We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Just a shame there's a casino attached”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greektown Casino Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A really excellent hotel.

- Reasonably priced.

- Very nice rooms.

- Great service, especially from the Bell Captain (Chris I think?) who was ultra helpful.

- Perfect location for me (and for the Urban Adventures walking tour that leaves from 10 mins walk away).

The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that there's a casino attached, and I find them kinda sad places. Not much that can be done about that I guess.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed one night in a suite for my birthday celebration. It was gorgeous, both the room and the view. Every room had a floor-to-ceiling window view of the Detroit River from the Ren Cen, to Windsor, to Belle Isle and Lake St. Claire. We were in a corner suite and our friends had the room next door that had a joining door (it was a standard king-sized bed room -- they loved it). In the suite, the living area was great. It had a large flat screen TV, a couch, a coffee table, two chairs and a desk. There was a small 1/2 bath in the hallway. The room was floor to ceiling glass with a stunning view of Belle isle and the Detroit River. It had a flat screen TV, an armoire and a safe. The bathroom was incredible with a double sink, a separate toilet room, a jet tub and large, and a glass enclosed shower. The only two downsides were: 1) all surfaces (counters, floors) in the suite sticky; and 2) there is smoking in the casino. On the upside, the hotel had easy access to the casino, parking and the People Mover. Parking was free, and make sure you park in the casino/hotel garage -- entrance to the hotel from the parking garage is level 3. The People Mover is 75 cents a ride and will take you around the downtown area. But we stayed here and never left Greektown. It's such a fun area with a lot to do. Especially for a celebration/night out as there are a large variety of restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed at Greektown Hotel and Casino last Saturday night with my wife. Attended a bachelor / bachelorette party for her cousin. Casino has more of a "party" vibe to it, but nothing too fancy (reminds me of O Shea's or downtown Vegas.) Had concerns with other reviews stating the casino was smoky, but it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. Played poker in the semi-hidden poker room on the 2nd floor and went to Eclipz and hung out w/ her cousin, his fiance and friends while they sprung for bottle service (which was great.) The rooms were small but newer. Had a overall great time.

Room Tip: Looks like all rooms have a nice view of downtown Detroit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised, everyone individual who represented Greektown Hotel during our stay was very helpful and professional. The hotel room small but very clean and accommodating. During our stay we received complimentary breakfast and $10 free play for the Casino. We stayed the Sunday before Labor Day, It was extremely busy. I didn't give the Hotel 5 Stars because during the late evening 2am; we could hear music, motorcycles and traffic from the street, I was on the 26th floor and this was not expected. The Greektown Casino really needs to get some sort of Air Cleaner, the smoke was awful. When I left this Casino my eyes looked as though I had been crying for days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlbugdtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our Boise State University football travel team trip took us to Michigan last week. Greektown Casino/Hotel turned out to be an awesome experience with awesome rooms, super curteous staff, great value, and easy access to area attractions. Highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The location in downtown Detroit is hard to beat. The hotel is conveniently located on the Greektown strip, casino, and people mover (monorail). It is an easy 15-minute walk to the riverfront and GM's world headquarters, but don't venture too far off the Greektown strip at night. Even during the day, the area off the strip can be a bit sketchy. The hotel itself, despite being the newest hotel property in the area (it opened in 2009), is already showing its wear. The rooms are small, the colors a bit dark, and the parking is awkward. You have to take one elevator from the parking garage to the main floor, then another elevator to your room. There are a number of excellent restaurants (both Greek and other) nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelitis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The location is fantiastic, walking distance to the Lions or the Tigers. Having a casino provided safe, fun entertainment. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly.

The casino offered a great variety of table games and slots. The tables were never completely full and the limits were reasonable. Don't expect Vegas style, free drinks, those are cash only.

The access to the freeway and parking were a breeze. Free wifi in the rooms and very clean and comfortable beds.

All in all, i would definitely recommend and would return to this location if if visit Detroit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#11 of 33 in Detroit
1,130 reviews
1.4 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#16 of 33 in Detroit
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
0.7 mi away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2924
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $148 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF IT ALL YOUR DOWNTOWN ADVENTURE STARTS HERE. Rev up your weekend. Electrify your nightlife. Explore Detroit's hottest scene. Thanks to our unbeatable location in the hub of the Greektown district, it's impossible to be any closer to the action. With 400 stunning guest rooms and suites devoted to your comfort, our 30-story hotel is the perfect place to relax and recharge after a night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing