We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location for Everyone!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greektown Casino Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Greektown Casino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location for Everyone!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Spent 2 nights at Greektown Casino Hotel for a short getway with my wife. Great value including a great breakfast in the Bistro 555 and some bonus play that got us going in the casino. So happy to find out that Valet was complimentary, extreamely convenient. The lady at the front desk welcomed us with a beautiful smile and that stayed with us for the rest of our stay. This hotel is located in the heart of Greektown, downtown Detroit. Very safe area for those who worries. Greektown is filled with wonderful restaurants and bars and we had the chance to sample of few of them. The casino is adjoining the hotel so you don't get the noise or the smoke (hotel is smoke-free) which is just fabulous. My wife won a little bit of money even tho it didn't make up for my loss. (ssshhhhh) The people working in the hotel as well as in the casino really take pride in their property and it shows through the smiles and the everlasting urge to service you. The room was very chic decor and an amazing downtown view of Detroit. I sleep on Tempur Pedic at home but I have to say, these mattresses are fantastic, we had the best sleep!!! We will definitely come back for more action!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alohaswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    343
    97
    43
    37
See reviews for
96
426
57
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak Mich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

I have to preface this review with saying that the last time I was here was before the hotel was built. I checked in the hotel on a sunday afternoon. I had difficulty finding the hotel valet. When I finally found it, I asked if this is where you park for the hotel, the man sent me to the parking structure. Not fun dragging a suitcase, but maybe it just was a miscommunication. Checkin was great, and got a beautiful room on the 18th floor. I'd give the hotel room 5 stars. I found the layout of the casino itself a bit confusing. Parts of it were almost claustraphobic, especially by the Beaubien st exit. Lots and LOTS of slots. The second floor was better, but still not a lot of open space. Looks like table games had been reduced by half. Sat at the Fringe and played some VP. The staff was efficient but not friendly. Watched some football then went back to room. Headed out later and went to Fishbones for some food. Played some VP then headed to the restaurant bar to watch the Lions second half. Went to the bar and waited for 20 minutes. Finally, They told me it was closed. Wow, bad costumer service. Headed down to the sportsbar, which is a very nice place. The staff there was excellent, addressing an issue that came up. All in all, I'd give the casino 2 stars.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UgAbUgA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Morris
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

The Greektown Hotel is very nice, with a modern decor. Visited for a company event so the price was very good making the stay better. As the price increased I would drop the overall rating, it was nice just not impressive.
The service from the valet, front desk, hotel staff and security were all extremely friendly and helpful.

The only part that was not impressive was the Casino that is attached via a walkway. There are better casinos in the area.

Room Tip: We requested a higher room to get a view of Detroit. Could see the GM Renassaince Center, Ford Fiel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badxl1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed two nights over Thanksgiving (Wed/Thurs). Stayed on the 15th Floor overlooking Greektown - great view! The room was very clean (I have stayed at MCC and there rooms have become disgusting!). Love the bed and pillows - I usually don't sleep very well on hotel pillows - but these were great. Had a blast at the casino, even though didn't win. Had the Breakfast Buffet on Thursday morning, long wait (due to Thanksgiving) but well worth it! Usually don't do Breakfast buffets, but everything was hot and cooked well. Great variety including made to order omelettes. Watched some of the Lions game at Schotz's bar - packed - but fun! Saw security a couple of times handling some "situations" - - glad to see that Greektown doesn't let things slide. Overall, had a great experience and am ready to book for December!

Room Tip: At check in I asked for a room facing Greektown and they obliged - even with Hotel booked. My exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingnut18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasinoHotel, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for the kind compliments. We are very pleased your stay with Greektown Casino Hotel was great. We appreciate you spending the Thanksgiving holiday with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

I have stayed here many many times. I absolutely love the property and it's location in reference to area attractions. It is a bit pricey for what you get; however, the beds are very very comfortable. That said, compared to the other properties this is a bargain hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasinoHotel, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
We are happy to know that Greektown Casino – Hotel is in the heart of everything you wish to do while visiting downtown Detroit. Thank you for the positive review. Please come back and stay with us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Location great! Walking to the football game - PRICELESS. Not a gambler, nothing great about casino, except for the smoky atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daffylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasinoHotel, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you, I'm glad you had a great time and enjoyed the game and accomodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Had two nights comped on my VIP card. I used one of nights and stayed in the dirtiest hotel room I have ever seen.

When I first entered the room, it looked like someone had chewed on the carpet. Upon further inspection I found a booger on the bathroom wall, pee splatter on the door, some brown stuff on a painting, and some stains all over the curtain.

Needless to stay I will not use the other night and will never return to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmo11883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Property: Greektown Casino Hotel
Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#4 Family Hotel in Detroit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF IT ALL YOUR DOWNTOWN ADVENTURE STARTS HERE. Rev up your weekend. Electrify your nightlife. Explore Detroit's hottest scene. Thanks to our unbeatable location in the hub of the Greektown district, it's impossible to be any closer to the action. With 400 stunning guest rooms and suites devoted to your comfort, our 30-story hotel is the perfect place to relax and recharge after a night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing