We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I just wanted to let someone know that Derrell was the best. I just got married and we walked in the hotel for our honeymoon night. Derrell saw me in my wedding dress and upgraded us to room 1027 which made the night extra special. That suite was the best.
We will return. It's nice for someone to go out of their way to make a already special day to a special night.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megpunchbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjones67, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Derrell and the rest of the Doubletree staff, we are so happy we were able to play a special part on your very special day. Thank you so much for choosing us for your wedding night. Please come back to visit us soon. Perhaps you can spend your anniversary with us!

Thank you again,
Jeffrey Jones
Director of Revenue Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,327 - 1,333 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2010

Very clean hotel with good rooms (2 flat TV sets!), free WIFI and cable DSL, exercise area (running belts, bicycles, weights and an exercise tower), NO swimming pool.
Very nice, helpful staff and good breakfast with bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages, donuts, etc..

Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
Thank hefti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjones67, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments. It pleases us that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to you next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Jeffrey Jones
Director of Revenue Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

I attended an awards ceremony 10/20/10 at the Doubletree Fort Shelby. I was sick and crabby but and to attedn this work event. My wait server Sherri was amazing. She went and brought me deca "calm" tea during cocktail hour even those no coffe or tea were being served. She continued to check on me during hte evening a found out I had a peanut alergy. She than had a special salad prepaered for me and confrimed that the rest of my meal was nut free. Sherri went far beyond what was expected of her and made my evening very lovely. It is staff like her that make me contiue to refere business and brides to have there events at the Doubletree Fort Shelby.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
Thank devo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We were greeted with smiles, kindness and a feeling that was very good . The facility had gorgeous views, the room temperature was easily regulated, the foood was great and the place was clean.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjones67, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much! What a great compliment. We are truly appreciative that you chose us for your stay and that you had a wonderful experience. We hope to see you on your next business trip to Detroit. Our famous warm cookies will be waiting.

Sincerely,
Jeff Jones
Director of Revenue Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

A great hotel located right in the middle of Detroit's downtown activities. The first sign that it was going to be a great stay was at the reception desk upon checken. Holli was very professional, helpful and just plain old good providing our group with recommendations of local activities in addition to what we had planned. Our gorup of six had rooms within 15 minutes of arrival. The rooms were clean and very peaceful. The breakfast was good, with lots of choices of breakfast items. We were attending the Detriot Lions game and trying to decide if we wanted to walk the one mile route or call a cab when the hotel's shuttle service pulled up in from of the hotel. Right on time! After enjoying the game which was the first win for the Lions, we briefly celebrated and departed the stadium only to find the Doubletree Hotel's shuttle service outside waiting for and of their customers. Overall this hotel was outstanding and the service was very professional and frendly, especially Holli whom you'll meet upon arrival. Thanks Holli!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vergem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjones67, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

Thank you Guest!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time in Downtown Detroit (an extra bonus that you witnessed a win at Ford Field). I have shared you review with Holli, she was happy to know you had a great stay as well. Come back soon.

Sincerely,
Jeff Jones
Director of Revenue Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I've stayed at a couple of Downtown Detroit hotels for business and this is by far the best. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are large and clean and the restaurants inside were nice. I will stay here again. Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelQueen1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjones67, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2010

Dear Guest,

The pleasure was all ours!

Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to you next visit and will always have a warm cookie waiting for you after a hectic business day.

Thanks again,
Jeffrey Jones
Director of Revenue Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed here for three days this past week. Beautiful new hotel. Huge rooms. Pretty standard Doubletree amenities. My stay was great. There's not a store in the hotel, and there isn't a pharmacy nearby, so keep that in mind, but otherwise, you can't go wrong with this place. I especially liked how friendly, helpful, and outgoing every staff member was. They really made me feel welcome. Really great folks everywhere in the hotel - front desk, front door, bar, housekeeping. I'd absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seawall77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjones67, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2010

Hello Guest,

We are appreciative you took time to comment on your recent stay with us. Great accommodations and service is our number one priority. On your next visit, should you require a pharmacy or nearby store, let us know and we can arrange for our complimentary downtown shuttle to get you there and back.

Sincerely,
Jeffrey Jones
Director of Revenue Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
0.8 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Address: 525 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $141 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing