We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Crepes”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Good Girls Go To Paris Crepes - CLOSED

Good Girls Go To Paris Crepes
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
220 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Crepes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

The food at Good Girls was very good when we visited. We tried one of the sweet crepes and one savory, both were delicious. My only criticism was that when we went it was packed and the wait was excessively long. Not really much they could do about that, but just be aware that it could be a concern.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neovox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    36
    14
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

After visiting the Good Girls website, I was really looking forward to eating here. Unfortunately, the whole experience was rather disappointing. First, it was somewhat hard to find because the address is Kirby St., but the entrance is around the corner on Woodward. We arrived around 12:45 on a bitterly cold day. The first thing we noticed upon entering is that the customers were all wearing their coats, hats, etc. Even the waitress was bundled up in layers. We commented on the heat not working, and the staff told us it was just because people kept opening the door. But clearly it was not just a matter of occasional gusts when the door opened. The heat was inadequate.
We were told we could sit anywhere, so we found a spot away from the door. No one mentioned that the menu was only to be found on the wall, around the corner, and listed only the crepes, no drinks or anything. When the waitress finally came by (after about 15 minutes), we of course had not read the menu, so she went away for another 15 minutes while we took turns walking over to read the menu and decide what we wanted. The variety of crepes sounded good, but I believe every dish had the same CREPE; only the fillings varied.
It was probably a good 45 minutes from the time we arrived until we got our food, and the food was not hot. The crepe wraps were not bad, but they were barely warm, and the ingredients inside were warmed, but not really cooked, and even cooler than the crepe itself. Having eaten at a fabulous crepe restaurant in Philadelphia, I expected better crepes as well as hotter food. The waitress neglected to bring napkins, and it took some time to flag her down to get some. (Did I mention that the service was not very good, and they appeared to only have the one, inattentive waitress on duty?)
I will say that the woman behind the counter, who appeared to be running the place, was cheerful, friendly, industrious, and competent. I think this place has a lot of potential that it did not live up to on this day. Suggested improvements: First, fix the heat! Second, consider giving the place a good cleaning, with repainting in spots. It is an interesting atmosphere/decor, but it is starting to look a little shabby. Third, for heaven's sake, cook the food thoroughly and serve it hot. Consider using a variety of recipes for the crepes themselves. Hire more/better wait staff. Mention on the website that the entrance is on Woodward so you are easier to find on a day when strolling around the block isn't a good option. Provide paper menus at the table OR post it in 3-4 locations around the restaurant. Maybe I will come back in a year or so and see if things have improved.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston/Cape Cod
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty crepes, glacial service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went to Good Girls on way to the Detroit Institute of Arts. Good vibes, interesting menu, tasty crepes. But some real issues. Service was glacial -- I mean 15 minutes with no one coming to take an order. After ordering, the food came out in a reasonable time. And they were out of many, many ingredients: ham (and 1/4 of the crepes have that ingredient), basil, certain cheeses. As a result, the menu was effectively cut by 33%. Oh, and they couldn't make the Nutella hot drink or coffee because the machine was broken.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigCJ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice crepes restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

A lot of choice of savory and sweet crepes - both very good.
Service is friendly and efficient!
Located close to the museum, so a nice place for a lunch when you are visiting the museum.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Afternoon Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Crepes are awesome. Service a little to be desired. After we stood around at the "counter" we were told we could actually sit at a table, no signage to direct patrons. HUGE variety of crepes to choose from. Very good. A little light on the beverage selection, but would make a great stop in the mid-morning or mid-afternoon. Don't know that there is enough there to go for a full breakfast or lunch.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Girls Go To Paris Crepes also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing