We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greektown Casino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, mi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We came to town for the Tiger game and our anniversary and spent the night. The hotel was very clean. The view from the room was great. We were in walking distance to the game so the location was perfect. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanrober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are always so happy to be able to provide such a great location for all of our guests to enjoy the best attractions in Detroit. We hope that you had an amazing anniversary! We look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    359
    105
    44
    37
See reviews for
101
444
60
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thompsonville, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed on a Thursday and Friday night due to a Tigers Game. Didn't realize that Valet Parking was free, so we self-parked. It was a bit challenging to find the self-park, but after two or three trips around the block with many one way streets, we figured it out. Parking ramp didn't have great signage for us to figure out how to get to the hotel. Nice people on the elevator helped us. Check-in was easy and Linda at the front desk was very friendly. She offered us either river view or city view; we asked which was better. She said city view offered view of Comerica's Fireworks, so we opted for that side even though we'd be seeing them in person. From our room on the 30th floor (3016) (we got the Executive Level package that included breakfast), we could see Comerica Park but just a tiny part of the field. Laying in bed we could see the river! Bed was comfy, pillows were plush, everything was clean, bathroom was well appointed, and shower was roomy. Plenty of plugs for charging phones, tablets, etc. in various locations around the room. Only complaint with the room was that the window curtain was a tad short. Light streamed in bright and early causing us to wake up earlier than we would have liked.

Breakfast was open until 11 AM. Ample seating on Friday morning. We arrived at 10:45 AM. We were pretty surprised that promptly at 11 AM they broke down breakfast. No warning what so ever - it was rather disappointing. We did get a plate, but would have liked to have a warning that we may like to make our last trip before changeover happened. Saturday morning was a zoo at 10 AM due to a family reunion that was in the hotel. I will say the staff did a good job of keeping the buffet full.

All employees were friendly and accommodating (housekeeper refreshed room when we let her know our schedule). I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: On the City Side, you can see both river and Comerica Park in rooms 1-16 (3001-3016 for example)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upnorth98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
This sounds like a wonderful stay! We are so happy that you were able to enjoy an evening in Detroit. Our location is amazing for all of the attractions within walking distance and the outstanding views from the hotel rooms. We will have our team take a look at the curtains in your room and see if there is a way to lengthen them. We are going to be making significant changes to our dining options, so we apologize for your experience in Bistro 555. This will be sure to never happen again. We hope to have you back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stay at greektown at least once a month. It's a nice place to get away and still be home but feel as your on vacation. The service is always GREAT, the front desk service make you feel at home Aundia and Val are the Best you will ever meet. The hotel give you upgrades and the rooms are amazing. Wish they had tubs but you can't have it all lol. Housekeeping on the 18th floor that work the end are the best. Love this place, only if I could gamble last when I do stay !!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gipsonj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are so happy to have you on such a regular basis! We love to be able to provide you with the comfort of home, but the luxury of a vacation. Our team loves to be able to provide our guests with the best service and accommodate them in any way they can. We will make sure to let Aundia and Val know that you complimented them. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville, MI
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Encounters with car valets, front desk, bell staff and housekeeping were all pleasant. We had a beautiful view of the Detroit River from our 26th floor room. The room was very clean and beautifully appointed. The beds were very soft. I actually slept very well because the bed was so comfy but had a back and headache when I awoke. I usually sleep on a firmer mattress. We went to Detroit for a concert but did spend a little time in the casino. The slots seemed to be pretty tight. We didn't order room service but I did have a prime rib sandwich in the casino. They are delicious.
Security staff was visible throughout the hotel and casino and a key is required to take the elevator to the guest room floors in the hotel. Valet parking is free at the hotel so I would definitely take advantage of it. Allow about 10 to 15 minutes for your car to be brought around. They will tell you it takes 5 minutes but both times we retrieved our car it took at least 15.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us Sue. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We strive to provide the most comfortable and secure accommodations for all of our guests. The floor to ceiling windows provide for priceless views from any floor. We are currently working on improving many different areas of our casino and hotel, so we hope that you are able to come back and check them out in the next few months! Please stay tuned! We look forward to having you back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2014

From the minute that you walk through the door until you walk out, everyone here is very pleasant and helpful. Not only are the rooms the best you'll find anywhere in Detroit but the location is great. There is a People Mover stop in the casino that will take you to all the major venues.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcmgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are so pleased to hear that you experience was nothing but pleasant with our team members. We always want our guests to feel as comfortable as they would in their own home. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of having you back to see us again very soon! Thank you for choosing Greektown during your visit to Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I came from out of town for a bachlorette party had the most amazing service from Erik Murray he showed me different rooms then proceeded to help me set up my room and provided transportation he made my day and my trip much easier. I would definitely stay again. Amy C.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
What a great experience Amy! We are so happy to hear that Erik was able to make this weekend a memorable one. We always strive to provide our guests with anything and everything they may need. Thank you for spending this exciting weekend with us. We hope to have you back to see us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great hotel inside, great staff, clean, modern, good location. My only real issue is the level of noise that comes from the street and possibly the club inside the casino. We were on the 23rd floor, facing monroe so we had a great view but the low frequency thumping music, motorcycles and cop sirens meant interrupted sleep. Friday nite it was quiet by 2. But pretty much noise all nite long on saturday. If you're bothered by noise you could try a room facing south and on the top floor. I'd really like to give it another try so I could bump the overall rating I gave the hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor not facing Monroe if you're looking for quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank checkerInAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are so sorry to hear that your stay was disrupted by the hustle and bustle on Monroe St. Greektown is a very popular area in the city, which can make for a great district to dine in or find different entertainment. Unfortunately, Greektown Casino does not have a club at this time, but there are quite a few bars that can be found along Monroe. Please feel free to contact our front desk if you would like to relocate to a different room due to noise level. If you ever encounter guests that are being too noisy, we have a strict one warning policy. We love to hear that you enjoyed the over hotel and our team members. We hope to have you back soon to reevaluate your first stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,083 reviews
1.4 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#15 of 33 in Detroit
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Property: Greektown Casino Hotel
Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#4 Family Hotel in Detroit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF IT ALL YOUR DOWNTOWN ADVENTURE STARTS HERE. Rev up your weekend. Electrify your nightlife. Explore Detroit's hottest scene. Thanks to our unbeatable location in the hub of the Greektown district, it's impossible to be any closer to the action. With 400 stunning guest rooms and suites devoted to your comfort, our 30-story hotel is the perfect place to relax and recharge after a night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing