We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Smoke BBQ

Red Smoke BBQ
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Smoke BBQ is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 1,098 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Features classic barbeque fare in an attractive historic two-story building in Greektown. L & D daily; Full Bar; Carry-Out & Delivery; Party Room; Catering
Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good service, good atmosphere, good prices, and good food (except the cornbread which was greasy). Tried the pulled pork sandwich and beef brisket sandwich on two different visits. Both were above average. Microbrews on tap. I would go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jazzfestivus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    126
    35
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two out of Two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I recently dined here twice in one week and both times were very good. We are not experts in barbecue, but the ribs were delicious! Tastey, meaty, not greasy, tender and naked. That's how I like ribs, naked, because I like pork as my favorite meat, next to lamb,. They have 5 sauces on each table for you to try and dabble with. We did try them and they were good, I just don't like my barbecue meats overpowered by any sauce. Potatoe wedges were fine, but their potatoe salad was great to us because it was just like we make it at home, not sweet, they even put sliced radishes in it, probably homemade and the portion was at least double the average. The house salad was fresh and nice and they do serve an excellant balsamic vinegrette. Service was professional and on top of things each visit. Red Smoke participates with Greektown Casino, right across Monroe street, in that you can use casino comps here, just obtain a certificate at the casino for the amount you think you will use, any balance is suppose to be added back to your casino account. We will eat here, hopefully many times to come!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mchawley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We tried to go to Slows, but there was an hour and a half wait. My dad and I had walked past this place quite a few times on our way to Comerica Park and had always talked about stopping in, so once we couldn't go to Slows we decided to go here. It is very nice inside and the service was very good. The food comes in large portions and is reasonably priced. I had then pulled pork, and we split cornbread. I was very happy with this restaurant and it is in a decent area of Detroit, the Greek town area which has some excellent restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chab009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Good food! A great location right in Greek town. We had the Texas Beef Brisket which was aweseome. We would definitely go back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I love this place. I really do. Like most BBQ restaurants, they offer their own signature sauces. Redsmoke's are by far the best I've ever had. The Cherry Molasses features real Michigan cherries. The honey mustard sauce is a tangy, to-die-for blend that was once dropped as a selection then brought back by popular demand. The roasted pepper sauce is equally good. Heck, all five of their sauces are great. The restaurant also offers an excellent selection of appetizers and sides. My favorites include the fried pickles and macaroni and cheese (featuring baked spiral noodles with bread crumbs on top). The pulled pork and pulled chicken sandwiches are both excellent. Local friends who have tried both Slough's and Redsmoke all prefer Redsmoke. The owners also run the nearby Astoria Bakery--a long-time Greektown icon--which means the desserts at Redsmoke are fabulous! Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelitis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Smoke BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Red Smoke BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing