We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Nearby Hotels
$187
$170
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Aloft.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$238
$225
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$136
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
$119
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$127
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,439)
Filter reviews
1,439 results
Traveler rating
701
473
147
69
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
701
473
147
69
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesround barpeople moverfront deskdouble treevalet parkingtwo room suitefree shuttlered wings gameliving arearooms are hugeshuttle servicemile radiuswithin milesupon checkcobo centerhotel bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,364 - 1,369 of 1,439 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We reserved our room via Priceline for $80, which was a pretty good deal. We arrived around 4:45 PM, and unfortunately had to wait in line for at least 30 minutes to check in; apparently not all the rooms were ready yet. The friendly front desk staff did offer to remove the valet parking fee from our bill; however, I had to remind them of this when I checked out the next morning. Incidentally, there was also quite a line for checkout right around noon. The location was just what we needed, since we were in town for a Red Wings game just a short walk away. Overall not a bad experience; we were glad we had arrived early, though, since check in took a lot longer than expected for a hotel of this caliber.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntGwennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Some friends and I went to Detroit for the Dub-step circus. We often go to Detroit on the weekends but wanted a place to stay as the concert was supposed to last until 5am. (It was shut down before most people got in, around midnight). When we got to the room it looked great, fantastic room, a little over priced but none the less, a nice place. No one at the front desk was able to answer questions and it seemed that none of the employees knew who their manager was.

The most helpful person we encountered was actually the valet guy. He was very nice and offered us a ride to the Leland where the concert was being held, for only $5. After agreeing he turned and grabbed a key from a box. We followed the valet through the parking lot as he repeatedly hit the panic button. Finally a 2010 Cadillac lit up with flashing lights. We got into the car that had recently been parked by the same man, and from there we flew through red lights and over curbs to arrive at the Leland so the valet could get the car back on time. When we returned to the hotel we found that we had noise complaints against us and we were threatened to be kicked out. Yes, we were issued two noise complaints even though we were not in the room. We decided that we would order some of the room service and go to bed although it was after 10:00 so the 24hour room service only had three things to offer on the menu, attempting to order a $10.00 turkey sandwich we called room service and they informed us we had to come down to their "cafeteria" in order to purchase the ROOM SERVICE. Looking at the half filled yogurt cup for $8.00 or the gas station sandwich for $10.00 we decided we would rather sleep. If you need relative silence to sleep like I do then the Double Tree probably isn't right as the cheap music blasting on every floor keeps you wide awake... and WE got the noise complaints. Overall it wasn't a bad hotel, it beats staying at the Leland. If your looking for anything besides a bed for the night, don't bother. If all you want is to sleep, then stop at the Lafayette Koney Island, avoid the valet and just sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kriza666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjones67, Revenue Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2010

On behalf of the Hotel, I would like to offer a sincere apology for your experience at our hotel. Your concerns have been addressed with the appropriate departments.

We do welcome your comments, even constructive; this is the only way we can improve to better serve you in the future.

We do stress that this is not the level of service that is consistent with the DoubleTree Guest Suites Downtown Detroit. If you decide to return to the hotel please contact the Hotel directly to make your reservation; ask for the Revenue Managers Office and we can personally see to your satisfaction.




Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

This hotel is stylish and elegant. The renovation is nothing short of astonishing. The lobby tips you off to this the moment you step inside. The guest rooms are spacious, quiet and comfortable.

The staff is exceptional. They're genuinely friendly, service oriented and capable. One staff member, who we met again on Detroit's people mover, continued his recommendations of area restaurants right to the door of an area casino. This kind of energy and enthusiasm should be bottled and marketed to other hotels.

Yet, I hope this hotel survives. It certainly deserves to. But the occupancy on the day we visited (during the Xmas holiday season) was 11%. It is sad to be the only guest for breakfast in a hotel restaurant. The result is that the hotel has cut back (justifiably) on its staffing, so there is only one person at the front desk, one person at the valet station, etc. This can result in some minor delays when that solitary staff member is doing something else. The hotel's restaurant was closed the evening we wanted to use it. When we walked into the bar, which was open, there was no staff member present. We walked around, kind of lost,and then decided to leave.

The hotel location may have something to do with the low occupancy. Although it is located on the same block as a People Mover station, and very near to a major bank, tv station and newspaper, the general vacinity is quite deserted. It is about a ten minute walk to the MGM casino and a five minute ride on the People Mover to the Greektown area.

I would give this hotel generally high marks, although there were a few lapses with the housekeeping; the prior guest's food was still in the room refrigerator and we had no wash clothes... both honest oversights that the hotel made right immediately.

I would definitely go back again. Such exceptional efforts in the hotel industry deserve support!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiIslandsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

I was looking around online for a decent hotel to stay in on a Friday night after the Red Wings game. I had seen the Holiday Inn Express reviews (lousy place apparently), and at $105.00 per night, I thought it was a lot to spend for a crappy hotel. Then I came across the Doubletree Inn and read some of the reviews, which were mostly favourable. At $99.00 per night for a two room suite, I thought it was a great deal. The room itself was beautiful, the bathroom very large with Neutrogena products. There was a huge glassed in shower as well. The bed was very comfortable and clean. The hotel was in a great location, and we walked around the area, feeling completely safe. We didn't get our cookies when we first got there (because they weren't ready yet), but when we asked later, warm gooey chocolate chip cookies were produced from a warming area at the front desk. I found the staff friendly, and the valet parking is optional. We used it because we didn't know where else to park. Give it a try - I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry_from_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

cannot complain hotel is very nice and clean.. stayed 2 night and had no problems... not really a big fan of valet parking though... wish i could of parked my car myself and just went to it when i needed too.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hockeyfan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews