We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good”
Reviewed October 19, 2007

The marriot ws a good hotel the shape of the rooms is diffrent exlent views of Detroit and Windsor Ask for a room not by the ice machine

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — the long elevator rides
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dfromthepointes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    589
    327
    147
    124
See reviews for
198
312
68
706
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

We recently got married near Detroit and looked around for a hotel to accommodate all our out of town guests. We were showed the Marriott RenCen and the sales team offered us a very competitive group room rate. The hotel is ideally situated, on the people mover so our guests were able to easily go to events such as the baseball, Greek town, concerts at the Fillmore. The RenCen complex itself is very impressive and boasts some great attractions and services. Without exception all our guests said they had a very enjoyable stay, the views from the rooms were spectacular, the hotel services very efficient and they all said the breakfast was great! The sales team was able to sort out any queries very quickly. Downtown Detroit certainly has an image problem, but all our guests staying at the RenCen said based on what they had seen the reputation was undeserved. The Marriott indeed contributed to that. In short, a big thank you for the staff at the Marriott for helping our big day pass so smoothly.

  • Liked — The location and the views
  • Disliked — No public transport to the airport!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea OH
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Thank you, Detroit, for a most wonderful Labor Day weekend. Your outstanding jazz festival was the driving force in our coming for an overnight, and we're very pleased that we chose to stay at the Marriott RenCen, which was just a short stroll along the attractive riverwalk away from Hart Plaza.

Generally we select a B&B or boutique hotel for vacations; the Marriott RenCen was certainly a different vibe for us. Honestly we were more disoriented within the huge hotel than we were outdoors and at the festival. Still we were more than satisfied with the level of comfort of our room (and even albeit small bathroom) at the rate of $159. All staff we encountered (even those we crossed paths with on the elevator) were friendly and courteous. Off-site parking was convenient and a reasonable $30 for Saturday noon through Sunday at 9 p.m. In no way were we bothered by renovations.

The location can't be beat for the jazz fest, and we'll choose this hotel again when we return next year...and the year after that...and after that.

  • Liked — Proximity to the jazz festival
Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BEREA BON VIVANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

Well the location was great (inside the Renaissance Center aka RenCen) within the GM corporate headquarters in downtown Detroit. Walking distance to Ford Field, Comerica Park, and the PeopleMover.

However the hotel rooms are small, not nice and the bathrooms are tiny.

Service was ok, but lack attention to detail and they need to be more welcoming and friendly. We were ignored in the restaurant for a long time, and the people that work there are not motivated.

They are under renovation, so there is noise during the day (I believe from 8am to 7pm) the Front Desk said. I could hear it too, so don't expect to take a "break" during the day in your room.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aztroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

Service was less than interested. Food at River Cafe was sub par. Daily breakfast buffet was $17 per adult while the service was almost non-existent. Location is super - on the river and people mover. Lower levels of the hotel are impossible to navigate. Its like a maze down there. I probably would not return to this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service, food and room size
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gopoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Everything the previous poster said is true. The hotel is under renovation and there is a sign stating that as soon as you get into the lobby. Taking that into consideration, some things could've been better. Despite the amenities, the immediate hotel staff was very nice and helpful in giving directions and restaurant recommendations. Marriot is smoke free so they've moved the smoking area to the hotel entrance. This defeats the point if you have to walk in through a cloud of smoke. Valeting your car is a better deal because you can go in and out (compared to the public garage across the street which charges you each time you leave). It seems they haven't worked out the hotel security yet because everyone is considered NOT a hotel guest unless they show their room key to access the elevators that take you to the lobby. The only problem is, if you are checking in you don't have a key so we had to rummage through our bags to get out our confirmation and this wasn't even to check in. Our flight came in late, so we didn't get to the hotel until 11pm. Check-in was very slow. We had a King and the bed was very comfortable. The bathrooms were small and not clean (there was hair everywhere). Although the view was great, the windows were filthy. You can put a privacy card on your door, but the housekeeping at 8 in the morning in the hallway defeats the point. The location is great, but will we probably stay at another location until the renovations are completed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness of hotel
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

While only paid $65 on Priceline for this hotel, I am so glad I did because had I paid the full price I would have been greatly disappointed. I’m originally from Chicago, so when I think of a downtown hotel I usually think elegant or at least newly renovated. The windows were filthy, so you can forget trying to have a nice view of the river, and we had a dirty towel left in out room. The bathroom was very tiny and needed a complete renovation. Granted you don’t sleep in the bathroom, but you could barely walk-in without hitting your knee on the toilet. Also, the bathroom has no ventilation, so again this shows the hotel age and need for a serious overhaul. Walls were paper thin, and housekeeping awoke us at 7 AM vacuuming the hallways. Overall the rooms are dated, however, the beds are very comfy. To me this isn’t your typical Marriott. Stay at the airport if you can (preferably the Westin DTW or the Marriott DTW).

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Dated rooms and small bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MsTravelinDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,080 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.6 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Property: Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Address: 400 Renaissance Ctr, Detroit, MI 48243-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing