We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sides and appetizers.”

Michael Symon's Roast
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael Symon's Roast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,122 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: State
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sides and appetizers.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Was seated quickly without a reservation. The portions were generous, tasty and unique. The wait staff was very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank T_Rice99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    182
    83
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, Horrible Service”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Went there for our anniversary today...Have to say the wait staff is VERY Stand-offish..Come on if I am paying for a 200+ Meal for the both of us..I expect better wait staff..We hardly saw him much the whole evening. On top of that we asked him to take a few pictures..he took one and I asked him to take another one and his reply.".LATER"..really??? The place was NOT busy at all. As far as the food..it was good...Bread we had to ask for..umm the 5 small pieces given to you! Brussel SProuts..oily and greasy but my lamb was good...Asked for Coke, the "older" coke glass was not cleared until 1/2 hour later on..AGAIN NOT what I expect from a high end restaurant! Come on Michael Symons..invest in Good Quality Staff..I will def. give another high end restaurant my HARD EARNED money next time...Staff make a restaurant as does good food...Hand in hand combo! I'm not impressed!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank troy19_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had high expectations for this restaurant . But had dinner there last night and it was very disappointed. First the wine list had several selections in the 150.00 and up range but very few good selections in my sweet spot of 50-100 dollar range. Second and more importantly I ordered a 40.00 New York strip medium and it came to the table cold..the manager came over and said you cannot expect a hot steak when you order it medium??? What? I've had steak all over the world and this is just a bogus excuse. His remedy was to "reheat" it up but could not guarantee it would still be a medium steak. I'm still simmering ( no pun intended ) over this response. There are plenty of good restaurants in the Detroit area there is no need to waste your money here..I'll never go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pleasent trip into Detroit.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went to Detroit to view the fireworks yesterday. Decided to try having dinner downtown so I booked through Open Table and Michael Symon's Roast came up and was available. We were greeted and seated promptly. A great wood roasting aroma filled the restaurant. A very comfortable setting with a huge bar and large windows. Our service was good and the menu was different. The four of us each ordered a different entree and they were all very good. Even the dark grain bread was over the top. It was a very busy evening but it did not bother our dinner at all, everyone was on top of their game. We will be back and was pleased to see Detroit in in the mend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Class and excellance”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Saw this place on tv, wanted to stop and eat here. I have eaten at numerous great restaurants around the world. This was a great meal. I went with my adult sons, who also have extensive experiences in food. It was an awesome meal, the cost was $225.00 but worth every penny

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyjl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael Symon's Roast also viewed

 

Been to Michael Symon's Roast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing