We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in Mexican Town!”
Review of El Barzon

El Barzon
Reserve with OpenTable
El Barzon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 1,109 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Mexican Town!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I was so impressed with this restaurant!! Food was delicious, the manager prepared me an excellent drink made with rum, strawberries and basil. The atmosphere was beautiful, it was like being in a Hacienda. I recommend this restaurant 100%!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karita05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    41
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to impress”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a special out-of-town guest that we wanted to impress and El Barzon lived up to the task very well. She was a devote foodie from Manhattan and thought this place was unique. Don't let the slightly manic menu scare you as BOTH Italian and Mexican fares are some of the best around. The service was attentive and quick. They never seemed pushy and had great recommendations for people not familiar with some of the ingredients.

While it's not exactly in one of the swankiest parts of town, it's MORE than worth the drive. The parking lot is secured and one never feels as though they're taking their life or property into grave peril. Once inside this gem of a place, it's truly magical without being stuffy or over pretentious. We literally saw couples on dates, business people talking shop and families dining. It can be as upscale or down to earth as you'd like but the food and the service will be the reason you'll keep coming back here.

El Barzon truly is a gem within the city and a place to be tried time and time again. My hat's off to the owners of this place for making it wonderful and keeping it that way!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Smogboy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Love this place. Whether you have Mexican or Italian it is all great. If you feel adventurous try the goat, it is the best!

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dinner with my buddy”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I absolutely loved this restaurant. My Sea Bass was delicious. The service was wonderful and our waiter was very professional and warm.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7808BillyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
“Bring your earplugs!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

First things first, this is the loudest restaurant I have ever been to. Literally I could not hear the people seated directly across from me, and we had to start writing on the paper tablecloth to communicate with each other. This place seems more like a German beer hall than a restaurant, there are no booths, or dividers of any kind so you are all packed together with nothing to absorb the sound. Do not come here for any kind of romantic dinner, or if you want to talk to one another without either having to yell or sit two inches apart from each other.

Now, if you are still going to El Barzon, it is a unique place in that you can either have Mexican or Italian food. That's a novelty but it wears off rather quickly, as I found it weird to have chips and salsa as an appetizer (they put it out free, and it's decent), and then wind up having Linguine with Clams for dinner. We had a waiter who had difficulty speaking English and, although it was somewhat charming, it meant that we had no idea what the four dinner specials were that he was describing to us. We didn't mind, and it was fun to try to figure out what they were by piecing together words that each of us heard (when we could hear). We didn't order any specials and, if El Barzon reads this, you might want to have servers who can describe them clearly and make them sound appetizing if you want them to sell.

I won't spend too much time on the food, it was average and took a long time to come out from the kitchen. The Caprese salad had barely any basil, and was sloppily sloshed with olive oil and basamic vinegar tableside; the Pasta Bolognese was over sauced and the sauce (while very good) over powered the delicate housemade pasta and kind of killed it. The Linguine with Clams was the highlight, it was very good. One of our party had Mexican and she certainly wasn't raving. Again it was almost impossible to hear anyone. The desserts were standard, not memorable, but not bad. House made Tiramisu and Lemon Cake were served with pretty good coffee.

With noise off the charts, no ambiance or decor, and average food, there are many better options around metro Detroit and I would not recommend or return to El Barzon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Barzon also viewed

 

Been to El Barzon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing