We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motown Museum is Hitsville!”
Review of Motown Museum

Motown Museum
Ranked #3 of 142 things to do in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This old Detroit home belies the greatness that was born here: the Motown Sound. But one step inside Hitsville, USA, the original house where Berry Gordy lived and recorded the Motown hits, and you'll catch the beat and spirit of this booming music era. Photos, costumes, artwork, music and other memorabilia take you back to simpler times.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Motown Museum is Hitsville!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you have ever listened to any Motown music, you have got to see this museum. It shows the wonder and hard work that all of the artists went through to make the Motown label the success that is was. Our tour guide was very thorough and knowledgeable. She had all of us singing the great Motown hits! Berry Gordy is truly an inspiration, his love of music set the tone for generations to come. This place is really a gem for the city of Detroit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,030
    280
    70
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Hitsville USA”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you love American music, you'll love this museum. You'll stand in the actual studio where the hits were recorded and your tour guide will make you sing! (Don't worry, it'll be with the whole group.)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bangbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“put this on your bucket l,ist”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hitsville USA is an amazing experience. I am so thankful that Motown Records opened up their studios to the public and letting us share in the memories - the music we listened to, sang along with, danced to, laughed to and cried to - in effect a musical snapshot of our teen years. To stand in the very spot that so many musical legends recorded was very very emotional.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank justhelpingottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great nostaligia”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Grabbed a tour here on the way back to the airport, wish we had more time to explore. The guide was excellent the exhibits fascinating. And to be where so much music began, what an experience. And be prepared to sing along!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“You won't believe how Motown music started”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had some time on our hands and thought a trip the museum was in order. Living in the Detroit area and growing up with the motown sound thought it would be a great idea to see where it all started. We were not disappointed!!! The tour guide was very informative and he himself was a singer and enternainer as he not only gave us all the information on the museum, but added a bit of motown himself, singing parts of various songs. Barry Gordy was a genius bringing kids off the street to make them stars. The recording studio was the hit of the tour as it is just hard to emagine all that great sound and artists recording in basically the garage of the house that Barry's apartment was the 2nd floor. We will be back as I understand that by going through it a second time with a different tour guide gives you even more prospective on how all the great artists and music was born.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jiml48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motown Museum also viewed

 

Been to Motown Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing