We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greektown Casino Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I recently returned from a 4 night stay at the Greektown Casino Hotel. Overall it was a very nice and modern hotel with clean rooms and friendly staff. The views from the higher floors are excellent as well. We had a room on the 26th floor that faced away from downtown, but we still had a great view of the surrounding areas and the river. The best thing the hotel has going for it is it's location. It's close to all of the major downtown attractions and is within easy walking distance of the stadiums and the riverfront. The hotel offers free parking in an onsite garage that is easily accessed right off the interstate, which makes coming and going from other parts of the area beyond the downtown district extremely easy. The hotel is also located right on a very busy stretch of Monroe Street which has numerous restaurants and bars that are pretty much all open very late, which is great if like us your flight gets in to DTW late and you still want to be able to have dinner on arrival. I'm docking them a star because the price seems a little high to me (although we got a great rate on Priceline), and because the casino smells of smoke, and while the rooms and hotel areas are free of the smell, you still have to pass through it every day on the walkway to the garage.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJKNYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We appreciate your positive review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you were pleased with our staff and our convenience to the downtown attractions. Please come back and visit us at Greektown Casino Hotel the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    350
    102
    45
    37
See reviews for
99
433
58
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for three nights, upon arrival the valet service was good,and my check in was quick and efficient. I asked for a fridge and in less than ten minutes being in my room one was delivered to me. The staff was very friendly, complementary breakfast was very good, they were a variety of things to choose from. The view from my room if downtown Detroit was beautiful. Check out time was 11am and I asked for an extra hour and it was granted. I had a wonderful time at the Greektown hotel and casino and to think that after reading a few reviews I was going to book some place else but I am glad I did not. My advice to every one is to go and experience it for yourself....I am glad I did.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you so very much for such a high rating regarding your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to your next stay with us here at Greektown Casino Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Spent a night in early September 2013...great room, great staff, enjoyed the Bistro for food. The casino was smoky and stunk...dealers were friendly.
Planning on coming back...will wear old clothes and lots of cologne to the casino

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy you chose to stay at Greektown Casino Hotel and hope you will once again choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

There are little signs that a hotel has started to let their standards slip. We could tell that Greektown Casino Hotel used to be a four-star level hotel. But small things such as sliding doors that wouldn't lock, security that was slow on the uptake to take care of noisy neighbors, issues with billing that required far more effort than should have been required all add up to a mediocre experience.

The rooms are reasonably sized, with comfy beds. The phones are designed for businesses instead of hotels, making them more confusing than they need to be. Room service is odd: they shut down between 11 AM and 5 PM (but oddly open any time overnight), which made things infinitely more difficult when my wife needed a sandwich only to discover we had to go into the casino next door to get the food. We booked the room through Priceline, so the price was right (and obviously they've got occupancy issues).

The last night, we had to deal with prostitutes using the next room to service customers, and were very loud. It took two calls to get security to even come up, then three more calls before they were finally evicted at 6 AM, which killed the night's sleep for us. When we mentioned this at checkout, there was no effort to give us any discount or adjustment due to that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Greektown Casino Hotel prides itself in the ability to provide the highest level of quality and service to our guest. We are regretful for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please reach out to me at Cnelson@greektowncasino.com and allow us the opportunity to improve upon your guest experience. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed there one day in the hotel. The valet service was excellant. The room were very nice for the value we paid. The beds were very comfy and the bathroom was very nice. I was very impressed with this hotel. I would stay here again if I am in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
It is a pleasure for us to hear of how impressed you were during your stay with us here at Greektown Casino - Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I won a room at the Greektown Hotel by signing up at the casino. We got to the hotel around 12 and asked at the lobby if we could get into our room early and they said that our room was ready which was a bonus for us. We were even asked if we wanted a room high up or closer to the ground level. We were on the 29th floor facing the city, what a gorgeous view. The room was a little compact but very nice. The hotel is so close to everything we needed to see and do. Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We were here on a Thursday and there weren't any games going on so it wasn't very busy. We took the people mover around to see where we wanted to go for a walk. The water front is so nice and relaxing. We walked through downtown. Detroit really gets a bad rap but we really enjoyed out visit. The buildings are so old but so well kept. We found everyone so friendly. If you want a great breakfast go to The Ham Shop which is right down the street. Big portions. We had fun at the casinos but the smoking is really bad.

Room Tip: If you are here for a football or baseball game everything you need is within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trustypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Greektown Casino Hotel prides itself on providing the best entertainment experience in Detroit. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others looking for amazing location and service in our beautiful city. We look forward to providing you with another great experience soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I needed to stay in Detroit for business, and was originally plannng to stay at the Marriott Renaissance. But, for significantly less, I was able to book a very nice room on the 23rd floor of the Greektown Casino Hotel. It's a great location - just a short walk to Comerica Park and Ford Field. There are a ton of places to eat in Greektown, and I felt safe walking by myself for blocks around the hotel. My only caveat is that the casino is smoke-filled, so if you have low tolerance for cigarette smoke, this isn't the place for you. There were some customer service glitches: first, there wasn't a wake-up call when I needed to get up early to catch a flight. Then, I called ahead for a cab, and was assured one was on the way. When I got downstairs, I waited around only to find out that nobody had called for a cab. Overall, it was a nice stay, but the attention to detail needs some improvement.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor keeps you away from the noise and casino smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Greektown Casino Hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to provide us with your comments in regards to your recent visit. We hope you will once again stay with us the next time you are attending events downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.4 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Property: Greektown Casino Hotel
Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#4 Family Hotel in Detroit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF IT ALL YOUR DOWNTOWN ADVENTURE STARTS HERE. Rev up your weekend. Electrify your nightlife. Explore Detroit's hottest scene. Thanks to our unbeatable location in the hub of the Greektown district, it's impossible to be any closer to the action. With 400 stunning guest rooms and suites devoted to your comfort, our 30-story hotel is the perfect place to relax and recharge after a night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing