We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Just returned from a two night stay at the Detroit Marriott at the Ranaissance Center and found it to be usual Marriott experience......no complaints.

Arrived on Sunday Jan 18 and was immediately upgraded to a two room suite on the 63rd floor for the same $79 rate I booked for a standard room. The room was ready early and was clean as always. The views were fantastic, we overlooked the Detroit River and Windsor,

There is some construction ongoing in the main lobby but it wasn't intrusive. The lobby bar, Volt, was relaxing and offered nice food and good drink. The breakfast buffet in 42 North was ok.

Many have complained about the Ren Cen being bare and open....while it is a bit difficult to navigate at first it's not a big deal. Many need to realize this isn't pat of the actual hotel.

Access to the People Mover is easy and less than a 3 minute walk without having to go outside in the cold. We took it to the autoshow, which also was an indoor station at the Cobo Center. All in all, this was an above average location in the heart of Detroit. We;ll definately return again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poncherello1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,466 - 1,472 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed here for one night during a frigid and snowy January weekend after seeing a concert at the Fillmore Theater. After seeing the weather forecast, we decided the weather was too bad to make the drive back to Lansing and to stay in Detroit overnight.

We made the reservation the same day naming our own price using priceline. This hotel was rated a 3.5 star and we bid $70. We were really surprised we got this hotel for that price considering this was also the auto show weekend.

For $70, we felt we got an incredible deal. This hotel is located in the center tower of the massive Renaissance Center. Our room was on the 54th floor and we got a birds eye view of downtown Detroit. The windows are floor to ceiling due to the hotel being housed in a glass tower. Due to the cold temperatures, however, we had to keep the drapes drawn most of the time to keep the freezing cold from infiltrating the room.

The room is a little oddly shaped due to the circular tower it is housed in but it felt spacious enough. Our room also had a large closet and a flat screen tv. The furniture and decor looked recently updated. One nice part about the circular design of the hotel is that there are no long depressing corridors when you get to your room and there are only about 25 rooms on each floor.

Another nice thing about this hotel is that it is easy to get to the people mover, which will get you just about anywhere you want to go in Downtown Detroit . The people mover can be used to get to the convention center (Cobo), Joe Louis Arena, Ford Field, Conmerica Park, or Fox Theatre and it only costs 50 cents one way. I highly recommend the people mover to get around downtown Detroit as it is much easier than trying to walk or drive Detroit's confusing jumble of streets and it is well patroled and safe.

The Marriott has valet parking for $20 but if you are there on a weekend, you can self park for only $6/day. The self park garages are located on your left, just after you turn off of Jefferson into the drive that leads to the hotel. The skywalk connecting the garages to the Renaissance Center is located on the third floor.

As other have commented, the massive Renaissance Center can be a little bit confusing to get around. Besides housing the hotel this is also the headquarters of GM. However, there are tons of signs as you walk around and if you follow the signs, you should have no problem. Anyways, you can't get lost since the buildings are circular. The worst that happens is you come back to the place where you started.

Overall, if you can get a reasonable rate, I highly recommend the Renaissance Center Marriott.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Overall stay was fine... We only were at the hotel less then 24 hours... My wife and I went to a concert and booked the Marriott with our rewards points...

That was where most of our trouble was with. When we went to check in, the reception desk did not have a reservation under our name... It took over 30 minutes to sort out the screw up... They finally sorted it out and comped us a better room.

After leaving Marriott charged our credit card for a full night stay in addition to paying with the marriott rewards points. It took over 2 weeks to get this resolved...

All in all nice hotel, but too many issues with checking in caused it to be just an okay experience.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jamestaylor525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my husband's 40th and our 9th anniversary as it was so convient to the People Mover to get to/from the Red Wings game we were going to that night. The Marriott staff couldn't have been friendlier upon check-in and special requests for extras through the marriott.com website (ex: extra pillows) were all met exceptionally fast. Before the game we had dinner at Coach Insignia - fabulous restaurant on floors 72/73 of the Ren Cen. There is absolutely no better place to see the lights of Detroit, watch the ice flows on the river, etc...The ambience and service were beyond compare. Our waiter was SO friendly. amazingly knowledgeable about the menu and wine list and went above and beyond to make sure we had prompt service so we could get back to our room to put our Wings jerseys on before the game. The restaurant is pricey but so worth the splurge for a special occassion! If you can't afford dinner, at least go to the bar for a cocktail and stroll around floor 73 for the best 360 view of Detroit. Our hotel room was large, the bathroom relatively small though, but everything was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The room was relatively quiet and despite being in a high rise during 55+ mph winds, the building did not sway. I had upgraded out hotel package to include a buffet breakfast at the "42 degrees North" restaurant in the morning. Don't waste your money. We got there at 9 a.m. on New Years Eve and was told the buffet was closed due to slow business/economy. Given there were only 3 other couples there, that was acceptable and we proceeded to order pancakes from the menu, staying within our breakfast $ allottment equivalent. It took 10 min. to get a cup a coffeee and then an hour later at 10 a.m. we still had no food, no drink refills, no word back from the manager from our numerous complaints to our waitress and the manager herself and walked out of a packed restaurant of grumbling, hungry patrons (so much for not being busy) and frustrated waitresses working with a kitchen that was putting out no food to anyone to go complain to the front desk. The front desk was very understanding and apologetic and though they do not run the restaraunt and have no control over how it is run, they did greatly reduce our hotel rate for the inconvience of it all and offerred to buy us breakfast elsewhere. I can't say enough good things about the staff and accommodations at the Marriott Ren Cen and Coach Insignia, just avoid the very poorly run 42N restaurant at all costs.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hartlandmom2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2008

Got a great deal to stay at this hotel. The location is central and convenient with wonderful view. The service is medium, but does the job as a business hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Meli_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Much like the surrounding city of Detroit, this hotel complex is an empty shell of something that *could* be great... and it leaves sooo much to be desired. I hate to be so negative, but please read my entire review.

The Good: The rooms were typical Mariott... nothing to get excited about, but very clean and updated. We stayed on one of the highest floors in a spacious upgrade suite with views of the water and Windsor. Everything was in working order, the linens were fresh, etc. Hotel check-in/check-out was a breeze. A+ in those aspects.

Now to the BAD:
1)The layout of the hotel is very confusing. There are literally MILES of maze-like walkways leading to nowhere, minimal directional signage, vast empty space, and dark corners to get lost in (and for people to hide in)!! Many other guests seemed to be having the same problem, and on several occasions we passed people who jokingly said, "We're lost... can we just follow you?" Their frustrated expressions said it all though.

2)As far as safety goes, there was an army of security with guards posted at every entrance/exit to the hotel, and guards sprinkled all throughout the building... I guess its inevitable in downtown Detroit. While we felt relatively safe inside the hotel, it was more of a "locked-down" feeling.

3)We stayed for 1 full week, and usually the whole hotel (like 75% of it) looked like it was closed. You'll be lucky if the only little coffee stand in the building is open during your visit. Our family was looking for something to eat and we finally gave up. THERE WAS NOWHERE TO EAT! We went all through the building, floor-to-floor, passed the cheesy GM car exhibit (we were the only ones in there), and after 30 minutes we somehow ended up in a place connected to the hotel called the "Riverfront Shops". It should instead be called the "Riverfront Ghost Shops" because there were dozens of closed stores and very few shoppers. It was so strange because it was beautifully decorated for a dead mall. We turned around, *walked* back up the escalator that was turned off, retraced our steps back through the hotel maze, and we paid to take the People Mover to some restaurants a couple of BLOCKS away. Very inconvenient.

CONCLUSION: Now before you jump on me about bashing downtown Detroit... let me say that I would no more recommend downtown Detroit and the "RenCen" to someone visiting Detroit, than I would recommend downtown Los Angeles to a traveler in my hometown of Los Angeles -- due to the SAME problems: downtown's lack of amenities and severe isolation from the coneveniences that more populated outlying neighborhoods provide.

I guess if you wanted to stay somewhere like this, you could pay a huge cab fare to take you out to civilization.... to the trendier neighborhoods with better nightlife. But take my word for it and just stay at a hotel in a more populated neighborhood, or in the suburbs if you can. You won't be missing anything, you'll have more freedom to come/go, and you'll have more dining and entertainment options.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 1MikeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Recently stayed over at the Renaissance Center, it was an enjoyable stay. The hotel/location where the hotel is at is HUGE. This was good and bad. On the good side, you literally have a ton of dining/eating options without having to weather the normally bad weather during the winter. Theres fancy establishments, mid-priced and a fast food area down on the bottom floor. They also had a small shopping area for those into that sort of thing.

The hotel lobby itself is on the 3rd floor, deep inside the huge complex. I almost wished they had a valet for getting from the front door to the lobby rather than just valet's for parking your car. It was very challenging reaching the lobby and then reaching the front door again from your room. Its a maze of floors and the signage kind of sucks. If you do manage to get through the maze, the rooms themselves are quite nice. The beds are comfortable, the view of the city skyline, particularly from the high floors are great.

Room service was good and helpful. My only gripe with our room was that it did not have any closets. I found that wierd, and annoying as i had nowhere to hang my jacket. It really wouldnt have killed them to have atleast a tiny closet. There is room for it.

On the plus side, the TV had HD programming and the dresser it sits on has all sorts of easy to access jacks, so if you want to plug in your ipod and other media you happen to have with you its great. They have ample power outlets which is rare and the layout of the room aside from the missing closet is well thought-out. I'd probably stay there again, I would not recommend it to anyone who doesnt like to travel light.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lcastanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.6 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Address: 400 Renaissance Ctr, Detroit, MI 48243-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $228 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing