We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place to stay in Midtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn on Ferry Street
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cute place to stay in Midtown”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at the Inn on Ferry Street. My friends and I were there for a conference at Wayne State, so its location was ideal. The breakfast was always fabulous. The staff were also attentive and obliging.

Our room was a little on the small side, but that is to be expected given the origin of the Inn's buildings. It has maintained the charms of an older home, but updated it with all the amenities you would have in a modern hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeghanAnnRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    110
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
61
210
46
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This property is made up of several Victorian houses; note that the main office is in the Scott bldg where the sign appears on the front law (took me a few minutes to figure this out!). Free parking is available behind the hotel.The complimentary breakfast was very well done. I stayed on the first floor of the Roehm house and had a lovely, spacious room right off of the library area. There are no elevators in the houses, so carrying luggage up can be difficult. There is a free shuttle service that will take you to and from anywhere within a 5-mile radius, which was very helpful. I wouldn't recommend walking down Woodward Ave at night, though the immediate area of the hotel felt safe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamBroBra_Intl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

A part of Detroit's architectural history kept as a B&B so others may enjoy it. The inn is unique because it is comprised of four homes and two carriage houses and is run similar to a hotel, but maintains the personalized feel of a smaller, stand alone bed and breakfast. I only spent one short night here due to arriving on a late flight and leaving early the next morning but experienced enough of the inn's charm and beauty to make it a point to stay again, and soon. Despite Detroit's negative past and uncertain future, the Inn on Ferry Street is an important piece of the Motor City's revival and I look forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipMC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay city, mi
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Surprisingly nice. Rooms, location, comp b-fast. Safe area. Very reasonably priced. Within a couple miles of downtown and right off an alive section of Woodward. Wanted to stay at Westin bc near federal court but sold out. This place was about a third of the price and very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffreymday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Enjoy the charm of the 1880's in Detroit! The three brick mansions in which the hotel is located have the genuine feel of a by-gone era. Considering the price (quite reasonable), the location (near the Detroit Institute of Art), the breakfast (quite a spread), and the pleasant staff, this is a real find! With Wifi and a separate room with computer and printer, technology is at the upper-end.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracecpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We came to Detroit for two Tiger's games and needed a place to stay that wasn't outragously priced. I was not real familiar with the area and was concerned about location. I found this place on-line and read the reviews and decided to stay. It was wonderful! I loved the location, away from town so it was quiet, safe and romantic. The rooms were perfect and had all the necessary amenities such as a blow dryer, shampoo, lotions and soaps. The staff was excellent and friendly! It's a short shuttle to Ford Field or to the casinos. We saved on parking for the game and stayed safe by calling for a ride from the casino, at 2:00 a.m. and they happily picked us up!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberlee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Inn on Ferry street is a series of historic restored mansions on a side street in the Cass Corridor. Walking distance to old Detroit institutions like the Detroit Institute of Art, library, history museum and also to the new hip "midtown" area, it's just 20 minutes from DTW airport and has parking. Spacious, tastefully decorated rooms had high ceilings and natural light,and thick walls silenced noise from neighbors.Whirlpool tub, excellent mattress, hidden flat screen TV. Parlor was used by the group I was with for our day-long meetings. Excellent breakfast buffet in a real dining room with a wide variety of food choices. What's most impressive is the outstanding professional hospitality, from the care of housekeeping staff to the service of staff in the dining room and front desk. Great value for the price. Highly recommend:this is my new place to stay when in D-Town, whether for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: I asked for a first floor room b/c stairs are a challenge for me: even though these rooms overlook t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MistinguetteS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
2.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,080 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
2.2 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#15 of 33 in Detroit
509 reviews
1.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Ferry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Ferry Street

Property: The Inn on Ferry Street
Address: 84 E Ferry St, Detroit, MI 48202-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#1 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Ferry Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Ferry Street Historic District of Midtown Detroit, The Inn on Ferry Street sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Just steps from the state’s finest museums, acclaimed Detroit Medical Center and Wayne State University, the Inn is a relaxing change of pace from the standard business hotel. Consisting of four restored Victorian homes, and two carriage houses the Inn abounds in sophisticated luxury. Shuttle service to/from The Inn within five miles, parking, WiFi, bountiful breakfast buffet, welcome cookie and water and PressReader digital newspaper and magazine access are all complimentary amenities for guests in each of our forty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn on Ferry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Ferry Street Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing