We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must see in "The D"”
Review of Greektown

Greektown
Ranked #14 of 142 things to do in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ouzo flows and the souvlaki sizzles on Monroe Street, the center of an ethnic section of Detroit dominated by Greek restaurants and businesses.
San Juan Bautista, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“a must see in "The D"”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

home of the best pizza in the city, and perhaps anywhere. Pizza Papalis is worth the trip alone for their Chicago Style pizza. make a point of it, you won't be sorry.
casino is nice, plenty of night life. some traditional Greek-themed shops and boutiques, plenty to see and do.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank laker1rn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    209
    112
    39
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MI
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Food/Fun”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Went w/friends and family for dinner and to Greektown casino. Enjoyed both and had a fun experience at both places. If you park in the greektown casino parking lot...it is free, safe and close to all the restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank fishonMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, MI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miss the Old Greektown”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I thoroughly agree with Wild Wings' review. The casino has pretty much destroyed the atmosphere of Greektown. Most of the authentic restaurants are gone. My favorite bakery remains and we did eat at one of the few 'non-tourist' restaurants left. Greektown started to change after Trappers Alley was built. It was never the same and many of the original shopkeepers were forced out. On a positive side, the saganaki is still quite excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldladiesx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stroll through !”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Having heard about Greektown, we decided to see for ourselves.
Greektown Historic District, also known as Greektown, is a historic neighborhood, commercial, and entertainment district in Detroit, Michigan, located just northeast of the heart of downtown.
Took a ride on the People mover, which was interesting. Cool to see Arabic as well as English on the signage.
Great architecture to look at, take photos of, etc.

Also stop by the Greektown Casino and take a peek.

Detroit reminds me alot of Pittsburgh, which is where I call home. So it's only fitting that I enjoyed our trip.

Props D-town!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank KIMtastic-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Greek Food...Yum!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Greektown is a good place to visit. If you go, you must stop in at the Golden Fleece. They have the best Greek food in Greektown.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simply0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greektown also viewed

 

Been to Greektown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing