We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms should be nicer” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Rooms should be nicer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here on the night of my brother's wedding (the actual event was at a different location) with the rest of the wedding party. I had always wanted to stay here because I had heard so much about the beautiful panoramic views. Unfortunately, my stay was underwhelming.

We arrived at about 1:30 a.m. on a Saturday night and the place was pretty busy - lots of people in the lobby and at the check-in desk. Check-in was not a problem. Our room was on the 45th floor. The hallways leading to our room were kind of shoddy and had hideous carpeting.

Our room left much to be desired - it was drab, plain, and just struck me as unwelcoming. The king bed was all right, but not the best. The bathroom was way too small and did not have a fan. However, the nighttime view of the Detroit skyline and Windsor (Canada) across the river were unparalleled - as good as expected. It was just as beautiful in the morning when the sun was out. This somewhat compensated for the disappointing decor.

We only stayed here for a quick overnight stay. Check out the following morning was uneventful and the employee at the check-out desk was very pleasant. The common areas of the hotel are nicer and more impressive than the individual rooms. Parking was quite expensive (I think $25, but I don't remember for sure because the bride and groom covered parking for their guests), which is expensive. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, but my brother later told me that the breakfast at Volt was not very good on top of being expensive.

My final comment on this hotel: the Renaissance Center is the cornerstone of the Detroit skyline. It is one of the city's most revered buildings, in a fantastic, scenic, and convenient location. The Marriott really needs to take better advantage of its awesome, privileged location and make this hotel more impressive. It's not horrible or anything, just needs an update. Coupled with the fantastic views, a beautiful hotel in this location could be the gem of Downtown Detroit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    556
    307
    143
    117
See reviews for
189
299
65
659
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
University Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Welcome to the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, the tallest hotel-only occupied building in North America. The focal point of a 7 building skyscraper complex, the Marriott at the RenCen is the most significant image in the Detroit Skyline.

Shaped like an elongated cylinder, the tower rises 727 feet above the Detroit River and offers breathtaking views of the Detroit area, Windsor, Canada, Belle Isle and Lake St Clair. As a result of the shape of the building, the rooms can best be described as "wedges."

As for the comforts of the room, the bedding and the furniture are typical of the high quality that Marriott is known for. That being said, the rooms are slightly dated (although improvements are slated for next year). Large, flat-screen TV's are easily visible from the bed. The bathrooms are not particularly large.

The windows run floor-to-ceiling to enhance the incredible views. This, as well as the width of the perimeter of the room on the outward facing side, make the rooms appear larger than they actually are. Space is somewhat of a premium. A work desk is standard, but refrigerators are not (plus a $12.95 charge exists for Wi-Fi). The hallways themselves are rounded and rather short.

Amenities are at a premium. For instance, there is no swimming pool on site and standard high-end restaurants are somewhat limited. There is a full-service CVS located on site (hours are shorter than a standard location). As far as eating is concerned, there is a food court located on the bottom floor of the development. McDonalds, Burger King, etc. provide an inexpensive option for breakfast.

The RenCen itself is a, well, complex complex. Mesmerizing in its engineering and beautiful in its all-encompassing presentation, the RenCen can be quite a maze. Getting from one level to another can prove challenging. The time spent getting lost within can be well worth it just to fully realize what a marvel this truly is.

Parking is also limited. One idea, if traveling light, is to park at Greektown (Casino). The garage there is free, and the People Mover ($.75 fare) will drop you off at the RenCen on the second stop.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasonC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishpeming
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My 12 year old grandson asked me if I would take him to this hotel for a weekend as his birthday gift. "Ask for a high floor Grammy!" We had an absolutely wonderful time. The G.M. car display on the ground floor, "Gravity" at the movie theater, lunch outside at Andiamo, room service breakfast watching the boats on the river. Going to sleep at night with the city lights twinkling, riding the People Mover, the chef serving chocolate covered strawberries at the guest room elevator. The clean rooms, comfortable beds, smiling and friendly staff. So I was "super Grammy" for the weekend. It's a wonderful idea for any grandparents who love to spoil their grandkids, and themselves at the same time!

Room Tip: Kids love a high room. The views from this hotel are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

THE VIEW FROM THE ROOMS IS AMAZING!!!!. Most of our rooms had either a lake view or city view. The skyline is simply beautiful. Windows are floor to ceiling. Feel free to keep curtains opened, you will want to take it all in. Rooms are "okay", a little outdated for the price. There are however notices in elevators advising of a "soon to be" renovation of all rooms. I must mention two individuals who helped us tremendously during our stay ...Gabriel (front desk) & Arielle (event Planner) What an asset to the hotel! Thanks so much. The only downside is that there is not much activity to the adjacent Renaissance Center itself on the weekend. They advertise a "food court" however, only three restaurants were opened limited times during our stay, McDonald, Burger King & Subway. Most boutiques and stores were closed. No tours of the center itself on the weekend either. Also, trying to navigate through the center itself is complex and challenging. You can get lost trying to find your way. Valet parking is also available. All in all, not a bad stay. I would love to see the rooms again when renovated. Great place to stay if you love great views!

Room Tip: The higher up the floor the more beautiful the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreeterBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel staff was professional and very helpful. The Valet were very quick always gave service with a smile. I was sad that they took out the swimming pool nothing really there for kids to do unless you bring video games. There was a Sauna on the 40 or 41st floor. The view is incredible and it is close to any and everything. The river walk was lovely they put this one in the perfect location.

Room Tip: If you dont want to get lost get room in tower one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonetta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

As Marriott properties go, this was a nice one. Rooms are very spacious and clean. Staff is courteous and helpful. The restaurant offers a nice assortment of food and is open quite late. My only negative comment is the the GM complex that houses the hotel is confusing and you feel like you are in a hamster play cage. Lots of glass bridges and walkways with people moving in all directions. Thank God for the directional signs! That aside, the hotel itself is in a nice location and if you don't need to deal with the GM complex you could have a pleasant stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vheckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Wonderful weekend in Detroit for the best Jazz Festival all around! The Marriott was the host hotel and I must say for the holiday weekend they did fairly well. The check in was fast and friendly. I must agree with another review that the artists jam sessions for a host hotel was handled with a small amount of staffers. The portable bar should have been in the lobby or on the patio. We were on the patio when the fire marshall came and in fairness the restaurant manager was not happy with the unfair treatment the marshall was handing down. He never counted the people on the patio, but close it down stating it was at capacity during a BIG weekend for Detroit..
The room attendants were friendly, but could use update course in cleaning. Dust was thick.. Valet parking staff was Awesome!! We will stay here again, we did not encounter any major problems. We selected the host hotel for the after concert jam session tradition. Perhaps the restaurant can offer a special quick menu for this weekend only along with specialty drinks that can be served quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brunchgirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.6 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
1.1 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Property: Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Address: 400 Renaissance Ctr, Detroit, MI 48243-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing