old Victorian houses that have been updated to today's standards while maintaining their atmosphere. We loved our room with its four poster bed, and it was spacious enough for Frances to easily do her yoga routines in the morning.
Breakfasts were standard quality motel type except for the large bowl filled with fresh berries and the excellent coffee. It was served in the main room of the house next to the one we stayed in.
The location next to Wayne State University is superb. The Detroit Institute of Arts with its fabulous Diego Rivera murals was a two block walk as were several other museums such as the Historical Society, African-American Museum and Contemporary Art Museum.
There were several nearby lunch and dinner places but we didn't go there. Instead we went to Slow's Barbecue where I had brisket that reminded me of my time in Texas. The second night we went to Cliff Bell's to hear jazz. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the dinner there, and, of course, the jazz was great.
But the absolute best thing about the Inn on Ferry Street was their complimentary car service. All you had to do was tell the person at the desk where you wanted to go (within five miles of the Inn) and when. We used it to go to Slow's and Cliff Bell's. It meant that we didn't have to find parking, or even the fastest way to get to our destination. When we were through with our evening we called the Inn, and the driver came to get us.
All in all, we had a great time in central Detroit and will certainly return to the Inn on Ferry Street since they were responsible for much of our fun!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rthNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Michigan
Level Contributor
266 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I looked up "oasis" in the dictionary. It says: A pleasant or peaceful area or period in the midst of a difficult, troubled, or hectic place or situation. Bam! That's The Inn on Ferry Street!!
Located on a quaint, peaceful street that seems eerily out of place in Detroit, the houses that comprise the hotel are magnificently historic. The landscaping is picturesque. The staff were so polite and helpful that I thought they mistook me for someone famous. We utilized the shuttle service which was a terrific way for us to get down to Comerica Park. We had a great free breakfast in the morning before we departed. If I come back to Detroit, I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheddaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The rooms were very comfortable and had everything I needed. This place has so much character. The staff were helpful, professional, and attentive. Breakfast was great, and no matter the dietary restrictions, there is something for everyone to eat.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TheodoreBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Shuttle was great. The staff was polite. No coffee , no eggs, no silverware and no plates. Breakfast was unexpectedly a huge let down. They really dropped the ball. It was real shame to see since they did everything else so very well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffreydm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent a long weekend in Detroit and the Inn on Ferry Street turned out to be a perfect location for our trip. Mid town Detroit put us in walking distance to the Detroit Institute of Art and several restaurants. Though there is a free shuttle, we chose to rent a car, and were within 15 minutes of the riverfront (bicycle rentals), Greektown (casino/restaurants/nightlife), Tigers baseball, the Fox theater, GM plaza, Eastern Market....in short...very convenient for a long weekend. The accomodations were perfect - First floor in Roehm house - with large back porch, separate living room, bath, bedroom. Breakfast was served each morning - fresh fruit, waffles, yogurt, cereal, baked goods...and coffee and tea 24 hours. Also an honor bar. Staff was great. We'd love to return for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChasMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
1.9 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
2.3 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
2.2 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Ferry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Ferry Street

Property: The Inn on Ferry Street
Address: 84 East Ferry Street, Detroit, MI 48202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#1 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Ferry Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Ferry Street Historic District of Midtown Detroit, The Inn on Ferry Street sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Just steps from the state’s finest museums, acclaimed Detroit Medical Center and Wayne State University, the Inn is a relaxing change of pace from the standard business hotel. Consisting of four restored Victorian homes, and two carriage houses the Inn abounds in sophisticated luxury. Shuttle service to/from The Inn within five miles, parking, WiFi, bountiful breakfast buffet, welcome cookie and water and PressReader digital newspaper and magazine access are all complimentary amenities for guests in each of our forty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn on Ferry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Ferry Street Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing