We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All right but not for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greektown Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Greektown Casino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
ontario
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“All right but not for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay for one night on the return from a business trip. Paid a little extra for the corner room. NO one mentioned the construction & pile driver next door. I called the desk, and was told to use EARPLUGS!!! I understand construction is out of their control but EARPLUGS!!!
The rooms are noisy from people next door and staff in the hallways, do not have the amenities I expect for this cost point. Minor things but I was not at the Days Inn either. One chair, nothing to put your feet up on, no table to eat at, one night table for a king bed, minimal towels. Over priced breakfast, and mini-bar. The bar on the main floor still smelled like frying grease, poor ventilation. I just left the Marriot the night before, for 35% less we had better accommodations and amenities.
Location is great, view is wonderful. They need front desk staff that gives a darn, and a cost that is in line with the amenities offered. Would I stay again, yes but only for a better deal on the price. They are 50 to 60 too high per night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pokher_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    332
    91
    42
    36
See reviews for
95
413
55
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed at the Greektown Casino Hotel for the Easter long weekend. Red Wings and Tigers were both playing that weekend, so we thought we'd catch both games. The location of Greektown was amazing. Super close to everything (walking distance, and for those lazy days, close to the Detroit People Mover station.
The Casino was alright, but the Hotel was beautiful, clean, and modern. The Hotel restaurant was very nice and offered a wide range of menu items. I thought the staff was very pleasant. It was not the cheapest hotel, but it's a trade off because you end up getting location, nice hotel, and casino.
The only disappointing thing was that our room had really thin walls. Happens to be our neighbours were partying it up all night. We asked to move rooms but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked and was unable to move us. We thought it was just the music that was loud, but we can hear conversations in person AND on the phone. It was odd.
I would recommend this hotel, but just hope you have quiet neighbours if you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clumsythief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed at the Greektown Casino Hotel for a weekend during my family reunion and I really enjoyed my stay. It's one of Detroit's newer hotels in the heart of it all. It's a nice hotel, not real fancy or upscale, but modern and comfortable. We received great service from the start when we valeted our cars (complimentary) and check-in was smooth. The rooms were nice but nothing special. They aren't that big but were clean and have everything you need.

I'd say best part of this hotel is its location. There is so much to do right around the hotel that you will have no trouble finding a place to dine or entertainment. It was nice to have options closeby since I'm not a huge gambler. I did walk through the hotel casino to take a peek but all the smoke in the air was too irritating to stay long.

I liked the Greektown Casino Hotel and I'd stay there again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 216Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Greektown Casino Hotel is gorgeous. We stayed in a suite and overlooked the city, awesome views, the most comfortable bed ever, reasonably priced mini bar, fabulous bath area OMG - I wanted to move in. We stayed only one night, I'll be here for 3 nights during the Grand Prix weekend and am soooo looking forward to it. This hotel is in a great location for food, fun and excitement. The people mover stop is convenient from the casino (which is attached to the hotel) so it's just great to be here. The staff are all so professional and fabulous (my job is booking travel for a large company) this is one of my most favorite properties to work with. Can't wait for my Grand Prix visit! It does not get much better than Greektown Casino Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelScout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Convenient, clean, friendly, accessible, affordable, comfortable and quite; these are the good things you want to hear about a hotel stay. These do apply. It's easy of and on the highway to the parking garage and then into the hotel no problem. All of the staff are friendly. The room we had was exceptionally clean and well laid out with show separate from sink area and work study area design nicely appointed. We had no noise issues or smokey smell in the room. Getting to the casino is a breeze and I highly recommend crossing the street for pastry and pizza (both are a must do). I am a newbie to Detroit so beware alcohol is not free as it is in Vegas casinos. And there are plenty of slots . I had no problems getting a slot to play. And the video poker room is always more quiet. There is a small non-smoking area for slots that was a welcome breathing respite.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the 13th floor. There are only a few rooms, nice view, and not busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jc17oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed in the Greektown Casino Hotel for the Tiger's opening day game, and was very impressed. The hotel is located just minutes away from the stadiums and all downtown night-life. The room was one of the nicest I have ever stayed in, and the customer service was great (big shout-out to Linda F. for her helping us put together an amazing day/night in the city). Parking is free, and the buffet breakfast was tasty. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_K35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Have been to Detroit many times, but this is the first time I have stayed here. Service was great, rooms were very modern and nicely furnished. They were on the smaller side, but the floor to ceiling windows were wonderful. We had a corner room that had fantastic views of downtown and Ford Field and Tiger Stadium.
Bed was comfy, room was well supplied with linens and coffee maker. Plenty of lamps, outlets, and nice desk. Minibar was also nice, pretty good selection and the prices were great for a minibar. For example a beer was $3.
We ate at Bistro 555 for dinner and the food was good, the breakfast and buffet looked good as well.
The hotel has free valet parking and WIFI and also offers room service menu.
As others have stated tv service would stutter here and there. No big deal unless you were watching a game or something.
The location is perfect. You are connected to the greektown casino by a covered skywalk. You can also walk right out the front door and be right by all of the restaurants and shops in Greektown. Tiger Stadium, Ford Field, the Fox Theater are all very close by. You also have easy access to the people mover which is only 75 cents.
I am a travel agent who is very fussy about where I stay. I normally was staying at the MGM hotel which is very nice, but gets very pricey. I also went to view the Atheneum Hotel and those rooms were very nice, modern, clean, and all suites for a good price. All three of these have easy access to great restaurants, bars, events, and casinos. I would stay at all three hotels, would just depend on the price at this point.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyinthewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#2 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.1 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#13 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Property: Greektown Casino Hotel
Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#4 Family Hotel in Detroit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF IT ALL YOUR DOWNTOWN ADVENTURE STARTS HERE. Rev up your weekend. Electrify your nightlife. Explore Detroit's hottest scene. Thanks to our unbeatable location in the hub of the Greektown district, it's impossible to be any closer to the action. With 400 stunning guest rooms and suites devoted to your comfort, our 30-story hotel is the perfect place to relax and recharge after a night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing