We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel and excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed at the Doubletree to attend a Red Wings game. Great location for walking to and from the game. The staff was exceptional they could not do enough for us. They all had such great personalities. The hotel is first class and really clean. A wonderful place to stay. As far as the bad rap that Detroit has, we did not find any problems at all even walking late at night. We also walked from the MGM Grand Casino late at night and were not uncomfortable at all.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinbadsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    408
    126
    61
    46
See reviews for
245
275
64
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2009

I wanted to like this place. And I know they're brand new so hopefully the service will get better. But everything seemed to be a problem during my six-night stay.

Want to grab a bagel and coffee in the restaurant in the morning? Don't assume that 40 minutes is enough time in which to do it. Two mornings there was no host on duty, I had to walk back to the front desk and get them to call the restaurant and tell them to come seat me. One morning it took 15 minutes to get my check and I was the only customer in the place!

Trash on the floor of your room from a previous guest? (A toothpick among other things, yuck...) Don't expect housekeeping to pick it up for 3 days even when you leave a note!

Interested in having some laundry done? Be prepared to wait at the front desk for 10 minutes while 3 people try to figure out if they "have" laundry service, and where the tickets for the guest to fill out might be.

Nicely furnished rooms, comfortable. And the staff seemed friendly enough, they just didn't have a clue on so many things.

And the bar staff is fantastic, especially Ty and Jasmin and Casey. Good happy hour deals on food, great bar menu, great drinks.

But I'll look for future reviews to see if service improves elsewhere on the property before I stay here again. (And why does TA have this place listed under "Bed and Breakfasts" in Detroit - it's a Doubletree Hotel!)

  • Liked — Food in the lounge and lounge staff
  • Disliked — Having every question from a guest turn into a 10 minute ordeal to get an answer
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2009

Great old hotel is sparkling again. Good staff - green, but always well-meaning. Nice, spacious rooms - layouts are all different due to the historic character of the building; ask to see a couple rooms until you get a feel for the building.

The grand opening hadn't happened yet, so they were very much in soft-open mode, but that didn't detract from the experience. For instance, I asked for room service - no in-room menus yet - and the restaurant brought up their menus within minutes. Walls seemed well soundproofed, doors were solid. Great Precor equipment fitness center with natural light on the 4th Floor, plus a branch of local chain Bear Claw Coffee in the lobby, handy for early departures.

Overall, a great choice - particularly for Auto Show; it's a block or two from Cobo. Nothing else on the immediate block, but Anchor Bar around the corner - very friendly dive bar - and other stuff a block or two away.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heycollegeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

This hotel is brand new and the staff have been very accomodating. The room is large and clean, the hallways are quiet and I can't hear my neighbors.

The internet is free and I've had no trouble connecting. The room itself is brand new, but I must say it is a little troubling that they have overlooked some fine tuning. Examples: Tags are still on sofa seat cushions; my room was missing an iron, toilet paper, room service menus, amenity booklet. Simple fixes and the staff was happy to help.

There is a nice, overly priced coffee shop in the lobby, and since it's open pretty late it's good that you can grab a $7.00-$8.00 salad or wrap quickly and bring it to the room (rather than resorting to expensive room service). There are excellent cookies at the front desk when you check in as well.

Unfortunately, there is not much around the hotel as far as other restaurants or convenience stores. There is a coffee shop about two blocks away, as well as some other light fare at other nearby locations.

  • Liked — Large Room, Clean
  • Disliked — Distant location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jokerjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
689 reviews
316 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

This hotel has been open about 2 weeks and theya re still going through some growing pains. Checkin was smooth, parking by valet is $20 per day. Rooms are brand new. Staff is green, but seems to be trying. Restaurant is good, there is not much else around this area.

This hotel is isolated, and htere is not much gooing on downtown. It is a nice place. Rooms are great.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.5 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Address: 525 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing