We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greektown Casino Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Encounters with car valets, front desk, bell staff and housekeeping were all pleasant. We had a beautiful view of the Detroit River from our 26th floor room. The room was very clean and beautifully appointed. The beds were very soft. I actually slept very well because the bed was so comfy but had a back and headache when I awoke. I usually sleep on a firmer mattress. We went to Detroit for a concert but did spend a little time in the casino. The slots seemed to be pretty tight. We didn't order room service but I did have a prime rib sandwich in the casino. They are delicious.
Security staff was visible throughout the hotel and casino and a key is required to take the elevator to the guest room floors in the hotel. Valet parking is free at the hotel so I would definitely take advantage of it. Allow about 10 to 15 minutes for your car to be brought around. They will tell you it takes 5 minutes but both times we retrieved our car it took at least 15.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with us Sue. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We strive to provide the most comfortable and secure accommodations for all of our guests. The floor to ceiling windows provide for priceless views from any floor. We are currently working on improving many different areas of our casino and hotel, so we hope that you are able to come back and check them out in the next few months! Please stay tuned! We look forward to having you back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

From the minute that you walk through the door until you walk out, everyone here is very pleasant and helpful. Not only are the rooms the best you'll find anywhere in Detroit but the location is great. There is a People Mover stop in the casino that will take you to all the major venues.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmcmgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are so pleased to hear that you experience was nothing but pleasant with our team members. We always want our guests to feel as comfortable as they would in their own home. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of having you back to see us again very soon! Thank you for choosing Greektown during your visit to Detroit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I came from out of town for a bachlorette party had the most amazing service from Erik Murray he showed me different rooms then proceeded to help me set up my room and provided transportation he made my day and my trip much easier. I would definitely stay again. Amy C.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

What a great experience Amy! We are so happy to hear that Erik was able to make this weekend a memorable one. We always strive to provide our guests with anything and everything they may need. Thank you for spending this exciting weekend with us. We hope to have you back to see us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great hotel inside, great staff, clean, modern, good location. My only real issue is the level of noise that comes from the street and possibly the club inside the casino. We were on the 23rd floor, facing monroe so we had a great view but the low frequency thumping music, motorcycles and cop sirens meant interrupted sleep. Friday nite it was quiet by 2. But pretty much noise all nite long on saturday. If you're bothered by noise you could try a room facing south and on the top floor. I'd really like to give it another try so I could bump the overall rating I gave the hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor not facing Monroe if you're looking for quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank checkerInAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are so sorry to hear that your stay was disrupted by the hustle and bustle on Monroe St. Greektown is a very popular area in the city, which can make for a great district to dine in or find different entertainment. Unfortunately, Greektown Casino does not have a club at this time, but there are quite a few bars that can be found along Monroe. Please feel free to contact our front desk if you would like to relocate to a different room due to noise level. If you ever encounter guests that are being too noisy, we have a strict one warning policy. We love to hear that you enjoyed the over hotel and our team members. We hope to have you back soon to reevaluate your first stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We arrived at what a great location, right in the middle of greektown by everything. Staff very friendly, rooms beautiful, the view was out of this world, we had floor 28 and the view was amazing! The bellman here are so helpful with bags and direction, Chris was very nice. Now the cons- the valet service, although free, is horribly slow. It took on average about 45 minutes to get our car so be prepared, although valet lady very friendly. They only give u two towels and two washcloths, the next morning we needed more around 11:00, when I asked housekeeping she said the entire hotel was out of towels and washcloths and the truck service had not delivered more yet. I kinda think that was unbelievable, but she nicely took some from the room she was cleaning and gave to me. And our rooms was not cleaned till 3:00 which I thought was late. The last part of the cons is the casino, it's so huge it's very confusing, we got lost so many times. All in all, it is a great hotel and we would stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CAROL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with us Carol. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our team was able to accommodate you in any way possible. We are currently working on improving many areas of the hotel and the casino. Our valet system is something that is currently being audited for improvement. We recently ordered brand new linens as well, to supply extra for our guests. We will look in to why there was still not sufficient towels to supply for you. Our housekeepers typically begin their rounds after 11 AM and move their way through the rooms. If you would prefer an earlier cleaning, please feel free to contact our front desk and they would be more than happy to make that happen. As for the casino, we are currently making some major upgrades. We understand that the layout of the building can be a bit confusing since it was not originally intended to be a casino, which is why we will begin updating our signage and way finding tools. We will also be making some cosmetic updates to freshen it up. We look forward to having you come to experience the new and exciting things happening at Greektown. Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Detroit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I had never stayed at a Casino before and I was so pleasantly surprised. Nice comfortable rooms with huge beds and TV. Easy access to the gaming floor (of course) and you had to have your room key to use the elevator, which makes you feel more secure. I enjoyed my time there and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with us Emily. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to exceed your expectations. We like to be able to appeal to both our gaming guests, as well as our non-gaming guests. We always want to make sure that our guests feel as comfortable and secure as possible during their stay. We hope that we will have the opportunity to have you stay with us again soon! Thank you for choosing Greektown during your visit to Detroit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Booked a room on the weekend and very nice rooms. Love the casino. Greek town seems to pay back more (to us) than any of the surrounding casino's. Love that we can walk out on the street and have restaurants and night life. Enjoyed our stay. Only complaint is I couldn't bring my small cooler to the room. No coolers allowed.

Room Tip: Right downtown in the action. If you want quiet this is not the hotel for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with us Richard. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and lady luck has been with you in the casino! We love our location in Greektown! It is so nice to be able to walk to different restaurants and other entertainment areas. We have recently added many more refrigerators to our inventory in the hotel. If you are ever in need of one, please call our front desk and they will be happy to send one up to your room. We hope to have the pleasure of having you again! Thank you for choosing Greektown during your visit to Detroit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#11 of 33 in Detroit
1,129 reviews
1.4 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#16 of 33 in Detroit
546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
0.7 mi away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2924
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $159 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF IT ALL YOUR DOWNTOWN ADVENTURE STARTS HERE. Rev up your weekend. Electrify your nightlife. Explore Detroit's hottest scene. Thanks to our unbeatable location in the hub of the Greektown district, it's impossible to be any closer to the action. With 400 stunning guest rooms and suites devoted to your comfort, our 30-story hotel is the perfect place to relax and recharge after a night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing