We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value near the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were a little apprehensive after reading some recent reviews, but were glad we took the chance. Nicely appointed historic hotel right on the river. Granted, it still needs some more TLC, but has the furnishings and feel of an Omni (which it was before) or a Marriot. We went when they weren't full (no Tiger game, eg) and the staff was friendly and helpful. The area is in transition. Lots of empty building nearby, but also some new loft type residences and a nice updated riverwalk area. Our room was clean and everything worked. It was comfortable. And finally, you can't beat the rate.

Room Tip: River view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVRJR, Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi Bob!

Thanks for the "thumbs up" review - we always appreciate it when our guests take the time to let us know how their stay was.

It sounds like you enjoyed the charming river front district just as much as we do! What a great place to work, live or play, right?

We're glad you decided to give us a try and now realize how comfy, clean and convenient we are AND with a value you can't pass up!

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 379 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here 8/6/13 for one night while in town for a concert. We did not want to spend $200 on a hotel room for the night, so I bid in Priceline and ended up with Riverwalk for $85 for the night. I was uneasy because of the terrible reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised!

Clean room (in fact smelled a little strongly of cleaning products), clean bathroom, staff was friendly from what interaction I had with them. Also, a nice large flat screen TV in the room.

What really impressed me was that they provided a shuttle to and from the concert (on a Tuesday night in which their shuttles normally only run until 5pm). We came back on the shuttle at 1am! The bar on site was having a concert after party for guests with discounted drink specials, we did not attend, but I thought it was a nice idea. We were not bothered by any noise or temperature issues like previous posters had experienced.

We are very easy going travelers-I would recommend this place to like-minded people. If you prefer to stay somewhere with a lot of amenities I would go somewhere else.

This place is a solid 3 star. Not the best choice if you're looking for anything upscale, but perfect place to stay a night or two for a good price.

Also the view of the river was absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jservick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVRJR, Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Hi and thanks so much for the great review - we love it when our guests take the time to let us know how we did!

Thank you for recognizing our great customer service and clean hotel - and you're right; the value is the best in town! We're glad you got to take advantage of the free shuttle service, too - it sounds like they did a great job taking care of you and that's what we love to hear!!

Thanks again for letting us know about your visit to our hotel and we do hope we'll see you again in the very near future.

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

First I will start by saying that the hotel itself sits in a very beautiful spot,with a great view of Canada, the rooms as a whole were nice enough. However the staff in particular the house keeping was horrible to the point of if they don't change and get a better handle on it they will lose out being a GREAT hotel. Checked in and found the room had not been cleared for check in, and once housekeeping finally did it went from bad to worse, we had to ask for the room to be clean after beening gone ALL DAY, the next day we had to ask for clean towels. My parents room was even worse, dust everywhere as if the room had never been touch, dust at least and inch thick on the curtains, one chair at the desk was stuck to the floor. When we did get towels they only gave us one, "we are still drying them" ....it's 10:30 at night and they were still cleaning towels from that morning.....unheard of ......Please Robert's Riverwalk Hotel get your staff together..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVRJR, Owner at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hello Charlotte,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent visit to our hotel was.

We would have to agree with you that the breathtaking view of Canada from our beautiful historic hotel is one of our favorite features as well!

Please accept our humble apologies for the cleanliness issues you and your parents experienced while staying with us. We value your input and want to assure you that we will use your feedback for training purposes. We obviously want all our guests to leave happy and we fell short of this goal with you. We will strive to correct these issues so that your next experience will be so much more enjoyable, should you give us another try.

We do hope to see you again in the future..

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Where do I begin! Unorganized, terrible staff, slow, inconsistent rooms, I do not think there is 1 thing this hotel does right! Examples: we had a block
Of rooms for a wedding everyone is scattered around the hotel. Made a reservation for breakfast for 30 they had no idea we were coming. Rooms Are inconsistent broke ac. Some rooms
Have shampoos and soaps
Some don't. As a hospitality professional its hard to stomach this place. It has potential unfortunately with the management it has in place it'll
Die a slow death. Detroit has so many better places for not too
Much more money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chilli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVRJR, Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hello MCrank99,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did during your recent visit to our hotel. It sounds like we missed the mark on several items and that is most definitely not our intention or goal. We strive to make sure our guests have a pleasant stay and we clearly did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies and know that we are working hard to correct these issues.

We hope that you will give us another try during your next trip to Detroit.

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Have stayed there a few times. Usually get by mistake when booking with Hotwire or Priceline for a 3 star hotel. Rooms are fairly nice but air conditioning does not work. They did give us a fan. Went for Jimmey Buffet concert. This time got a nice view of the river. They have a courtesy van that will give you a ride anywhere, but they were full with some kind of event so the van was always taken. Little difficult to get a cab from there. Easy to get a cab back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVRJR, Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Hello Bill and thank you for letting us know about your experience at our hotel.

We apologize that you experienced air conditioner issues; we are continually upgrading our a/c units but it sounds like you were unfortunately put in a room that had a faulty one. I'm glad to hear the staff did their best to accommodate you in the meantime.

We're also sorry the courtesy shuttle was full when you wanted to use it; during special events it does occasionally run at full capacity. In response to you feedback on the service, we will take a look at possibly a better way to manage this service especially during special event dates.

We hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights during a family wedding. Was a tad bit nervous after reading the reviews and agree with some of the prior guests points. Beds and Bathroom were clean (could use some updating) but they just missed the mark on lots of things. Only 1 person doing check in during a weekend where they had 2 weddings, a family reunion and Tigers game ... The front desk girl couldn't have been nicer but she needed help. Got a roll away bed, delivered promptly but had to call and ask for sheets that took over an hour. Valet is free with stay but waited in line 40 min to get parked. My aunt was promised use of their shuttle for wedding guests however they were also taking people to the tigers game. As few of the guests almost missed dinner at the wedding! This hotel could be so much more if they could get their act together, staff appropriately for a weekend and fix all of the little issues in each room (carpet, peeling wallpaper, and broken fixtures).

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVRJR, Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Hello Elizabeth and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent visit to our hotel.

Thank you for recognizing the great customer service from our Guest Service Associate; they really do try to make our guests feel like this is their home away from home. We apologize though that you experienced a delay in receiving linens and with the shuttle service. We try not to be short on staff and service, especially during busy weekends but it sounds like we fell short of that goal. It's input like yours though that will help us all know how we can do better.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again.

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Worse hotel that I ever stayed in. Bugs were in my room, mattresses were badly stained with brown spots (mattresses didn't have fitted sheets). I complained but I couldn't get a manager to call me back.

Keep your money! Go elsewhere....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ttifw_Educator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVRJR, Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hello Educator,

Let me first apologize for the experience you had while staying with us. It is never our intention on sending any of our guests away dissatisfied.

We are in the process of replacing mattresses and unfortunately, it appears you were placed in a room with one that was clearly unacceptable. And even though we use a regular exterminator, it's sometimes difficult to keep up with the outdoor insects that make their way into the building this time of year, but we do try.

Please also accept our apologies for a Manager not getting back with you in a timely manner; that is not our practice and we will strive harder to make sure this does not happen again.

Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We do appreciate your business.

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Detroit
2.6 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
10.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel St. Regis
Hotel St. Regis
#22 of 33 in Detroit
291 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dearborn/Detroit MI
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit

Address: 1000 River Place Dr, Detroit, MI 48207-4243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range: $103 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel And Residence Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing