We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak was DELICIOUS!!”
Review of Joe Muer Seafood

Joe Muer Seafood
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 12/7
8:00 PM
Ranked #16 of 1,285 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Jefferson Avenue
Transit: People Mover station at Renaissance Center available for connecting with Joe Louis, Cobo Hall, Greektown, etc.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

Our party of five had either a steak or lobster tail with steak and everyone agreed, their meal was delicious. Overlooking the water while listening to mellow music being played on the piano, made the atmosphere relaxing. Our waitress Victoria provided great service which is something that's high on my list beside the food. Some may say they are expensive but you have to pay for quality. We will be returning for brunch.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 569MariaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 314 of 723 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2016

The Muer reputation for great service and consistent excellent food. A good choice anytime, especially for seafood.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rsrestock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 7, 2016

We went to Joe Muer for a special birthday dinner with friends at Joe Muer on a Saturday night and were anticipating a fine dining experience.

The decor is very nice--a beautiful balance between sophisticated city chic with a nod to nautical which has been done very well, however the acoustics are a real problem. When we arrived it was extremely difficult to hear each other as the restaurant was so noisy and we had a great deal of trouble hearing our server until late in the evening when the restaurant was emptying out.
We enjoyed our cocktails but it was about an hour before we received any bread and rolls.

For appetizers we tried the Lobster Corn Dogs, which were delicious, as was the trio of soups!!!! We all thoroughly enjoyed our entrees and desserts were fabulous too. We all agreed that our dinners were just wonderful!!!!

The noise is what put a damper on our evening and the inability to talk without yelling at each other was disappointing. We had reservations but really couldn't see the river or the view at all from our table so that was a disappointment. The food was beautifully plated and served, however it was a very expensive evening and for the price was it worth it? Not at the table we had. The other issue was that we had a group with really young children next to us (for whom this did not appear to be a special dinner). We have those same little people in our family who we love dearly, however, when dining at a restaurant like Joe Muer which I thought was a fine dining restaurant, it is not special when little kids are there. There were unfortunate spills and it just took the evening down for us when we had all dressed for a special dinner and evening out.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K530SRchristinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

We went to Joe Muer's for my birthday. We live about 49 minutes away, but had never been there, because we always seem to try different places. The lady who confirmed my reservation the day before was kind of short with me, so I didn't know what to expect, as far as service. We got seated almost immediately. Our waiter, Scott Light, was one of the best waiters we have ever had anywhere. He is so passionate about his job, and truly takes pride in giving you amazing service. I will request him any time we go there now. There are too many things to list as far as special things/touches he did to make him exceptional, but if you request him, you will see.
We started with the raw platter for 1. It was big enough to share. The oysters and ceviche were just okay, to the point where I wouldn't order them again (and part of it is because we are seafood people and have outstanding oysters and ceviche, so maybe we are hard to please. However, the shrimp, lobster and crab were amazing. The smoked fish was also pretty good.
We then had the soup sampler. I didn't want gazpacho, so our awesome waiter was nice enough to do 2 lobster bisque for us, and 1 clam chowder. Both soups were delicious, and I lived that they pour them at your table to keep them warm (and it also allows you to see how much lobster you're getting). My husband said he would come back just for the soup, it was that good.

Next, we ordered the grouper special, which was honestly the best grouper I have ever had. It was on top of a crab cake, which was also delicious. My husband ordered the branzino, which was also delicious. Scott filleted it very well, and it was an amazing fish.
We had the coconut cake for dessert, and Scott was sweet enough to have candles put on it and the plate decorated for my birthday.

As far as prices, I feel like you get what you pay for, in terms of quality. The drinks were overpriced in my opinion. I think it was $15 for a mojito. That seems a little steep to me. Otherwise, highly recommend with Scott as your waiter!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Natisha702
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 1, 2016

On my recent visit to Detroit, a colleague took me to Joe Muer's Seafood. He told me that he had been there 45 years ago, and wanted to go again - so, off we went. The place was bustling with activity, and we were seated at a small table looking out toward the Detroit river. Our waiter, James told us all about the menu, and suggested some selections, as we wanted to try some of the local fish. I had the perch, over a bed of mashed potatoes with asparagus, served with a lemon, caper sauce. Before dinner, James brought us smoked bluefish pate, served with sourdough, and pumpernickel, all of which was heaven! For dessert, my friend ordered the coconut layer cake. A layered cake that has been infused with coconut and then covered with a white coconut covered top. I chose the carrot cake, which was so moist and delicious, with a cream cheese frosting that was the perfect balance between sweet and cream cheesy. I have been to a lot of fancy restaurants, but the serve that James provided was impeccable, and helped to make the whole dinning experience one of the best I have ever had. So, if you are ever in Detroit, do yourself a favor and eat at Joe Muer's Seafood.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PoppyGal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Joe Muer Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Joe Muer Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.