We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for a visit to downtown Detroit. My son and I were in town to attend the Detroit Auto Show and COBO Hall is just a short two block walk from the hotel. The room rates are reasonable for a Marriott but, as in many center city hotels, the food and drinks were quite pricey.

The public spaces of the facility appear to have been renovated since our last visit a few years ago. The rooms are of standard Marriott quality, although a bit small. The furnishings, however, are due for an update. A flat screen TV, a small refrigerator and free Wi-Fi help make the stay pleasant. Bedding is quite comfortable and a variety of pillows are available for the asking.

The Volt lounge in the lobby is a great place to have a sandwich and a drink. The service, however, might best be described as uninspired. The other hotel restaurant, 42 Degrees, serves a very nice breakfast buffet (the only meal we had there) with a great view of the river into Windsor , Ontario.

This was our third stay and we plan to return on our next trip to Detroit.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank B Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
There are newer reviews for Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

I picked this hotel because it was close to Cobo Hall. My check in experience was very good and quick. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The room, though not anything exceptionally outstanding, is clean and spacious. This is a typical Marriott hotel room. The drawback to the room is the bathroom is very small. The staff at the hotel is very attentive to the needs of the guests. The atmosphere is very modern. The hotel is part of the GM Renaissance Center in downtown Detroit. It is convenient to all of the sites in downtown Detroit. This hotel is a typical Marriott Hotel. The room value is okay. The roads could use some insulation to block out the hallway noise. Several times to mice stay I was awaken by noises in the hallway. The rooms also could use a little updating. Aside from these minor issues, I would consider staying at the Detroit Marriott at GM Renaissance Center again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank jacklbarnhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at RenCtr Marriott for a convention that my daughter was attending...I had a seminar in Ann Arbor the next day...this is a real hotel ...great view of the lake... connects to the people mover...the banquet was great at the convention...the room was clean and comfortable... Nice king size bed...I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkpoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms at the Marriott had decent flat screen TVs and looked like the bathrooms were recently remodeled. The double beds initially felt very soft and mushy but were actually quite comfortable for sleeping. The main disappointment was the room size. Because of the round shape of the hotel, all the rooms are pie shaped and very narrow when you walk in. We stayed on the 64th floor and the view was spectacular.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mgmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend on points for a Detroit Tigers game and had the best view. Perfect view overlooking the Detroit River and Canada. Rooms were the normal set-up for a Marriott and a little dated but they were certainly comfortable. Loved the River Walk right outside the door. We walked up and down each morning before breakfast. Plenty of places to eat in the area and the Greek Town Casino is just a couple stops away on the People Mover. You can catch the People Mover right outside the hotel. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Downtown Detroit is not a tourist mecca, so there are few hotels of any quality. The Ren Cen Marriott, however, is a perfectly adequate location if you have to do business at the convention center Cobo Hall. The "People Mover," a two-car tram goes from a stop adjoining the hotel (and easy to reach indoors, important in the cold winter months) to Cobo Hall reasonably quickly. Going back, there is only one stop before you get back to the Renaissance Center stop.
There are some decent restaurants in the hote; or the Renaissance Center. There is a decent restaurant in the hotel (thought it is a bit hard to find: Head toward the gift shop, then bear right and keep on walking.). Joe Muer's is on the ground floor and is a nice spot, especially for seafood, but a bit pricey. hidden on the level below level 1 (I can't explain, just trust me) is a food court that is open during the week and I believe a few places are open on the weekend. Usual food court stuff (even a Mickey D's) with merciful food court prices for those who work in the office towers of the Ren. Cen.
During the winter the floor to ceiling glass in the rooms does provide great views (try to get a room above floor 35 or better yet 45) but those same windows can get VERY cold. Pull the drapes and crank up the heat. Rooms are decent size and have Marriott style furnishings...seen one, seen 'em all.
Parking: Skip valet if at all possible and park right across the entrance in the garage. If you are there 2 or more nights ask the parking manager (little booth at garage entrance) for a pass that will give you in-and-out priviledges for the same price as a day charge. if you don't do that you could wind up paying 2 to 3 times more than the daily $20 rate. The parking manager I found was grumpy, but I got my pass.

Room Tip: get a higher floor if possible. Some of the views from the upper floors can be really outstanding...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1TravelDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotels frontdesk was incredible friendly...
Only five stars are going to this good mood reception people!..

But the rooms!!! The room is only "1" star!!!!

It was for 2 nights 760 USD!..
Not kidding 785USD! Included taxes and internet!..
These are sure
not the value for money
rooms...
For wi-fi connection You are paying extra 12.95USD+taxes daily!!!!

Great river or old Detroit views from windows, but that is all...

Not any drinking water, or a mini bar, in the room...
It is like less 100USD hotels around airports or by highways,,,

Clima is overheating or You are closing and You are getting flu!..
The sheets and towels were a bid old, like the floor carpets...

In the bath, first day is missing the small shampoo!..

The shower spray was very loudy and old too!..
There wasn't the shoe cleaner, too!
Not a sewing kit anywhere!..

Also not any letter paper or envelope...

Under the room door there was a very big gap, So You can look out or in!..
This are not a joke!..
If anyone speaks in the corridor, You can wake up from Your deep sleep!!!

And You are paying these hundreds of US Dollars only for quick shower and sleep!..

Also Elevators are speedy but very old!..

And for car parking!..
This hudge hotel doesn't have own car parking...

You must use valet parking for 25USD for a day or You can park Yourself in the parking building against the entrance and pay 20 USD per day!..

I was paying 40 USD for two days and +10 USD for extra 2 hours!..

So, hotel accommodation for two days were over 800USD for me!..
For this money, You can stay anywhere with same quality around Detroit for ONE WEEK!!!

OK, this is a GM building, but Marriott should have his own standards!..
Or Vice Versa!..

Room Tip: ask for Canada view upper floor rooms... Or go to another valuable hotel!!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OAistanbuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#8 of 33 in Detroit
1,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
0.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Address: 400 Renaissance Ctr, Detroit, MI 48243-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $246 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing