We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stop for Breakfast In Detroit”
Review of Hudson Cafe

Hudson Cafe
Ranked #9 of 1,122 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Must Stop for Breakfast In Detroit”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

When traveling we try to have one good breakfast while in whatever city we're traveling to. Trip Advisor had some great comments on Hudson Cafe and the reviews were right. This was one of the best breakfasts I've ever had. The staff were amazing and sat us quickly in a booth. We ordered and our food came out fast. Not only did it taste great but the chef makes the food look pretty as well. The french toast was amazing as was the bacon. Eggs were cooked perfect and the cheesy grits were great. Do not miss this place if you're in town, it's a must stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTNYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    117
    31
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gem in Detroit”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I would give Hudson more than a rating of 5 if it was possible! Went with three friends, and we all couldn't stop talking about this restaurant all the way home. Hudson Café is a real gem in Detroit. Thanks to the owners for helping to bring fab food and ambiance to the D. Felt like we were in NYC but here in Motown! Beautifully decorated restaurant. Smiling & efficient staff. And of course ... the food! I cannot say enough about the menu. We all ordered different dishes and everyone loved what they got. A creative menu with culinary twists on the comfort foods we know and love. French toast ( graham cracker encrusted with cream cheese frosting!), Omelets with delicious pairings of vegetables and flavor, even the sides of toast & home fries tasted wonderful. Food presentation, fantastic. Portions, large. Flavor ... AMAZING! We watched dishes served to patrons at tables around us and their meals looked equally as inviting. We cannot wait to go back! Even if there is a wait ... you must know that it is worth it! Hudson Café we hope you are around for a long time to come.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“We agree, best breakfast in Detroit”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We read the reviews and were prompted by friends to try the breakfast here. We chose Mother's Day and endured the 1 1/2 hour wait. Though no wait is really worth it, the breakfast was fantastic. We recommend the Almond Apple Cream Cheese French Toast and the Huevos Rancheros. We found the setting to be peaceful even in a chaotic setting. The staff was attentive and knowledgeable and the owner was pleasant, helpful and personable. The tip would be to get your name in, leave your cell # and come back in an hour. They do offer carryout and coffee while you wait and if the weather would have been more cooperative, we could have waited outside at a table. We will be back to try some more of the dishes that looked great. It is nice to see that Detroit can put out some wonderful food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“trendy but be prepared to wait on weekends”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

just in detroit and the hudson cafe was recommended as a great brunch restaurant. well i will tell you they are experiencing growing pains as a in place to go. they told us 30 minute wait and it was close to an hour before seating. annoying then it was 10 minutes before the waiter came over. ok now i'am really hungry granted it is a cool menu and the portions are large. all three of our omelletes came out runny when we asked for well done. Hey not many places to go in detroit so for now this place has the name but needs help

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honest46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, slow service”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to grab brunch. It's located in the heart of downtown right on Woodward.There are plenty of options from omelets, waffles, skillets and crepes. The Mexican omelet with chorizo is a great take on a western style omelet.

Cons: service was slower than it should have been and it took over an hour to grab an omelet. Patio seating is nice in the summer, but there were plenty of bums and beggars asking for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wolverines06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudson Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hudson Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing