We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice eating in the neighborhood”

1917 American Bistro
Ranked #346 of 1,122 Restaurants in Detroit
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Nice eating in the neighborhood”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our first time at this neighborhood spot. We will go back.

Attractive, nice art displayed from nearby galleries. Surprisingly busy for a Monday night. Table service was good. Chef/owner came to the table more than once and was proud to explain his restaurant concept and answer questions.

Menu was nicely varied. He does not want to be known as a "soul food" restaurant which is how it's described in reviews. Doesn't fit my expectation of soul food but is full of heart. Each dish at the table was very good, two better than the other which seemed a little dry and not as spicy as its Caribbean designation. My chicken with mushrooms was very good. Ribs also very good but not distiinctive. Spinach - excellent! Smashed garlicky potatoes - excellent. Generous portions.

They were serving some colorful cocktails but when drinks were suggested by the server, fresh lemonade was the first option. There is a small bar at the entrance but it didn't appear to be fully stocked. Mediocre wine by the glass - no choice other than merlot, chardonnay, burgundy (no brands offered). Our meal took a while to come. It was explained that the kitchen wasn't satisfied with how it was done so redid it (may be why the one dish was dry). They offered a complimentary appetizer or dessert. We shared two desserts for the table - very good, again, most generous portion.

Lighted, adjacent parking.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excitement on the Avenue”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Affordable elegance is offered at this intimate, yet unpretentious hideaway. Once a nondescript office space, "The Bistro" as often referred, has transformed into a must-do for Detroit. The dining room is inviting, making the most of its limited seating. The rooftop is a seasonal must, especially at night. Can you say "romantic"? The menu is quite diverse, ranging from breakfast to dessert with a traditional swing. The drink menu deserves a special thumbs-up for its variety and imagination!
Live jazz is featured every weekend with national as well as local performers often making surprise visits. There is a mid level for private parties, and catering is available. The service is always friendly. I look forward to making seeing this place evolve and expand!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This restaurant offers ambience, affordability, great cuisine, central location and good service.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is my 'go to' place for comfortable environment with a great social setting. Whether to meet and greet clients or catch up with an old friend, its always friendly and fun. Jazz in the evening turns it into a night out compared to a chain with noisy kitchens and long waits to be seated. Its intimate and I meet interesting people there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Momwheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I liked it
Service was very friendly thought they were pack and it was a little slow
Food was tasty and price was right

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakashima2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Jazz Time”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Girlfriends, food, and fun. We have a wonderful evening. Not a better place to meet up with the girls to have the drink of the day and a Good Meal. The decor is relaxing, art work hanging everywhere the sounds of laughter all around. I order the Salmon and Spinach a must try if you visit 1917. Really the meal was near perfection. The chocolate cake left me with the feeling of being satisfied. (if you know what I mean lol). The wait staff was on point.

1917 will be a meeting place for me and my circle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EastssiddeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1917 American Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 1917 American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing