We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel”
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We stayed at the Ren Cen for one night on July 26th. We were in town for a concert in the theatre district and were looking for something safe and close. The Ren Cen was perfect. Our room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We received a summer promo rate of $149 with a $25 Visa Gift Card included. We did not have any problem with parking, paying only a $5.00 special for the garage we were in for the Sat and Sun. The concierge was pleasant, it was convenient to catch a cab and we felt safe walking back from The Fillmore to the hotel after the show. We will stay here again when going to a show.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2two2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    589
    327
    147
    124
See reviews for
198
312
68
706
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Let's see.... first there was the half-eaten bag of Cheez-Its we found sitting on the table in our room when we checked in... and the long, dark hair and black stains on on the bed sheets... and the cup rings on the table top... and the semi-clean bathroom. I'm not saying the room was FILTHY, but it had not been very thoroughly cleaned, either. We were also given incorrect information about parking rates at the garage across the street. (The hotel gave us a print-out detailing a special, $15-a-day rate for hotel guests; the garage told us they had changed the rate to $20 three months ago and had repeatedly asked the hotel to stop handing out the erronious information.) Mid-day on the second day, we returned to our room to find that our two room keys were no longer working; when we went to the front desk, the attendant reprogrammed the keys without asking for ID, and without an apology for the inconvenience. At one point the elevators would not take us to the first floor. The place was a zoo, with people jamming the halls and elevators, drifting around, and being noisy. (Although I think you could say the same about Detroit in general.) And there were loud guests each night (we stayed two nights), slamming doors and yelling. On the positive side, the bed was very comfortable and the room was nicely appointed (albeit somewhat dirty) with a beautiful view. It wasn't the worst hotel experience ever, but it could have been much better. I know we weren't at the Waldorf, but the experience was more like what you'd expect at a Motel 6 than at a "nicer" hotel like the Marriott. Meaning, for that amount of money, I expected better.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyTwoCentsAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

I stayed at the Marriott for 2 nights, along with a large group visiting Detroit for an event. The room was nice, clean and a good size. The hotel's location in the Renaissance Center means that there is convenient access to the river, the People Mover, the Tube (a 2nd floor enclosed passage to the building center across the street) and numerous shops, cafes, restaurants and offices located in the Ren Center.

We did, however, find the layout of the building to be a bit confusing and difficult to navigate at times. Different levels of the hotel must be accessed by different elevators, including the reception lobby. Note that for security, after-hours, your room key is needed to enter the hotel from public parts of the Ren Center (as opposed to entering from the hotel's dedicated valet driveway).

It was thunderstorming when we arrived so we opted to pay extra for the valet service rather than the self-park. This turned out to be well worth the money because once your car is registered with the valet, you can take it out and drop it off anytime during your stay for the same 24-hour rate. With the self-park, you pay every time you come and go.

Also, most of our group was located on one specific floor of the "Low Rise" part of the hotel (below floor 40). One couple was placed, inexplicably, on a "High Rise" floor. Their room apparently came with some additional in-room amenities, though I don't recall what they were. I would suggest inquiring as to the differences between Low Rise and High Rise room amenities.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammts28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2008

The hotel is clean and comfortable and might be good for business travelers who have a conference at the hotel, cobo center, other work close by or if you were going to a Red Wings game but vacationing from here is extremely inconvenient. I get the feeling that downtown Detroit is improving but it still has a creepy deserted vibe at night and there are very few restaurants and shops near the hotel. They also try to kill you with pricey add-ons like $13 a day for internet and $20 a day for parking even though there are tons of empty parking lots and garages nearby. The hotel is also HORRIBLY laid out. You need to take two different elevators to come and go from your room and it is extremely confusing with all kinds of elevators, ramps and escalators everywhere. The desk service was decent and room was nice. Some people have complained about other staff like valets but I didn't use those services. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and purchased one thing in the hotel shop. Only because they were the only places open on Sunday! They were overpriced and the food at the restaurant was on the borderline between fair and good.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — Location, layout, cost
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stopstalkingme99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southfield,mi.
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2008

I had a great view of belle isle and of lake st. clair my room was on the 42nd floor and facinf=g east

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank adam63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2008

I used the opinions of travlers from Trip Advisor to stay at this downtown Detroit Marriott location. Good points- Great views- clean rooms- room service food quite good. Bad points- Horrible customer service from the valet attendants who were quite questionable in their appearance and demeanor... reminded me of recent parolees to most of the front desk staff. Most of the staff was very unfriendly. We came to attend an air show at the hotel and everything was chaotic as though they were
not accustomed to the amount of guest at the hotel. It was an awful experience and I'll never stay at this hotel again. When I first booked this trip; this hotel was ranked number one and now
it's number 4 and I hope in time it'll rank even lower as this hotel
definitely seems like it's ran more like a Motel 6 than a Marriott.

  • Liked — Room was clean and room service food was good
  • Disliked — The rude staff and the horrible valet parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wolfecookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

I got tickets to game 2 of the Stanley Cup Finals – Detroit vs Pittsburgh, and quickly booked at the Marriott Renaissance Centre after deciding based once again on Trip Advisor. There isn’t much to do in the Detroit downtown core except for the many sporting events they have. There happened to be a Techno festival on so right by our hotel it was busy. But everywhere else it was like a ghost town when you were walking around.

As far as our hotel went, there was so much going on with the NHL and the NBA finals for Detroit that weekend, that our hotel had a wristband policy on so that not anyone could walk in. So the security was excellent.

The Hotel itself was nice, clean and huge, being attached to the Renaissance Centre. Our room was clean, the service was great, everything about our stay was good. The price was on the higher end but no where near the price of staying at MGM Grand. The location, right by the water and walking distance to Joe Louis Arena, and a little longer walk but still doable to get to Comerica Park.

There is a bar in the hotel and a lot of other stuff. Overall, I would stay there again in a heartbeat if I was going to Detroit.

  • Liked — The Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xandhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,080 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Property: Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Address: 400 Renaissance Ctr, Detroit, MI 48243-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing