We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let's Go Red Wings!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe Louis Arena

Joe Louis Arena
Ranked #16 of 140 things to do in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the 11-time Stanley Cup Champion Detroit Red Wings, Joe Louis Arena proudly stands along the banks of the Detroit River. The 20,058-seat arena is Detroit's largest indoor venue and regularly hosts exciting attractions, including professional sports, college hockey, concerts, ice shows, circuses and much more.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Let's Go Red Wings!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great old arena, home of the MIGHTY RED WINGS. Older arena, but still fits the bill. Lots of food and drink and updated art work. Great team spirit and atmosphere for a good ol fashion hockey game!!! Good gigantic TVs to see the game, check out the Olympia Room, worth the $$

Helpful?
Thank sheeeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    157
    91
    28
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dirty, old, and kinda nasty.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

There has been more beer spilled in nthe stands at every hockey game than they spill in an Anhauser Busch brewery in any given year. What makes this bad is the fact that the people who run the arena have yet to clean the floor since the original opening night.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The old barn.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Everything about this place is ok, just ok. Nothing really negative to suggest, only that the experience depends more on what you see than what you get. If you see a great show or a great game you'll have a great time. Otherwise, it's ok.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ddfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
172 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“What more Can you Say its Hockyetown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Joe Louis arena home of the Detroit Redwings - My amily and I are Big Hockey Fans and usually spend better than 20 games a season at JLA (When their not on Strike) - We love to watch the Wings - but sometimes dread going to JLA because of the massive updates that are needed.

Location: 600 Civic Drive
Parking: Ample Parking at JLA but will have about a 5 min walk from the parking garage too the Arena - which is part indoor outdoor.

The arena is outdated being one of the top 4 oldest arenas built in 1979 seating capacity for 20,066 the arena was built without press box coverage areas which had to be incorporated at a later date - latest talks is that a new area of Downtown Detroit is being surveyed to incorporate a New Multi Purpose Sports Venue with seating for 18,000.

The seating is very cramped in JLA - Compared other arenas it is behind the times and needs updating. If you are a plus size male or female you may find it uncomfortable to sit at JLA - and no matter who you are if your seats are in the middle of the row - you are ALL getting up to let some one through - it is that Cramped.

Food: I really dont know what to say - I am a Sports arena Hot Dog Fanatic at some guys they offer .50 cent hot dogs so I pile up for all the $4.50 ones I bought through the season to make up for the loss. Small Pizza's are around $13 the Same pizza's you can buy for $5 Hot and Ready. Amazing how this all works - But as I hae mentioned in other reviews I dont think you can escape the overpriced Food and Beverages at any sport venue.

Conclusion: JLA is small - cramped and needs remodeling or New - But as the Devoted fans we are we will continue to see our RedWings.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“time to re build....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Old! Time to re build,,,High prices, not much of a food selection. The stairs are a killer Long walk to park..

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Louis Arena also viewed

 

Been to Joe Louis Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing