We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Eh”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Though I live not to far from downtown, I volunteer every year for the Detroit Jazz Festival and spend the weekend at the hotel because it's the festivals headquarters.
The building is in dire need of renovations and the rooms are average hotel rooms, though for the price you may as well stay across the street the Courtyard by Marriott. Pay half the price for the same room.
The building was leaking during a storm when I was there, there were chunks of broken concrete l;laying on the floor in corners, the service is beyond awful.
With all the other choices in town (Crowne Plaza and The Book to name a few) I can't imagine staying here unless there is no other choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joel_fuller, General Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review; we always appreciate feedback about your stay from our guests. I would like to mention that the hotel will be going through a renovation beginning in February 2014 and the new rooms are very impressive. Thanks Again, Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    579
    325
    146
    122
See reviews for
195
308
68
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights here over the Labor Day weekend. This is one of my favorite hotels and we have stayed here many times. There are never any surprises with the rooms, and by this I mean they are always exceptional. The staff is great, and if there is a problem they respond immediately. We realized one evening that there were no wash cloths left in the bathroom. I called the desk and I think it was less than 10 minutes before they were delivered. The hotel gives easy access to anyplace you may want to go because it has a people mover station on the property. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Detroit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustKelly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Visiting Detroit to see the sights, friends and I stayed at the Marriott Renaissance Center. When we arrived we were informed that there were 8 weddings happening in the hotel that weekend. As it turned out you couldn't swing a dead cat in this joint without hitting a bride's maid, bachelorette gaggle, or other wedding shenanigans. It seemed rather sweet, although why anyone would get married at such a cheerless location is a mystery to me. The architecture is pure 1970s brutalism. Inside, it looks like the pavilion at one of the 1970s financially failed world's fairs, sweeping concrete walkways and weird cantilevered pods holding fake ficus trees. The staff was warm and attentive, and the place was quite lively. It took forever to get the car from the Valet, but the hotel is enormous. There is a Starbucks in the lobby, God bless them, so I was able to get a decent coffee first thing. I took a run on the River walk which was very scenic and pretty. My room was quiet and comfortable with a view of the River. The decor was standard Marriott business hotel bland, but surprisingly, everything was in very good shape and immaculate. Although no feast for the eye, it was quite comfortable with an attentive and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Spent the weekend and had a very nice stay. Just saw the models of the soon to be renovated guest rooms and wow! Renovation starts in Feb 2014. What until you see the new troops and suites. Great staff and I not a Marriott employee.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
552 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Located on the river across from Windsor, Canada, the hotel and entire property was beautiful with views to Canada, the Ambassador Bridge and many other notable properties. Views from the rooms were breathtaking and the staff helpful. Night views from the terrance and dining room at 42 Degrees North were spectacular. Easy to get to other Detroit attractions and venues by foot or People Mover. Enjoyed our visit, felt safe and had a very nice visit to Detroit. Proves that if you plan well and use good judgment Detroit can be a great, affordable destination.

Room Tip: Request an upper-floor room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayhawk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Front Desk staff was very helpful and friendly! A+ for them. Rooms, however, are dated and lack amenities that most Marriott's have. Paid quite a bit to upgrade to a suite. 1.5 baths, but furniture was dated and worn out. No fridge, had to call for a small fridge, took an hour to get it. Nicer places to stay for much less in the D!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheeeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joel_fuller, Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and wanted you to know the hotel will be going through a rooms and space renovation beginning in February 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Marriott at the Renaissance Center has a captive audience of business and special event users who are treated to great service, wonderful Marriott linens, and an awesome view as far as the eye can see.

The captive user will not mind paying extra for every amenity offered by the hotel. The tourist visiting the Jazz Festival or in town to see a game might be more sensitive to the added fees that I believe are a staple of most major hotels in the nations largest cities.

I stayed at the Marriott Renaissance Center for just one night as I found comparable lodging just across the sky bridge in the same brand family for about 40% less. That price included parking and breakfast which were extra at Marriott. The view from the Renaissance Center however is not to be matched by any property on the US side of the US / Canadian border.

I did visit the Volt Lounge adjacent to the check in counter, and found the service to be lacking. When the Jazz Festival after hours jam was there I expected servers to be overwhelmed. Most servers working the jam session seemed to do a better job with a more pleasant disposition than the servers working the afternoon shift.

Like other reviews on this site claim I think the Marriott is difficult to get to and navigate. I have been in and around the Renaissance Center for three years during the Jazz Fest Labor Day weekend, and I still found it took a lot of patience to get to the parking garage and the hotel front desk.

The only major complaint I have is I was booked into the Concierge Level and charged accordingly. Unfortunately, the Concierge Lounge which seems to be the only benefit of the Concierge Level closes at noon Friday and does not reopen until 5 PM Sunday. Perhaps this property is designed to cater to the week day business traveler.

I also have had people rave to me about the food court in the lower lever of the center. It did look a little more impressive than your typical mall food court. Unfortunately, during the week-end most of the food vendors are closed.

If I had a trip to downtown Detroit during the week I would definitely consider staying here again. The price was on the high side of fair, but the rooms, service, and view are unbeatable.

Room Tip: Get in the High Rise if you can. Magnificent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallmarksucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
1.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Property: Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Address: 400 Renaissance Ctr, Detroit, MI 48243-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing