We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Usually satisfied.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of RUB BBQ and PUB

RUB BBQ and PUB
Ranked #365 of 1,093 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: When you combine the atmosphere of a local Detroit hangout, the excitement of watching the game on a 65” flat screen, and the taste of an old school smokehouse, you have found Rub. At Rub BBQ we are proud to show our Detroit heritage. From the original character of our down town location, to the Detroit history hanging from our walls, we are proud to be Detroiters. We use local Michigan suppliers to bring you the best BBQ around. We mix our own rubs and sauces from scratch using over 20 different varieties of herbs and spices. Our eco-friendly ideas let us bring you unforgettable taste while still contributing to a greener Detroit. So come on down and watch the game and enjoy one of our 30 beers on tap. Ask one of our friendly staff about reserving our Private V.I.P. Banquet Lounge. Have us plan your next event and we will provide you with your favorite food, spirits, and fun. Tailgating packages are available that include all your pre-game musts, so leave your grill at home, because at Rub BBQ we have all your smokehouse needs.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Usually satisfied.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Worst experience in a restaurant in a long time. Apparently they cannot figure out how to send the right food totto the right table. Avoid this place on game day!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luvz2travl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    39
    19
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The food is very good although we did not have a good experience with the wait staff. Hopefully this was just an off day for them as we would definitely like to dine here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great food close to Ball Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I ate here before seeing a Tigers game. The food was excellent. I had the brisket sandwich and the flavor of the meat was superb. It is only a couple blocks to the park. If you decide to go before a game, it will be busy an hour before. We stopped in earlier in the day for a beer. The staff was friendly even though we wore our SF Giants hats! 

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rosieox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pre Ballgame Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Had good beer, great food and even better staff. I would definitely go back. We were seated as soon as we showed up. The waitress gave great suggestions and was very attentive. Also, the prices were very reasonable for the amount of food your received.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SonicTheDogHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We too happened up on this restaurant one Saturday afternoon . We had a group of 4 with 1 very persnickety appetite. We let her out to go in and see the menu. She came back and was reasonably satisfied. Well after being seated and waited on by the extremely friendly and helpful staff, we all were more than glad we chose this place. But the food is what you want to know about. We were given samples of the ribs (St Louis and Baby back) The samples were excellent. Juicy and extremely flavorful. We all ordered different things - the items which stood out was the macaroni and cheese, the greens , the slaw, well basically everything... I will say the ribs that came with my meal was not as good as the sample... But hey , I know what they are capable of. Would definitely go back

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RUB BBQ and PUB also viewed

 

Been to RUB BBQ and PUB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing